You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How much are you paying to post?

in #steemit7 years ago

This is interesting. I wasn't even aware of this occurring.
Even though it's entirely logical and understandable to take a fair fee, I didn't expect the percentages to be so high on some of these.
Does steemit take a cut?

Sort:  

steemit.com and busy.org both appear to take 0 percentage. If they took benefactor rewards it would show up the same way on your steemd.com page though.

Good to know!
Thanks for the info :)

Part of me wonders if they ever intend to take a cut.
Another part wonders what they have planned for the 75% or so of all existing steem that they seem to hold- That's an entirely different discussion however xD

Do you think that 15-30% benefactor rewards is adequate?
How about considering the platforms that utilized ICO funds for development?

I am not a developer and I can't really say what a fair percentage is as I don't know how much work went into these apps and how large the user base is or anything like that. I am sure that the funds held by steemit inc is what they have to essentially "pay the bills" during development and such. Whatever percentage they hold, it's in their best interest to add value to the platform because as they expend those funds on development they do run down. The more value the tokens have = more funds for development and jobs from steemit inc. The cool thing about a blockchain is that if they somehow fail, the witnesses are developing different front ends that are now competing with them, so if they fail to maintain the "flagship standard" they will be replaced by another front end. The currency is not directly tied to the success of the company.

Good points!
I know of a few amazing witnesses that are capable of great things.
I also see a couple that are either inactive or purely looking out for their own bottom line.
While you're right that it's not directly tied to the success of the company, I hope it becomes a bit more evenly distributed across responsible parties xD

If only I was smart enough to actually accomplish any of my criticisms lolol.

Would be cool if everything was transparent, also the bills that are being paid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63