11. VIDEO TUTORIAL : How to Protect Your Passwords ?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello guys and girls!!

I really wanted to cover this subject and tell you ALL how important it is to protect your passwords. Not only its for security, but also if you ever lose your master password - thats it - it is not replaceable.  Enjoy this lesson and let me know in comments below what else you want to learn!

So I will discuss more in another post all the passwords we have.

1. Master Password

2. Active Key

3. Posting Key 

4. Memo Key

You should never use your master password on daily basis. That password should be written down on a paper, and hidden away in a safe. Write it down few times and store it somehwere far away, so nobody can get it. 

For every day use, I recommend using your posting key - which allows you to post, comment and upvote content. If you ever want to use your wallet - for any transactions, powering up, powering down, randowhale ect you would need to use your active key. 


This would be the safest way and even if someone breaks into your account and knows your posting key, they wont be able to do any transactions in your wallet. This is done for our own protection. 

The reason Steemit has so many passwords, because it is a monetised platform and will attract more attention than other platforms. So just be careful and i wanted to touch up on the subject! 


Lots of love,

Alla xox

Sort:  

In my online activities, I created myself a FOUR levels of second-factor authentication (like 2FA, 3FA, 4FA)
1-what I know ( ID, passw)
2-what I have (phone/sms, code-generator, YUBIKEY)
3-what I look (eye iris, fingerprint, ear shape, heart micro- currents/NYMI)
4-where I am , located ( IP adr, MAC adr, country , GPS geo-coordinates)

If you apply all 4 in the same aplication - the security is very high. Much more then (probably) would be required by a regular person and his treasures

P.S.
Ever heard of NYMI ?
http://nymi.com

@onealfa, you are a great guy. One day I'll be as big as you.

@allasyummyfood, thanks for the great article. It is very important to protect our account, especially for those who think of investing for the long term. Upvoted e resteem

wow jesus christ!! thats insane!!!! hahah i doubt anyone can break that! can i just ask why do you vote for your own comment?

@allasyummyfood uhm i would take a wild guess and say because he likes paying himself lol :D And I suppose to boost your comment to no.1 :) By the way, you look so cute in those glasses.. And I appreciate your conent! Keep it up!

You can check out @ENAZWAHSDARB for the best Entrepreneurial content! If you appreciate what you see, you can leave a follow! :)

I recommend LastPass. Not just for Steemit, but for everything.

https://steemit.com/security/@hilarski/secure-your-steemit-password-with-lastpass

Great video and a great subject matter. Even though there many videos about this subject you can never have too many. This is an evergreen subject that will always need to be reinforced.

It took me about a week before I was able to understand about passwords.

I will resteem.

yes for sure :) thanks so much!!!

It really is one of those evergreen subjects to reinforce. I'm sure some people will have to learn the hard way like Andreas Antonopoulos' friend that lost close to a million bucks worth of BitCoin because he didn't protect his keys.

wow that really sucks 1 million.

He was talking about it during the Joe Rogan interview. It had to do something with a now defunct exchange he was using. Andreas said he had no idea his friend had put that much in until it was too late.

Bro this shit happens to the best of us.

ARGGHH!
About 4 years ago I lost over 500 BTC to a ponzi scam. The value back then was $10k. Today 1.2 million.
ARGGGHH!

Funny thing is you just got to stay in the game and it will all come back.

It is a hassle to use different keys. Use your master password but pay for a good password manager. This should be the only digital storage of the password. I also suggest writing the master key down and storing in a fireproof safe somewhere.
I use Dashlane and gladly pay for it.

Never heard of Dashlane. Just checked this one.
Still confused - why to pay x3.5 more, if LASTPASS does just about everything? And most important ( to me) it supports YUBIKEY

I heavily considered LastPass but after trying Dashlane, I didn't want to switch. I like dashlane for their auto login / form filler and the password changer, which automatically changes all or a selected set of passwords with one click. It literally logs into the sites for you, updates the passwords and saves the new password in Dashlane.

Automatic update/change of the pass in all sites? hmmm... First moment is sounded cool to me.
However, few minutes later i thought - not sure if I would go for it. Looks a bit scary to me.
What if it mess up - and my access to the sites are then lost...gone forever?
Scary !

you only use one password! you dont need to use your wallet every day! and yeah its a good app!

But I do! 😁 I get paid in STEEM, I pay people in STEEM, I buy things with STEEM and manage several Steemit accounts. I think I use the wallet more than the blog. We need to build the STEEM economy!

hahah ayes but you are exception! not everyone uses their wallet every day ! hahah

Then I am exception too. I use steemit wallet every single day. Posting and active keys are used here almost equally often.
The MASTER key however - shall be used only in the extreme, emergency cases. No doubt about that.
BTW, nice post, Alla. Re-steemed

yes thats what I do as well :)) i use active key every day! but generally post with posting !

That is some very valid advice!!! Everyone should save their master password, and even coins saved offline. That is the best way to secure everything and be safe.

really glad it was helpful ;)))

Hi I am Vincent and I was wandering if you could help me or be of some kind of assistance it's like I get my up votes and so on but nothing seems to change in my wallet.

Hello too, sweet girls !! Before I apologize because my network isbad. I am very grateful to you for discussing this matter and telling you how important it is to password protect. Not only for security, but also if the main password is gone, we can reset it to replace it. Valuable lessons I can from your post .. thank you dear.,

Extremely useful @allasyummyfood. Your video will be shared :)

thank you :) very kind!!!

Very nice post.

This comment has received a 0.39 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nidhisrecipes.

So right, security is the most undervalued topic in cryptocurrency. I mean its not very comfortable for Mr Average. Maybe the banks will still have some kind of use in the cryptomarket

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97