Can we pause for half a second and say congrats and thanks to Steemit? We're breaking multiple records right now!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Look I know there's a lot of frustration that's been going around towards Steemit. There haven't been enough changes to the UI fast enough to make everyone happy. There was a slow period while getting DDOSed. There have been challenges along the way. I get all of that. But we're also kinda kicking ass.

Blocktivity

This is a site called blocktivity.info. I found out about it through @steemitblog. It's tracking price relative to how much activity is on a platform and also keeping track of how much room is left on the block. Steem currently holds the record for most transactions on a block. Not only that, but we're still sitting under 1% utilization. Steemit has some more changes coming to make it improve, but right now we're the most active and still have room to grow.

Maybe you don't think that's all that cool, but you'd be wrong. If you want to power an entire internet on a blockchain you need one that can handle an assload of transactions. I'm looking around and while many of those coins still have room none of them could power it themselves... except Steem.

How bout price?

I'm pretty sure we're at all time high levels. We're doing pretty well right now. $7 steem. Maybe it's a pump. There are some witnesses that are still mad at Steem that think it's just a pump. I happen to think it's that the market is finally pricing in the things that are coming in 2018: onboarding improvements, communities, and SMTs. That's gonna be a hell of a year and I think the market is now accounting for it.

It's possible it's just a pump, but I think the fact that we're raising up faster than some of the other coins is suggesting that we're not just keeping up with BTC, but we're actually gaining on it. I think it suggests a good future for the coin!

Minnow Support is about to hit 7k active Steemians!

With prices surging we have a pretty massive influx of new people! MSP is about to hit 7k active members! that's remarkable. I fucking run a city! Who knew, but check out this chart from @penguinpablo-

We have over 300,000 unique accounts using Steemit.com last week. That's incredible! Apparently $10SBDs and $7 Steem really keeps folks engaged on the platform! I'm not positive, but I think that's an all time high too!

Anyway, there's been a lot of hateraide and I just wanted to toss these guys some love!

Thanks Steemit. You guys have put up with some serious shit. You haven't been perfect, but you're getting us to the crypto promise land. So, I just wanted to stop and say thanks!

Sort:  

I think the pump today is just a great sign of people believing in something enough to help it succeed. Without all the people on here like you and many other major contributors helping to grow steemit and prove to the world that it's worthwhile, it would go nowhere.

I think that's a major difference between steem and other altcoins at the moment. Steem has a working platform with thousands of users who support it and make it great. Sure, it's got fast speeds and no fees, but the real bread and butter is the people.

I think as time goes more and more people will come to steemit because they see a group of people who believe in change, positive change where people are boosting each other up, sharing each others content, and giving each other value. I'm really glad to be part of the community here and look forward to doing my best to help it grow and thrive. Only wish I was hodling more haha.

Happy new years everyone :)

I didn't know Steem has this much activity.
We should be proud as the first users of this community.

Happy New Year!😀

A lot of people that are noticing Steem for the first time, still don't know or are just finding out about Steem.

and it might go higher since the surge has sparked a lot of activity on the platform and more people are engaging the platform according to the daily stats. i want to see it go even higher. this will mean my coins and votes will be worth something

Happy New Years! I'm glad someone let me know about Steemit, it sounds like there's a great group of people here that care about helping others :)

Happy New Year. I am Looking for people to follow who also believe in change. I have upvoted your post and will re-steem.

Exactly. Steemit is a genius idea.

Nice congrats people I'm new and just uploaded my first DTUBE video on real estate and crypto investing. Cheers and happy newyears!

I’m glad to be a part of this growing steemit community, one interest thing if you check out blocktivity.info steem or steemit is one of the active that grows rapidly cheers for steemit 🎉


This is super awesome! This new records makes the New Year extra sweet :D
Looks like you're doing great too! Best wishes to you always.

