Steemit Is So Unbalanced.

in #steemit7 years ago

I think Steemit is very unbalanced and discourages people who make awesome and legitimate content and makes it super hard to grow. I understand growing on steemit isn't an instant thing and takes time, and that you need to make connections. Connections mean a lot on this platform, and can really help your growth if you make good connections with the right people.

Now keep in mind, there are many components to being a successful steemian. The components include having connections with the right people, making consistent and good content, and having exposure. Now about the exposure thing; it is HARD. Having a good exposure is really hard unless you are a dolphin or whale already. Not only do a lot of dolhpins and whales have their own clique and upvote each other and themselves, but the spam on this platform is just crazy. We have a bunch of spam bots and spam accounts on this platform spam posting as a rate faster than you may or may not know. All of the good content is drowned out by spam posts, which is not only discouraging...but SUCKS!

I mean look at it from a person who tries their best to make consistent and quality posts and only gets pennies. You have these people self voting and you have so many spammers. How in the hell are you going to grow on this platform and get your word out? I understand that you shouldn't have any post earning expectations, but it is frustrating when you are trying to grow bigger and have more visibility to get your message more "world wide".

giphycrng.gif

The selfishness on this platform is just so cringy. Just look at what @kiwicanfly said about his encounter with a whale.

"This is my second week on Steemit and from what I've observed on the platform, I totally agree. It first came to my attention when Jerrybanfield made the post about the biggest whale on the site, mindhunter. I came across mindhunter on my first day, saw one his posts and followed him. I had no idea that he was a whale at the time (I didn't really know much about whales tbh). I commented on one of his photos and he replied "Me too" and he got $60+ for it. That felt really dirty to me. Now I make sure to look at accounts before following to make sure they aren't so selfish as you said."

giphniggery.gif
Again, exposure is everything, and it is getting harder and harder to get with all of the spam drowning out all of the good posts and the massive amounts of people joining. That is why the people who joined steemit early did so well because there were less spammers and more visibility. Also, steem power and delegation also means the world too, more steem power equals more visibility/exposure.
Funniest-Fail-GIFs-4.gif
So my suggestion; make connections with the right people, post quality content regularly, don't spam, and keep a positive attitude. It takes a while to grow on steemit, so be patient.

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1 (1).png

Sort:  

The platform is still very long, so we are all early adopters. So I consider ourselves all lucky. Is steemit still in beta stages? It still seems unstable especially with the esteem app.

Anyways, I totally agree with you on the spam part. So mant people here put out quantity over quality and it makes no sense. Like in your other blog posts painting an unflattering picture of whales and dolphins, someone obviously didnt read it and commented, "nice."

Lol.

Keep steeming forward, you never know what the next days hold for you or anybody. If you believe in your own content than you will find others believing in you.
clickthespoon.gif

Sound advice my friend!

I just come on to have fun, not really worried about making connections. I get a few pennies once in awhile, which is more than I get from facebook. :)

Good analysis. Final comments are common sense.

Steemit is the beginning, not the end. Other "steemit" clones will be coming out. Next time we'll be early adopters in the "next" platform since we have been part of this community and are aware of the potential.

FYI, Do you think Google was the 1st search engine..... it wasn't

You are one of the people here that gives honest ideas here. I believe there is a remedy, and hopefully the ones who have good content will rally behind us when that day comes, us because I really want you to be a part of this in the coming weeks. Be vigilant, we can make things happen here working CLEANLY and UNSELFISHLY as a team. At all levels of spciety, there is always the GOOD and the EVIL. We just have to look for the good ones.

Regards.

Me, I just barely started here on Steemit. XD I haven't really had that much time to get into it any further, since my scheduled just got slammed between freelancing and trying to get my newest book out.

It's a common problem, though, amongst other social media platforms. Those who get in early get popular and galvanize their base, usually an audience imported from other social media platforms.

Then it's time to monopolize and utilize.

The only difference is that we actually get paid here, so it seems. >XD I'm still gettin' a hang of that part, but my goal is always the same:

Kick out great content, even if it's just blogposts or a mention, and do what I can to increase my exposure without selling my soul or busting up my principles.

~Thomas Duder, Author of the Things

Steemit is weighted in favour of this who have been posting the longest. I see no fault with that. I post 4 times every day and will do for as long as it takes. We knew the rule when we joined. lol

Cash or content work gets paid

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @alex-icey. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alex-icey to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55