For the frustrated steemian newbiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Are you a frustrated steemian?
slide3.jpg
Did you come here seeing the huge amounts of money some steemians are making and thought "oh I want some of that" and then got let down by your posts hardly breaking the 10 cent barrier?

Well your not alone we all did. You'll soon come to learn Steemit doesn't work like that.
Steemit isn't a get rich quick scheme.
Stop your day dreaming and take in a few points from what i'm about to tell you. It will help open your mind to how steemit works and maybe help you out with that frustration.

snowballsteem851b1.jpg

*** The Snowball Effect
First of all steemit is like a snowball, you start small and you write, curate, follow, get followed and you grow, bit by bit, with each post, follower, reward you grow.
The more you grow the more rewards you recieve, the more steem power you have, the more steem power you have the faster you grow.

You following me? You can't jump in and gain massive rewards, you have to work for it.

The more work you put in the faster you'll grow.

Think of it like a snowball rolling down a hill gathering momentum and mass.
We all start off as a track cart but eventually with effort and hard work you'll turn into a mighty steem train, just like this one.steemit-1.jpg

Now to turn in to a big mighty steem train there's some do's and dont's.

Dont's

Don't mass follow people just to get them to follow you back - this works with fellow newbies but not the followers you want, the steemians with a lot of steem power that can boost rewards. They know exactly what your doing and will ignore you.

Don't write a comment and ask the person to follow you - there's nothing worse then seeing a comment with no genuine input and then being asked to follow that person. Again doesn't work.

Don't write as many posts as possible to get attention, you'll be seen as just spaming the feed and you'll be muted

Don't put out constant copy and paste posts, there is nothing worse!

Don't put up posts asking why your not getting upvotes or followers, you won't get sympathy upvotes.

Don't keep looking at how much steem you have, don't worry it will grow.

Don't use Steemit if you only care about the rewards. It will show in your work.

Do's

Do write quality original content

Do write a comment if you genuinely liked the persons article or have valid interesting input.

Do follow a person only if you like their material

And DO ENJOY STEEMIT FOR THE INTERESTING AND INTELLIGENT ARTICLES AND THE JOY OF POSTING GREAT CONTENT.

088610f20875f3e865c988ce44200708.jpg

Now I hope you take a few pointers from this and it helps you get over that first few months of frustration we all encounter.
Have fun and enjoy Steemit.

Sort:  

Good post @alexrickard86. In all honesty, success on Steemit is a lot like on other networks. Writing quality posts alone will only go so far. There's networking, building a following to be done and over time they'll have a multiplier effect.

Exactly you need a bit of a strategy but in general just keep putting yourself out there the steem will come

This is actually very true. I started posting here because I saw post with hundreds of dollars. I personally did not come in thinking I'd be making hundreds in days. Because I have a blog and I'm a YouTuber and it's been a very hard labor getting my subscribers to where I have them now. So it does take hard work to get where you want to be with any follower based site.

Plus even when I'm a very new guy here, (a litter over a week). I do not follow people if I don't like their content and I don't ask people to follow me when I comment their post ( I do ask for a follow at the end of my own posts). Because I want people to follow me because thy like my content.

I do agree with you and the do's and don'ts are great you should write a "Best practices" article.

I left a long comment on your post please follow m- Hahaha just kidding. Nice post. Keep steeming.

Nice reply! Exactly Rome wasn't built in a day

Very good tips. I agree is hard for a newbie to be noticed and the posts to be obtained reasonable rewards.

Yes it's very hard but just keep at it and you will eventually

very well written - yes, its real "work" to write posts, even good ones. But I think it is worth the time and effort, as it is - at least for me - great fun.

Steem on!

It is, I love steemit, I enjoy writing articles and yes it can be frustrating to only earn small rewards for a post you put a lot of work into but just have fun and don't give up!

Noted, these will suit4me since my acc just been approved yesterday. hehe surely I'm in need such of your handy info's. thanks man! :}

Enjoy steemit man

Haha. I just got my account activated and this is the first post I've read. What a buzz kill lol probably for the best to hear the truth right at the start of the journey... good job man

Just have fun with steemit, the money will come

Great article! Love your tips :)
Resteemed.

Thank you and enjoy Steemit 😀

Thanks great info for us newbies. The only "don't" rule I am breaking is to keep looking at my steem power! Also I'm looking forward to when my upvote is actually worth something :)

I will be worth something, just give it time

Thank you very much for your great post @alexrickard86 very interesting and useful content ! 😎👍
#upvoted and #resteemed
Have a nice weekend with best regards from Germany
Lars @laloelectrix

I find that being a newbie on Steemit is the best time,
because you discover new things, and learn more about cryptocurrency.

And enjoy it for that, I've learnt so much when it comes to cryptocurrency on here. Steemit is just that a great source of information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58