Turbulent Times for Minnows, Dolphins and Whales.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Disclaimer: This post might seem a little bit disjointed but it's my attempt to shed some light on the problems I've see going on. This is not an attack piece and I hope it's not taken that way. I would like to think of it as constructive criticism.



There has been a lot of negativity in the steemit ecosystem as of late. I guess this is to be expected as we are human and no one said it was going to be all cupcakes and rainbows. (I've watched Trolls way too many times) I've noticed a couple of things that have happened over the past year. I'm not sure if me talking about it will really make a difference but nothing ever got solved by sitting on the sidelines.

My first observation

I first joined steemit over a year ago and was pretty awestruck as to what @ned and @dan were trying to build here. I bought some steem and saw it go from less than a $1 to $4 pretty rapidly. Not long after I created an account and started looking to see what type of content was being shared and rewarded on this platform.




This pretty much sums up the main problem many minnows face here on steemit. Not everyone here cares about quality content and those with huge steem power wield it irresponsibly. In essence they rewarded a video for all of the wrong reason. From what I see it was a marketing ploy to be be used as talking point. As seen at the 5:30 mark on the video below.

Not to hate on @guerrint but not to long after receiving this windfall she stopped posting on steemit and has been cashing out ever since. This was one of the reason that I didn't even attempt to start using steemit. It seemed unsustainable and to me was propagating all of the things that were wrong with social media. It also didn't help that the price fell from $4 dollars to .17 cents. During the decline I sold off most of what I had. That pretty much cemented it for me that steem was just another failed crypto experiment. I have since changed my mind.

More misguided actions

Steemit is a community driven site which is common with open source software. There are a lot of actors that have been trying to make this platform the innovation that it should be. It's pretty much a thankless job. One awesome steemin is @officialfuzzy the creator of WHALESHARES on openledger. Given his active involvement I was surprised that @ned flagged him him for a project he was trying to put together. He also gave no reason for his flagging.





This is a little disheartening but @officalfuzzy took it in stride. He is continuing to be the defacto leader of steemit in my humble opinion.

Abuse of power

With great power comes great responsibility. A little due diligence would have uncovered that whatever abuse @noganoo was receiving from @berniesanders was justified. Upvoting someone who has been making threats against other people either shows that you agree with their actions or you didn't take the time to figure out the whole story.




What really bothers me is that even with this new found information he didn't even remove his upvote.


Each person on here has the right to do whatever they please with their voting power but if you are the creator of said platform you should try to lead by example.

The Current Flag War

Right now @dan and @berniesanders are in a flag war that is causing considerable collateral damage to the steemit community. I'm not really sure what started it but it has gotten way out of control. Technically @dan is no longer part of Steemit Inc as he resigned 6 months ago

He has been posting a lot about EOS on steemit and now every post that is related to EOS is getting flagged by @berniesanders. Most people have already chosen their sides on this matter and think that bernie is acting like an asshole. Even though this may be the case bernie is trying to prove a point.

Love him or hate him bernie has done a lot for steemit. He is actively trying to combat the spam, scams and plagiarism that plague steemit. His method is really unorthodox but he has a code that he does live by. In fact bernie actually stuck up for @ned even though it's obvious that he does not like him one bit.

If bernie were to give in and stop all of his projects on steemit I think things would go down pretty quickly. It would have to fall on other leaders of steemit and from what it looks like their plates are already full.

In Closing

The people I mentioned in this post will not be going anywhere anytime soon. It's best to let bygones be bygones and move on. I'm not even sure if any of the people that I mentioned above will care for my opinion or even read my post. Who am I to them but just another person on steemit. But steemit is a revolution and movement for the people, by the people. We are all human so it is inevitable that we will make mistakes along the way. With that said I just hope that they keep one thing in mind.


"The enemy of my enemy is my friend"

We need to find common ground and work together to build this platform. This space has the ability to empower a lot of people. Let's not lose sight of what the true enemy is. The war we are fighting is war for our perception, mind and reality. We are allowing people to believe in themselves and determine what has value not some man in the high castle. Let's put a temporary moratorium on the flagging and help to make things better. When we get over 1 million users then you can go back to your little fiefdom battles. If you made it this far thanks for reading and keep on steemin!!!


