Why Flagging Harms the Flagger + 11 Questions You Need to Ask Yourself Before Flagging

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

249px-White_flag_waving-.jpg

Source

I have recently received my first flag. More importantly, at the same time, some people I know have had their accounts almost destroyed by what I consider unjust flagging. These completely unrelated but contemporaneous flagging events made me have a little think about the practice of flagging, when it's warranted and when it's not.

Since I never made a post celebrating X number of followers or anything like that, I thought I'd do one about flagging!

However, I want to approach this from the perspective of the flagger. What I want to argue here is, that flagging often harms the flagger! And the SteemIt community as a whole.

Hopefully, by the end of this, some of you will have become more reflective, current and future, flaggers.

steemitboard-.jpg

Yes, but, don't I get any badges for getting flagged?
Sources: @steemitboard and here.

Story of a non-flagger

I have never flagged anyone in my life. Even spammy comments on my posts. I just let them be. Whenever my SP allows, I upvote all comments to my posts that have meaning and content and are not spammy. I even upvote negative comments, when they are not spam.

Why do I do that, you ask? "Because I'm a philosopher" would be the short answer. But who cares for short answers: let's stretch it out!

I'm very much in favor of freedom of speech. I can't imagine myself in a university classroom full of philosophers, debating, and flagging people whose ideas I don't like. By flagging them, I deprive myself of their unique points of view, and lower the chances that I will be exposed to views that might challenge and even change my own. And next time they think about disagreeing with me, they will think about the consequences.

They shouldn't! All they should be thinking about is the logic of their argument.

Don't get me wrong: I would flag a philosopher if he started shouting, breaking chairs, slapping people around, breaking people's noses, or daring to say that David Hume is not the greatest philosopher who ever wrote in the English language. Any of these would be intolerable, and would earn swift and appropriate punishment (in the Hume case, immediate expulsion).

But let's proceed to examine in a bit more detail what kind of environment fear of flagging creates.

504px-Allan_Ramsay_-_David_Hume,_1711_-_1776-.jpg

David Hume.
Achievements: Woke up Kant.
Source.

Fear of flagging

I've had literally dozens of people contact me by DM to state their opinions about certain high-rep individuals (or state their opinions unprovoked in a discussion). Their words are too x-rated to mention here! Their content, at any rate, doesn't matter. What matters is this: I'm not the one who should be hearing those things. The person who should be hearing those things, and who would most benefit from hearing those things, is that selfsame high-rep person.

So why, you ask, don't they tell that person to their face? Answer: high-rep! "He who goes into a mill comes out powdered" is a specific reason I've heard.

In other words, what this high-rep person is doing, is building a bubble around herself by punishing any divergent opinion. She is rewarding kissarsery or at the very least silence, and punishing true speech. Put a bunch of these individuals in a platform like steemit, give them power, and this creates an intellectual climate where free thought is less likely to flow freely. It's not unlike the sensitive PC (some call it PMS) culture found in universities today. Or even in certain countries.

495px-Kim_Jong-Un_Photorealistic-Sketch.jpg

Kim Jong-Un.
Achievements: Stifled opinion.
Source.

Flagger or troll? A self-assessment questionnaire

So I thought about this a bit, and I came up with a few self-assessment questions that someone might want to take the time to answer before considering flagging someone. This is really the meat of this post. The preliminaries can be discarded and forgotten.

  1. Ask yourself: This post/comment I'm about to flag, would I report it to steemitabuse, @steemcleaners, @sherlockholmes and other relevant abuse and spam authorities? If not, then on what basis am I flagging it?
    (Here is a post I found by doing a quick google search of the terms "abuse" + "steemit". It mentions the circumstances under which a post or comment is worth reporting to #reportabuse and relevant tags.)

  2. I want to flag this post/comment for reasons XYZ. Is this the only post on steemit that displays the characteristics XYZ, or are there equal or much more egregious XYZ posts on steemit worth flagging? If there are, is it possible that I am flagging for personal/emotional rather than objective reasons? Am I flagging similar content across the board, or am I fixated on a singular individual?

