Random thoughts about steemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

It's been raining or sprinkling here all day, so I'm sitting here at the computer instead of doing stuff outside. It seemed like as good a time as any to type out a few of my thoughts related to steemit.

The first thought is that steemit isn't really a social media sight, at least not in the way that sites like facebook are. To me, it's more of a blogging website. We don't have the same kind of social interaction capabilities here that we would have on facebook or the other sites. For instance, I can't go to someone else's page and leave a comment. I can only comment on a post that they've made. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, it prevents some of the flaming that I've seen on facebook. There's still plenty of opportunity to be a troll here on steemit with comments to a post, but I've only seen that a couple of times in my 2 months here. Trolls tend to get flagged into oblivion here.

I've seen a lot of open minded people here in my 2 months of reading posts and reading comments. I suspect that there are a number of not so open minded people here also, but they don't seem to go looking for posts to troll like you see on other social media like facebook and youtube. I consider that to be a good thing, it falls under my "live and let live" rule.

I've seen different posts on here that cover pretty much the entire universe of thought. I tend to ignore the religious posts and the political posts, I don't see any reason to start any flame wars by voicing an opposite opinion on a post about religion or politics. I almost did that on 1 political post, but I realized what was happening and backed out of the discussion. It's just better for me, and for the person who put up the post. I'm actually glad that I don't see very many political posts here, I didn't come here for that, in fact, I cut way back on facebook because of that.

I find myself having to take a bit of a break from upvoting other peoples posts, I've been spreading my upvotes around quite a bit, and my voting power is currently at 25%, so my upvote is worth somewhere between 3 to 4 cents. I need to let it recover a bit before I go on another upvote binge. I've spent a fair amount of time and voting power looking at new people's posts and upvoting posts by them that I like, plus trying to keep up with some of the gardeners and musicians that I've been following. I wish I could set my voting power back a bit with the slider so that I don't lose power so quickly, but I don't have enough steempower yet to be able to do that. It is what it is, right?

And last item today, here's a picture of a steam engine that I took a few years back at a tourist railroad in N.E. Wisconsin. That way, there's a picture for the post. :-)
Laona steam train 004.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post,eh!
Leave me a comment if you wish!

Sort:  

Hi there. I think a lot of us spend quite a bit of time thinking about steemit. And I am glad that you also think that this is not a replacement for FaceBook. It is more like reddit.

However, I am sure that as we move forward we will see more Social Interactions available. :)

That's quite possible. Thanks for the comment!

This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , Comment when ever you can.
@bullionstackers @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Click to Read

I like deep thinkers :) lol I see the same though. Or close to. I'm kind of re hashing old things that are relevant in the form of a running Timeline blog lol. And of course using it to build into current endeavors. We have done so much! I'm so old! My life flipped and now as u know I am home a lot. So I'm not only rehashing content. But transitioning my life. Im having fun. Using steemit. To solidify our real journey. Literally. Forever in the blockchain. And maybe. Maybe. I can make some money since I can't work no more :/. Long story. But. Baby needs me home. Anyways. u learn from the past. And frankly. It's not the camera quality we used to have. Or the production quality we used to
Have. It was our characters. Haha. Sorry for my rant but. I figured, I'd share my weird multi faceted reason for what I post :). Kind of a book lol. I don't think this fits on Facebook. And Reddit is like. The newsy version of fb. This is like a blend of Reddit and twitter and Facebook. Lol. But has the incentive of money. And community. And incentivizes u paying someone by upvoting their everyday life. Whatever they share. I just see this as like the mother of all social platforms. Because the platform or layout fits the ideological side. Developers did a good job. Lol. All over. But. Yeah. My thoughts.

Your thoughts fit right in with my thoughts here. :-)

I have a suggestion...
There may be a lot of OLD folks here, and we are still alive and growing.
@old-guy-photos started a new tag so we can all see our posts in one place.
When you make a post please consider adding the tag #oldtimers.

He just started it and already there is quite a list
https://steemit.com/trending/oldtimers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64