Get Your Steemit Merchandise and Try out CryptoPing

steem-shirt

resteem

Sort:  

Yup .. Good points ... And the cyber monkeyspheres will form ...
Steemit is a country mile better than youtube and better than any other platform to date .. so until something better comes along steemit will do well .. But it will loose a lot of people trying to sell it as a way to make money ... Cus for most that dream will be dashed quickly lol ..but I and many other have been driven here beacuse we are banned from youtube ... Lol ... And other platforms beacuse we say inconvient things ... But as soon as free speach leaves the platform so will we ... So watching to see what way things will jump next .. There is great potential here ... Oh and what the hell is with the stingy up votes these days lol its a bot vote or no vote these days lol stingy people everywhere ... @cleverbot

here is a tip!
is all i have to do to send u a tip from
@tipU

Good comment!! For the most part it's circle jerks or bots upvoting popular authors to get get a bit of that curation reward.

I think if we had the numbers that youtube has it would be a bit different and the bots would not be needed as much or noticed as much ..... but times be a changin Steemit and projects like the one I put a link to will change things more than anyone knows ....Share WiFi with neighbours and the community. Get paid. I think this ico will go well... and the project is amazing ...
https://www.ammbr.com/
My kid just sent me a link to this coin ico ... also did a post on this and a few others projects we need to embrace today ..... And its fun being one of the ones here for fun and the spread of knowledge not for the money .... I have not made in months here what I make in a couple hours at work lol
But it is fun....

It's a little late for that right now, unless we caught the reissue of the first showing at the Transit Drive-In...

Interesting how sincerely you follow these flag wars here. Great read. My opinion about this is that no individual is powerful enough to stop the train Steemit has become. And I am not saying that because I am super euphoric about potential growth. I say that because even it is not as decentralized as is could and should be it is getting there. The action has already taken into the hands of hundreds of parallel working groups, communities and sometimes even individuals who pop up ideas, tools, services and support that no single group could plan. This is what will make Steemit successful. It doesn't matter what @dan or @ned or @berniesanders do. Sure each one of them contributes in their way. But so do we with our content and activity. Steemit is a hive and bigger than all of us.

I agree to an extent . As far as keeping steemit free from plagiarism it seems to be the community and not steemit inc. That was more of what I was getting at. A lot of impersonation has been going on as well and that could present a real problem in the future.

This is the spirit I experienced when I joined in August this year with my first ( and only other ) account @s0phos. Since then I read a lot about misuse of this platform, of bot-network sucking out the reward pool and generic - this-is soo-awesome-click-generators -ly stuff

And yes, much of it have been proven to be true. But there also is a substantial base of user, which are aware on how amazing different this platform is compared to other social media.

This is not about earning easy money, this is about to find out who you are. Since there is money involved, this tends to bring out the personality in people more than without. Some people come just to take, others are here to give something, being thankful for getting something in return. And presumtively there are caring not about the money at all. How many that d be? haha

I enjoyed your article and would like to share it on my next promotion journal. If you are interested, you are welcome to check out my banner below.

Anyways, I wish you a great experience and much fun. Steem on!

I enjoyed your response. If anything it's about who you think your are from the perspective of other people. Money does brings out the worst in people but only if they are predispositioned to putting more value into money than themselves. You deserve a tip!

Hi alao, I did promote you in my first Promotion Journal #1, we got started!

Have a nice day :)

thank you, very much appreaciated! :)

thanks for the thoughtful post. I'm new here and wonder how different steemit really is from what's out there as far as social media content. I'm still in the discernment stage and I'm choosing who to upvote from that perspective and those who would be interested in the content I post...

I would say it's not as bad as there is somewhat of a family feel here. At lot of stuff takes place outside of the site like the meetups and other projects.

That's good to know; it would be great to develop nice relationships outside of this realm...

"The enemy of my enemy is my friend"

Wasn't this exactly where @dan went wrong?

Actually you're right on an individual level. I was more going at it from the philosophical view. The true enemy is mass media, censorship and fiat.

Agreed:)! Could not it be so simple that Steemit evokes all human emotions: greed, jealousy etc and just reflects humankind? If you see the world around us, it is not 'fair'. The rich and powerful have perhaps too much influence, while hot girls can cash in on their looks only. However, this is not a reason to not try to change it, and rewarding quality content only.

I don't mind rewarding a pretty face content but giving someone over $31K and them jumping ship kinda shows a lapse in judgment .

Congratulations @alao! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

One really interesting property about power laws is the sensitivity to mild changes. Say you get just one more "whale", but one who does not have a upper spending limit, then your entire revenue swings wildly higher. This makes any forecast much harder to be reliable, in comparison to a standard normal distribution.

Well it depends on what that whale decides to do with his steem. If he powers up then he is locked in for at least 3 months so he might start delegating and upvoting. If not then he will just dump on the open market.

Congratulations @alao! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50