  3. I only have x amount of SP or y number of votes per day. It's impossible to flag everything that deserves flagging. Have I made a list of posts on steemit worth flagging and ordered them from most to least offensive, and started flagging from the top? If not, is it possible that I am flagging for non-objective personal reasons, and could I thus be guilty of intellectual dishonesty?

  4. Check the trending posts. These are posts that, because of their popularity, are in much more urgent need of flagging. Are there any offensive posts there? Have I flagged them?

  5. Am I being consistent in my flagging? If I flag a post with the title "DNA analysis reveals human link to Neanderthals", but I don't flag a post with the title "DNA analysis reveals famous actor is father of woman's child", could my reasons for flagging have more to do with my private beliefs rather than objective objections?
    (These examples are random. I hope no one has been flagging for similar reasons recently!)

  6. What is the difference in rep points between me and my flagging target? Am I doing the equivalent of what bullies are doing in high-school? Am I picking on a smaller opponent? Am I possibly doing it for enjoyment?

  7. Did I flag-threaten this person in the past, having no idea what his posts were going to be in the future? If yes, have I contacted @steemit-abuse-fortune-tellers to ask them if they can verify my future prediction? Could my actions be emotion-driven?

  8. Have I shared my intentions with a clear-headed steemian friend of mine, known all around for his impartial objectivity and soundness of judgement, and did he confirm that the relevant post/comment does indeed deserve flagging?

  9. Has my target ever gotten into an argument with anyone else on steemit? Has she ever argued? Has she ever spammed? Has she ever flagged? Has she ever been flagged? Is there anyone at all who has any gripes or complaints against her, or has had negative dealings with her? If the answers to all these questions are "no", could I be flagging for biased reasons?

  10. Is my flag the only flag on this post/comment? If yes, why is there such a lack of consensus? Could my reasons for flagging be in fact non-reasons?

  11. Am I flagging a comment on my own post, or am I flagging another's post? Much more wiggle room is permitted in the first than the second case.

pexels-photo-369384.jpg

"I predict you will be needing flagging in the future. Consider yourself forewarned!"
Source.

Curtain

Ideally, flagging should be discussed with non-like-minded individuals before we proceed with it. The questionnaire above, hopefully, will help a person examine his own motives for flagging. Some are trolls and that can't be helped, but sometimes people will flag wrongly even if they are not trolls, because they get carried away by feelings they can't control or hold personal grudges of have had their dearly-held beliefs challenged.

The list above is by no means exhaustive, of course. It might not even be correct in all its points. I'm sure any one of you can think up a dozen more items, probably better than mine. The questionnaire's goal is to get you into a certain mental frame that will act as a mirror that you can hold up and hopefully examine your intentions more closely. At the end of the day, it's your own personal growth as an individual that is at stake. Are you doing your best to expose yourself to as many challenging and varied belief systems as possible? Or are you using your power to create a comfy environment of apple-polishing court jesters? If we do the latter, then we are harming the free exchange of information in this community. We are stunting our own growth and development as intellectual creatures, by using power to stifle thought. We are creating a yay-saying environment that penalizes honesty, and then we complain about lack of honesty and money-grabbing attitudes on the platform.

For the unjust victims of flag abuse, I have these closing words, that might offer some puny comfort. A flag is the equivalent of violence. Rest assured that when a person unjustly flags you, it is because they have exhausted all their mental arsenal, and have no more arguments left in their armory. Unjust flagging is essentially an advertisement and admission of intellectual defeat. Brawn is what the brainless resort to. At the end of the day, before we flag, we should all ask ourselves: "Do I want to be a woke man like Kant? Or do I want to be a little c*nt like Kim?"

(If you are a North Korean about to flag, then let's say the reference is to Kim Kardashian.)

This post is dedicated to a number of individuals, you know who you are. I hope your accounts will rise like Lazarus!


Upvote if you liked this, and follow for more like this!


Imgur
Come join us on Discord! https://discord.gg/7qyarFD

Sort:  

You stole in a very devious way. You received a flag. End of Story. Stop whining.

