You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ideas for more justice on Steemit. / Ideen für mehr Gerechtigkeit auf Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

Yeah. Well, I looked into this for a while. I still think that 4x voting strength was a bad idea. Linear rewards is a pretty bad mask for the fact that the distribution on the platform is totally smashed. Minnow votes went up, but self voting nearly doubled or more. Minnows with bigger votes is neat, but I'm not sre its worth the whale self voting.

Sort:  

I am glad to read the opinion of another witness here! Do your 'colleagues' recognize the problem, too, which you are describing here?
I wonder if there are some witnesses who like the idea of diminishing returns to make it less attractive to upvote the same accounts (including ones own) again and again?

I've read the same arguments before regarding whale self voting. I think the whales are less distributing their votes to the smaller fish, because I expect most of them either 1) run a paid voting service 2) lease/rent their SP to paid voting services; therefore making more money than before and doing less work. Also I read from solid high SP holder curators in the past, they turned to auto voting because this and that. Although these auto curators explain the community they once so often review their auto voting, I doubt this is actually happening. Regardless of the changes to HF19, I think the paid voting services would have come to life anyway. Randowhale showed the community such service could be useful for those who owns them and can create them (ie know how to script and code) and that service was introduced pre-HF19. With these type of service, the community is even more geared towards their own pockets, fill them while they can. One leads to the other. I personally think, we need more good and quality curation guilds with lots and lots of SP behind them; These curation guilds should reward the good. I actually think we need curation guilds not only for the low Rep and the tiny fishes, but for everybody. I see so many account on Steemit for more then a year getting less and less rewards, even when their content is still good. They also need to be rewarded! Since when this does not happen, some percentage of these users will start becoming 'bad' as well. From own experience I can tell you I stopped writing posts that costs me 4 to 6 hours, due to the 50ct to 1,5$ I get on such posts, while I get more rewards when I share a photograph with some personal text to it taking me less then 30 minutes to create from finding the photograph in my collection of photographs, create the post and publish it. I'm sure this is happening with many other Steemians as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66