Secure your Steemit Password with LastPass.

in #security7 years ago

lastpass-steemit-password-protection.jpg

A Tragedy has Occurred in the Steemit Community and It Brings Up an Important Subject.

You must secure your Steemit password in a safe place. Recently @holgermarkgraf a long time Steemian had a tragic accident. His house burned down and he lost his computer along with his Steemit password. Now he can't access Steemit and his Steem.


Link to the Story

This is Holgers Wallet.

RAW Consciousness-@holgermarkgraf-Steemit.png

100% of the Steem Dollars earned for this post will go to Holger to help him in this difficult time.

If you want to donate feel free to send me the Steem Dollars and add in the memo that it is for the Holger relief fund.

Why Use LastPass to Secure Your Steemit Password.

I have been using LastPass for years to hold all of my passwords. It is a Google Chrome extension that also works on other browsers. When I log into Google Chrome from any computer in the world my passwords are there. If Holger used it he would still be able to access his Steemit account.

Some Crypto Currency enthusiasts might disagree with me about using a cloud based service to store my passwords. I do it because it simplifies my life. It also keeps hackers from logging passwords using keyloggers. I only input a password into Lastpass one time. I believe the more security we have the better off we are. This is just one more layer.

So set up your Lastpass today and you won't have to worry about a fire, theft of your computer or any other reason you could lose your password.

Sort:  

Hey guys, this is Holger. You guys are amazing, I am so thankful for your solicitiousness, participation, comments and resteems. Me and my family are good, except we've lost nearly everything, except our lives, which is the most precious and only important thing. I can build up a new steemit account and start again, only that all my pictures, poems, notes and writings are gone. But still have my pocket cam for future work, isn't that great?!
Please resteem this post and subscribe to my new account. I have only bad internet access but I will do my best to write a new introduction post in a short while.

This was my last post as holgermarkgraf:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@holgermarkgraf/my-1003rd-post-and-999th-follower-my-journey-with-steemit-and-the-inspiration-you-gave-me-i-want-to-say-thank-you

So stay steemed!

Love, Unity & Abundance

@ratidor, @anomaly, @steemettes, @alterego, @matrixdweller, @jamielefay, @tyrionlannister, @always1success, @instructor2121, @sergey44, @doubledex, @beanz, @bleujay, @bjornbm, @allgoodthings, @stephen-somers, @allesgruen, @pilgrimtraveler, @steemitrecipes, @anwenbaumeister, @nebcat, @liberosist, @mynomadicyear, @dailynews1. @pickoum, @valtr, @future24, @taxidermy183, @nogano, @runrudy, @jonjon1, @nin0000 and @xcepta
@lovejoy, @mallorca, @haster, @pilgrimtraveler, @goose, @darkminded153, @klanet, @sarita, @hilarski, @seljalex77, @lajulius, @marinabogumil, @orcdu, @felixxx, @whiskylover, @food-creator, @unipsycho, @pfunk, @bujar, @lunnettik, @inphiknit, @mcsvi, @condra, @meli, @dreamstream, @z3r0d4yz, @jasminchen, @brookeloving, @kathasisdrill, @heroic15397, @realmeandi, @achim86, @meesterboom, @walden, @juanmiguelsalas, @leumasvi6, @exploretraveler, @shieha
@mcsvi, @kennyskitchen, @mindhunter, @siavach, @thecryptofiend, @pfunk, @mallorca, @uwe69, @valtr, @lunnettik, @matrixdweller, @anwenbaumeister, @dreamstream, @dek, @dimplesdiary, @norbu, @virtualgrowth, @mrs.steemit, @lukewearechange, @daveks, @gringalicious, @witchcraftblog, @sulev, @leumasvi6, @ipumba, @aksinya, @better, @heiditravels, @blinova, @pollux.one, @shieha, @andrew0, @mathitravels, @luvvn, @knozaki2015, @charlieshrem, @piedpiper, @papa-pepper, @smooth, @fabio, @ned, @dan, @ben, @berniesanders, @val-a, @dantheman, @tombstone, @enki, @unhorsepower777, @jamtaylor, @winstonwolfe, @samstonehill, @emperatrix, @fyrstikken, @alienbutt, @elyaque, @rigaronib, @sirwinchester, @good-karma, @krnel, @kyle.anderson, @rivalhw, @chrissysworld, @uwelang, @varda, @kobold-djawa, @untone19, @beginningtoend, @lastminuteman, @lordemau, @zuch.media, @surfermarly, @evehuman, @michael-a, @silviabeneforti, @kuvo, @krystle, @summon, @pharesim, @jaki01, @budgetbucketlist, @eric-boucher, @teukumukhlis, @the-future, @homeartpictures, @smooth, @sandstorm, @kevinwong, @detlev, @luzcypher, @tfeldman, @lk666, @tita09, @brian-rhodes, @rizkiavonna, @woman-onthe-wing, @shady, @tarazkp, @vannour, @pepe.maya, @shortcut, @playfulfoodie, @ericvancewalton
@pollux.one, @abdullar, @andrew0, @papa-pepper, @vip, @gammagooblin, @alexoz, @shaka, @celsius100, @future24, @chamviet, @mysacredflame, @xochicotta, @rappiro, @steveo, @sonyanka, @ervin-lemark, @norbu, @steemswede, @montreal32, @wilmaballsdrop, @uwe69, @razvan1997, @khaledriad, @manosteel211, @knight-angel, @acehtour, @roswellrockman, @joanaltres, @irldreamer, @edtorrez, @carlobelgado, @jimmco, @arnoldwish, @makki420, @theodosis63, @grildrig, @firepower, @trevonjb, @horgan
@dimimp, @evehuman, @unhorsepower777, @allmonitors, @krasotka, @floridagypsy, @ebargains, @mycrostock, @powercouple, @sulev, @supercoin, @aiqabrago, @anahilarski, @rivalhw, @homeartpictures, @crissysworld, @sunscape, @siavach, @jaki01, @asmolokalo, @sift666, @lastminuteman, @lordemau, @snowflake, @shaka, @alienbutt, @azfix
@evimeria, @uwelang, @surfermarley, @silviabeneforti, @kuvo, @achim86, @martinmooney, @schamangerbert, @teukumukhlis, @felixxx, @hellena, @elements, @danieleder, @immarojas, @thevillain, @radiv, @lakshmi, @followseveryone, @soundlegion, @eddy001, @franserra1, @eralepepon, @frans10, @norellyg, @anceane, @nicetea, @sandstorm, @jamesbennet, @evalight, @detlev, @lynx, @azzurra92, @lichtblick, @thejohalfiles, @liberosist, @old-guy-photos, @acidyo, @luzcypher, @tfeldman, @roy2016, @lrock, @aksinya, @gardnercalibuso, @snowflake, @kondrat, @skrt, @sarantopoulou, @sochul, @anton-kostroma, @jacobts, @torkot, @stephenkendal, @bunnychum, @valtr, @rasvictory, @shortcut, @arjane, @tecav, @pitterpatter, @azonnevald, @fulltimegeek, @hammadakhtar
@steemsports, @knozaki2015, @gavvet, @krnel, @ozchartart, @curie, @ericvancewalton, @stellabelle, @doitvoluntarily, @sirwinchester, @papa-pepper, @kevinwong, @thecryptofiend, @craig-grant, @steemtrail, @jrcornel, @opheliafu, @sweetsssj, @dantheman, @macksby, @sauravrungta