Circle jerking in DM also doesn't help. it only creates a small cult around you, a common enemy so you can all become friends. Just like high school. yeyyy.

Steemit is a place with specific rules. Flag is a tool of this game much like the Queen has a role in Chess. You can choose not to use the Queen and still play the game. I have received flags for being offensive, rude, challenging the status quo but never for stealing.

I only flag for obvious copy-pasta, devious copy-pasta or plain bullshit rhetorics with camouflaged copy-pasta. You are not the first and certainly you won't be the last.

It is somewhat ludicrous to flag someone on a platform, such as Steem, considering that this platform brings ideas, opinions, and conspiracy theories according to user preference. This platform can be tailored to be one's own digital echo-chamber. This tendency of flagging is but a symptom of an illiterate, purposeless, slothful generation looking for dragons to slay in the comfort of their mothers' basements.

True! It's only justified I think in cases of outright plagiarism and spamming. You could use it also for hate speech but those are murkier waters I think.

Even with plagerism, users/readers can choose not to upvote, thus, depriving revenue. They can write a comment regarding their plagerism. In the end, this is just a virtual blogging site, not some academic institution with ties to the Nobel committee. Oh how the frog thinks the universe is circumscribed to 5m diameter of his well!

Seeing as to how you, Alexander, did not mention Kyriacos, I would argue that by him making your argument public, he is either A) hoping to cause you more damage, or B) is keeping watch on you, fearful you will make him look bad, or C) both.

If he is feeling so insecure, I suggest you reassure him of your intentions and after promising not to malign him, ask him to leave you alone. Being a nice guy, I'm certain he will.

I made two comments on his "https://steemit.com/technology/@kyriacos/guess-i-was-right-about-tesla" post, so I guess, with those and this, I'll also be in his bad books. But he knows I am only debating as I see truths are in each case, so maybe he'll point out to me my error of my ways with sound and practical reasoning and help me grow wiser.

Alexander, I'm planning on writing a short article on Steemit. Please check my blog for it tomorrow.

Flagged for forcing me to think before I'm flagging someone :P

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexander.alexis to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Alexander Alexis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks for this post, I think it is much needed if Steemit is to remain an open platform for everyone.

Apart from reasons mentioned, I can imagine some people can become annoyed by posts from someone they don't like or find irritating (in my one case, because I was trying to be humorous I annoyed him). Isn't that why we have the Mute button? Just unfollow and mute, doesn't it keep you free of their presence? To me, it is a way of saying leave me alone. Flagging is for bullying and punishing. I do not like the idea of having someone decide he is going to punish me permanently because of his own rules and beliefs or because he misunderstood me.

If I were to use the Mute button, I would only do so if I know that I can un-Mute when I wish. Muting only gives the person who annoyed me the opportunity to mature a little, and then I would want to remove the mute.

I'd like to add one more comment. In real life, I have twice had an almost violent argument at the time I first met two persons (separately). We did not use physical violence, but sometimes the other kinds of violence are worse.

The one time, I thought about it and realised I was in the wrong. I went to him and admitted my fault and that person tried to argue I am not so much to blame and he became a very close friend.

In the other case, he had used his position in gov to threaten me with expulsion from the country because I'd challeneged his authority. The next morning I went to his office to challenge him again, but I had to wait and I saw how harassed he looked from the people arguing every point, so when I got to his table and he looked up, I asked whether he can take a break for coffee with me. The shock on his face was really comical. I apologised but explained why I had become angry, so did he and we found we had nothing to fight about.

We did not become close friends, but one day he searched me out to warn me to get out because somebody else in gov wanted to cause me big trouble and destroy me. He helped me get out (my name had been given to stop me). It was not a case of anything illegal, the man was a high ranking officer in the army and he was angry with me; when he publicly insisted I should sign up to fight for my country and I told him I have no intention of doing so, he was enraged (I was 51 years old at the time and exemptions only apply once you are 52).

I mention the above as my way of saying that I don't know where my next friend in Steemit might come from - could it be that same someone I have had a fight with? I don't want any permanent method of dealing with a temporary problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75