I'm on Medium Now! Monetized Blogging Like Steemit, But Paid in USD!

in #steemit6 years ago


source

Here's my Medium page! I don't know why it took me so long. I was only peripherally aware of the site and didn't fully understand today that it's paid blogging, like Steemit. Only Medium pays you in US dollars delivered directly to your bank account.

That elevates it above even Steemit in my view, though I was on Steemit almost from day 1 whereas I'm a Johnny come lately to Medium, so I expect I'll have a much harder time succeeding there. Even so, it's another platform where I can monetize my considerable oeuvre, so why wouldn't I?

Well for starters it costs either $5 per month, or $50 annually (saving you $10 per year). I signed up for the latter. Then you have to join their Medium Partners Program (at no additional cost). This allows you to "lock" your posts so only paying members can see them. This is also the only way you can earn money on your posts there.

It's a gamble, but I've got a year to try and make back that $50. If I can at least do that, it'll be a wash. $50 is actually alot for me right now, but you've got to take risks to get anywhere, and better to invest it into a potential additional source of income than a game or something.

Anyway I'll report on how well it's working out for me over the coming months. Let me be your guinea pig!


Stay Cozy!*

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Definitely you can try that! Coz you have the talent of writing! So if you grab that audience then they will start paying to read more! Good luck dude!

Cheers~

and better to invest it into a potential additional source of income than a game or something.

It’s definitely worth trying. You have sooo much great material to share with. Especially all your solar and other related subjects would get interest in so many people all around the world. And of course your novels. It’s taugh now with Steem so low, but your hard work and consistency will eventually pay off.

I'll be interested to see how your experience turns out. I tried blogging on Medium before I discovered Steemit, before there was a paid option, and got fewer readers, no interaction (and of course no money). I'd be a little concerned, though, if all they payments come from people's $5/month membership fees - that's just going to be a zero sum game. Unless there are a lot of people subscribing just to read!

I think I might try this but am still waiting for your next review on how far it goes.
Though I've heard of medium from someone a while ago.

Will you continue to post regularly on Steemit too? Or are you going to focus more on Medium?

Cool man thanks for the heads up it's good to see more platforms emerging.

Cool man thanks for the
Heads up it's good to see more
Platforms emerging.

                 - gametestplay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Good luck with Medium, I'm using minds and bitchute with steemit now for all my posts.

What are those?

Minds.com is a facebook alternative that just launched a coin on the blockchain and bitchute.com is an open source version of youtube where you can post videos and they aren't buried by algorithms that favour jimmy kimmel's channel.

This sounds interesting and I waste more than five bucks a month on candy and scratch off lottery tickets so that cost isn't out of the question lol.

I may have look into that myself and I am curious to read how it works out for you.

Does this make all content on Medium Paid Content?

No, only if you choose to lock it. Locking your post makes it visible only to paying members. This reduces your traffic by alot but it's also the only way to get paid, since membership fees is where the money for payouts comes from.

So building a reputation and a following is the gateway to getting paid? This sounds familiar...

I had no idea that Medium paid their bloggers. Interesting. Let us know how it goes.

I would be especially interested in the kind of community that forms on a paid site like Medium. I've enjoyed watching Steemit change over the last 15 months. It is like watching your new kitten grow up into an adult.

Some loyalists will complain that you are betraying the STEEM ethos of decentralization and liberty. I'm not one of those people. You are paying the bills with your work and need to earn a reasonable return to make it a viable enterprise.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64