Holger

Hey, this is really unfortunate what happened. Glad you are thinking positively about it.

If you want to start a re-post series of the posts you already had on that account, I'm sure the users on my trail would understand why I would be supporting them with a % of my votes. I hope other curators want to help out as well!

Ok, I have 104 SBD to send to your new account. I did not see your new one before putting it into savings. As soon as I get another payout I will sent it to you within 24 hours.

Saving your password to anything electronic be it in the cloud, on some paid subscription site etc. is a no-no! especially when it can be hacked. Note not "if" but "when". The whole internet is compromised with the recent release of various hacking tools from the various agencies.

You must save it offline and preferably in hard format and kept in a safe place. Maybe a safe place would be in your physical wallet where you keep your credit card and fiat currencies, it is one of the things that you always keep safe and not far from your person.

Of course you can be pickpocketed, so have a copy somewhere else at home. However to be extra safe, of course never keep you login name on the safe piece of paper.

LastPass is pretty good. I haven't been a big fan of cloud services though. I personally use Keepass which works on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux. I enter all passwords into Keepass on my Android device first, then copy the 'keepass.kdb' to my other devices. Since I usually have my phone where ever I go, I just open up keepass droid and enter in my password manually if needed on a device that I don't own. A little extra step, but a hell of a lot more secure.

Keepass looks good, but can it help you in a case of fire or if you get mobile stolen? They dont brute force passwords out of it, sure, but if you had passwords saved only on those two spots, you still lost everything.

So what is the trick?

Should I put one in a safe vault?

The 'keepass.kdb' file needs a password to open it. So, if you're worried about your house burning down and you trust google, you could keep a copy of it in Google Drive. If someone hacked your email account, then they'd have to brute force it.
You could also keep a copy on a USB stick and leave it in the care of someone you trust (mom, dad, sister, brother, friend etc). Even if they tried to read your passwords they couldn't open it unless they brute forced it. I guess how far you wish to take security and safety precautions is entirely up to you.

Thank you alexwyn!

I'm not sure I would use a cloud base service for my passwords, what I do is that I keep my passwords on a separate hard drive or usb, although a fire could burn it all down 😵

well that is part of the issue at stake and why he is suggesting a cloud based service

🍒 I will consider it seriously :) but for now, I will use a USB backup.

Very sorry to hear about this tragic story, always keep your secret key at different places. Centralization is always vulnerable to this kind of instances.

For the security-paranoid like myself you can also secure your LastPass with a Yubikey. You can even use multiple Yubikeys so if you lose one or your house burns down, you have another elsewhere. The key alone does not grant you access to the passwords, you have to use it in combination with a password.

You need a premium subscription but it's ridiculously cheap.

My friend just ordered a bunch and is giving me one. I look forward to trying it out.

But how about in email? isn't that safer than last pass for instance?

No way, that's EXTREMELY unsafe. Emails are like postcards. Every postman who carries it can read it.

Nope, don't ever do that.

Fantastic. I use over 85 different passwords and so far I have been using a very complex password manager. This is better. Switching now... Thank you very much.

Shared and followed.

Please consider supporting me..

https://steemit.com/gaming/@dracosalieri/creative-assembly-why-dost-thou-bestray-me

This would have been helpful when I lost my password. Poor guy.

I've been using the "Vault" feature offered on Norton Security firewall products. It does store them in the cloud with just your one Vault password to access, but also automatically fills in all of your logins for you if you want it to.

Aw that's awful, hope he is okay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60