Yes! I love gifs! :)

this is really a nice gif.
steem $ will increase further more/
@qami

$50 is so possible by mid year :D

ummm, I don't think so this year but am very happy with the current prices!

pump utopian :D make a task for marketing material :)

Go steem go

"Spare me!"
Hahaha

Reminds me of this Simpson's moment. McBain = Steem. Nazi = The coinmarket cap.

This is a good one! :)

Leo and Coco
What a couple for the ultimate 2018 New Year blast

coco peru clinton leupp.jpg

Congratulation and cheers to all Peoples
Enjoy this movement...

the rise has begun and with that high block activity its no surprise that steem is growing that fast , screw those whale who think its a pump , me am just happy that my coins are worth a lot

I think we will see 10-15 $ within the next 6 months !

Maybe sooner 😁

love you steemit.
and love you steemit family .
you are very caring.
lets connect.
@qami

Hope sooo!

It is happening guys, Steemit is up up up to high grounds as in the gif!

Going to have to add start adding a zero at the end of each of those numbers!!!

Yes! Exciting times :)

This is going to be the best year ever!!!

Steemit is just warming up :) Steem on.

Upvote& Follow u , Nora!

lets upvote and follow.
steemit
@qami

i love that gif haha

can we cause a red wedding :D get to top2 :D

I was actually contemplating that, the pump of sbd I didn't get a exact way to do it, but I was thinking what if we just x10 it twice, steem was at 800 mill back then, so I was thinking 8bil gets us top10 exactly, 80 bil gets us top2 (ripple hadn't wrecked ether back then :D )

Thanks you! I'm glad to be a steemian😁

wooow steemit work really good!!!!

Its a killing spree!!!

lets connect.
@qami

LOL< your .gif is outdated already!
We passed $8, and you might as well make it $10, $12, $20, $30, and so on, cuz $100 is the GOAL for this Year!!! Maybe MORE? ;) OK, I'm making it official, $1,000 Steem THIS YEAR! 2018! ;) lol

@underground I love the sound of that. Steem on :)

wooaaahh! this is really happening! 😁 i need gifs! :D

Yes! so many more greatness is coming :)

get this shit off my wall please

Cryptos are the ultimate human freedom.

This comment has received a 7.34 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @discernente.

Keep going this is awesome! Looking forward for new heights for STEEM!!!

What are the theoretical limits for daily transactions with Steem? Seems like it keeps all others in the butt!

Theoretically on high end nodes, I believe I saw that it could possibly handle 180,000 transactions per second, which would give something around 16 billion transactions per day. Stress tests have sustained 10000 transactions per second in the past which would give a little less than 1 billion transactions per day. As far as I know.

BURNINATING THE STRESS TEST!

Upvote for blocktivity.info. thats very cool, i didnt know about this one.

Absolutely incredible. Let's hope it can sustain!

Отличная тенденция роста! :)

Thank you steemit and thanks to great people like you @aggroed who are making this community strong.

I was lucky to jump on the train in October, when Steem was on a 1$ plateau for a while. My first Crypto experience! And, after digging and understanding what this thing was about, I was confident it would at least be stable and probably rise.

Steem has a fundamental that many other coins do not have: huge solid growth of its activity via an ever increasing number of applications, developers and users.

When I put my nose over it, I can't help to smell a future giant.

While I am writing this comment, Steem is now at 8$ (SBD at 10$). I think it is a pump, and that it is maybe not over (I can see it continue increasing for a short while) and then, it will recede towards a new plateau, maybe 4-5$.

It might stay there a little, cooking, and then have a huge boost again, and recede to a new plateau, always multiple times the previous plateau value, a kind of copy paste of the past evolutions... I might post something on the reason that make me write that (maybe, maybe not, I am not a crypto expert ;-))

In the end, with all the amazing assets it already has (a huge processing headroom) and those that will be injected in the system in 2018, (like SMTs), I do not think high 2-digit or even low three digit prices are unthinkable by the end of the year.

And as for the long term... the sky is the only limit...

So I write post in my fields of expertise of the highest quality possible, and collect Steem coins now... for my retirement as a millionaire :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15