Alex's Thought of the Day: Desperation

in #steemit7 years ago

At first blush, I loved the idea of getting paid to post content. An "uber-ization" of writing has a lot of appeal, and the gamification of rewards hits some part of my brain. Steemit is perfect in theory. It seems like it should be a no-brainer for everyone to simply move over from Facebook.

However, it's not the interface or even audience size that's holding it back. I think it's the very principle that attracted me. The fact that everyone is being measured and potentially rewarded with every post makes the whole thing a little too desperate, and makes it feel inauthentic.

Sort:  

You are thinking too deeply about it.

Well, I can agree with this statement, however, what is more inauthentic is feeling used by Facebook. No doubt people should literally get away from the beast and try Steemit at least. What turns me off is the layout, I would like to see a well-thought out theme. Just a thought ;-) Thanks Alex

Why do you feel used by Facebook?

In my opinion, the beauty of it comes down to the fact that all of your interactions can never be deleted and as a result, people can quickly figure out if you are in fact bringing something to the table or just trying to make money. I think the self policing that goes on is enough to discourage posting just to post and support posting things that have meaning to them.

Maybe I need to use the site a little more before making up my mind. I don't have a big enough network of friends yet to see anything really good that's organic. I've been browsing based on "new" and I haven't been lucky enough to run into any really high quality stuff yet.

Never been a "social media" kind of person but Steemit seems to appeal to me more than FB. I like the idea because of its simplicity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42