Why my Friends Don't Want to Join SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

10-31-18-29-06-2017-.png

They say its all about the money. I try to explain that sharing the value is the honest thing. But what they see is the money.

My friend told me its scary, and reminds him an episode from "Black Mirror" where the social network decides everything, and you need to get likes in order to buy anything.

Well that does sound scary. But the real life is much more scary. Today the banks decide who lives and who dies. Corps and banks have the power, and when people try to organize and help each other, the big brother is always taking a huge bite.

I prefer to get votes from my friends, than a loan from the bank.

Sort:  

And i'm sure your friends, who don't like the money, are perfectly happy going to work for the big corporates every day to earn their living :)

Like good little kids :)

I like the way your posts shows how fear controls most people..fear of the unknown..fear of loss.. When the ATMS first came out my Mother refused to use them. haha

Thank you, thats a warming compliment to my writing. I haven't thought about it, but I guess that was a feeling I succeeded to express.

With that comparison it does sound much scarier! Cryptocurrency can seem complicated and there is much talk and posts about money (which sometimes gets overwhelming and dull). However, I'm optimistic that we can shape this site into what we wish with the right attitude and dedication. I for one don't wish this place to turn into Facebook! Much less into a nastier, greedy Facebook.

I agree, this platform is a great opportunity, but we all should be carefull, and navigate with wisdom and heart.

I'm having a hard time getting my friends to join as well. Most of them get intimidated by the Cryptocurrency thing. I tell them to just create an account and start posting and interacting with the Steemit community, the rest they will learn as they read and ask questions like I did.

I got a lot of my mates on steemit. The hard bit is getting them to post something haha

Yes!! Like whats the problem to post a link? And there are bloggers that can just copy paste their own content.

We have to be examples for our friends if they do not believe in it yet. The way i look at it is if oneself is willing to do something and have some success, hopefully those around you will want the same once they see that they can do it too.
This is why i joined Steemit myself as i am an unconventional person already. Having solar and EV for myself and benefiting from it is showing my friends that outside the norm thinking can help themselves and others around them as well.

Electric Vehicle, i drive a Nissan Leaf and charge my car with my solar panels so i don't pay for gas or electricity.

Life can be so simple.

Thanks

welcome......!!

Same here... I want Invite a great artist here, but she says it's too complicated here... I was ..."WHAT DID YOU SAY?? " and then she " :)))) "

Congratulations @amirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

STOP

Congratulations @amirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62997.47
ETH 2728.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63