10. VIDEO TUTORIAL : (What NOT to do on Steemit ) For Beginners

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello all! First of all just wanna say thank you so much for all the kind comments, messages i get about the video lessons I provide for you. 

I apologise if I dont reply to everyone, but i do get a lot of comments, and I try my hardest to reply, so dont get offended if you dont get a reply!!

 I am working hard to produce more materials and give you my knowledge so all of you can do really well here on Steemit.

In todays lesson, i wanna talk about what NOT to do on Steemit platform.  I will also cover flagging and what it means and how to do it. 

Flagging is only allowed in few cases : Plagiarism, SPAM and Insults. What it means, is that you are allowed to flag someones post if they have plagiarised content - first you find a proof, then you send it to steam cleaners and also always ask the person plagiarising why they did it? We want to give people a chance in case they are not aware. However, in majority cases they lie and claim its their own, which makes it easy then to flag them. 

Second reason is spamming links - this will definitely get you noticed on Steemit, but not in a good way - Dont do it! You always can check their profile to see if they are spamming all the posts with the same message, if that is the case, you can flag them on your page. 

You can also see that spammers already have really low reputation - which means they have been flagged by more powerful people. If anyone has reputation below 25 - they have broken steemit rules and i would be wary. Dont comment on their stuff, dont up vote them - all you do is encouraging scammers and plagiarisers to keep going. 

Lastly if someone is insulting you with swear words that is NOT ok. This guy called me a slag and thought it was ok to abuse me like that. That is not allowed here, you will be flagged for insulting women or men, there is a difference between an opinion and abuse. 

It is your responsibility as a good steemian to report any plagiarism! It is your responsibility to educate people on Spamming. Watch my video - enjoy this lesson as its very important. 

BTW here are my rewards for reporting several plagiarised posts from this week and steem cleaners have rewarded me by giving me power. So? what you waiting for? want to get free power? Start looking after the platform and look for plagiarism and earn STEEM power!!!


If you are new to Steemit and have missed out on my other 9 lessons, you might want to watch and learn 

VIDEO LESSON 1 : How to Create a Steemit Account? 

VIDEO LESSON 2 : How to Write a Post on Steemit ? 

VIDEO LESSON 3 : How to Upload Pictures on Steemit?

<

VIDEO LESSON 4 : What is Reputation Score and What does it mean? 

VIDEO LESSON 5 : How to Use Tags and Keywords on Steemit?

VIDEO LESSON 6 : What is Steemit Festival and Why you should come?

VIDEO LESSON 7 : How to get Noticed on Steemit? 

VIDEO LESSON 8 : How to make Money on Steemit? 

VIDEO LESSON 9 : What is Steem Power and Curation Rewards? 

Thank you guys, please share , re steem and spread the message!! 

Lots of love,

Alla xox 


Sort:  

First of all, a BIG congratulations for your 10th video in your Steemit video series. I remember when you had just first announced that you would be starting a How To video series for all the newbies to Steemit and I immediately thought that it's such a fantastic idea. And now 10 videos in, I'm very proud of how far you've come in this series, which has been supremely helpful for everyone, especially for me, as I am learning loads everyday and even more from your informative videos. Thank you immensely for making this series Alla!

And great idea to include links to all of the previous videos in the series so that anyone can just pick and choose which topic to revisit and dive right in! This was an extra special treat for sure ;)

Thanks for raising awareness of all the plagiarism going on in our community - it's very important to notice and report it instantly so that our beloved Steemit doesn't devolve into other cesspools like Facebook and YouTube lol. There are certainly several folks that I've spotted personally spamming their links all over the place, so I will do my job by flagging and reporting them to Steemcleaners.

Remember spammers - if you guys continue dropping your links all over Steemit, Professor Alla will lower her glasses ever so slightly and DESTROY you. ;)

Keep up the good work and on to the next 10 videos!!!

thank you so much darling! You are such a star and such a great example to this community! You have done so well for yourself and you keep growing! You will do really well !! and very kind words, im so glad my project is working out!! hard work always pays off!!

You're very welcome Alla! Your Steemit video series is always so helpful, informative and inspiring for all of us. You truly personify the power of hard work and dedication on a daily basis. Keep smashing it - you're a superstar!

You look so pretty with your glasses. Anyway Great post!!

aww thanks so much!

You have raised a very important topic @allasyummyfood and is something which every new user should be aware about. I feel Posting Guidelines on Steemit should be included as a part of the welcome e-mail when the account is created.

Plagiarising is very easy in Photography related posts and unfortunately there is a flood of such posts under the photography tag. Just yesterday I wrote a post on how to find such copied photographs in a SINGLE STEP.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@gyanibilli/stop-plagiarism-on-steemit-one-step-solution-to-identify-copied-images-2017627t22443331z

I hope people will find and report such posts to @steemcleaners

very good work!! well done for doing that!! we need to clean up that tag! i heard a lot about it!

Super post with lots of explanation on the dos and the donts, i love it. This will definately help minnows like me. Great job. I would like you to do 1 about our security, how to safeguard our accounts and so on.

glad you liked it :))) Yes i will!!

Agree with your stand against plagiarism and spamming. What if someone places a link to their post in a comment, in combination with a good argument or story, whereby the link is very relevant? Do you see that as spam? Just curious.

Gr. Michiel

i think if its used in an argument or story no, I'm talking about those people who just copy and paste the same thing with their link and message everyone!

Is it just me, but the videos in your post doesn't seem to work.

They work ok for me.

Flagging is only allowed in few cases : Plagiarism, SPAM and Insults.

You can actually downvote (flag) for any reason you like, good or bad. It's just not necessarily wise to be doing it for bad reasons. You could get some flak for how you downvote, and it may hurt the recipient more than you expect it to, so it's best that your reasoning is widely supported and well justified. The more Steem Power you have the more responsibility you are wielding with your downvote.

As a rule I would say that the flag should be reserved for posts which detract value from the platform, and you should first try to steer the user nicely towards better behaviour, secondly warn them if they persistently behave poorly, and only finally flag them if they continue after being warned in most cases. There are exceptions where a flag is appropriate from the outset IMO.

yes very well said ;)) i hope this helps all the new users to understand the platform better!

What a cool way to leave a comment dmitri

that is probably the COOLEST comment i have ever received ! thank you so much and i agree with everything you said obvs, im really glad you enjoyed my videos ! and you are saying exactly what i say! You seem to know the platform well! Glad to meet you!! :))

Alla,

I watched all your videos on this article and they were all super informative, but the first one about spam and plagiarism really helped me. I am new to the steemit platform, and did a minnow guide for beginners. Another newbie told me that I should let other minnows know about the post. I didn't know what he meant, and he said I should share the link with new people under the #introduceyourself tag area. I thought that was a good idea, so I started doing it. I had no idea that that was spam. I am supper glad I saw this video before I got bad reputation hits. I will not do it again. By the way I like your Red lipstick. Very Taylor Swift!

Really glad i helped and you found it useful!! happy for you! and well done for realising your mistakes! You will do well here!!

That's what I like about this platform's design: the power is in our hands and together we can make this a great place. Good etiquette takes no time to develop but it's only those who ignorantly refuse to learn that keep hurting others (and themselves too in the process 😂)

yes for sure, that is why we still need to learn and keep growing!!!

I am so glad we have some awesome people and groups such as steemcleaners keeping our community safe and free from things that can ultimately bring down the entire system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47