IBADAN STEEM MEETUP, AN ABSOLUTE SUCCESS!

in #steemit6 years ago

I arrived Ibadan, straight outta Lagos, while I boarded a bike at Iwo road, taking me to Mokola (the venue of the event), which by the way, cost me 700 Naira. An honest thought crossed my mind "What the fuck am I doing in Ibadan?", not that I was a speaker or something. I didn't try to wrestle or ignore the thought rather, I entertained it "Why am I doing here", I sincerely asked myself, interestingly, the answer came at the end of the event.

agbona igwemoh steemit.jpeg
Woman crush of the day @gee1, @ejemai backgrounding 😎 lols

I arrive Wennovation Hub pretty early, luckily for me, there was an eatery next door, my ravenous soul thanked the gods of the land. One of the worst meals I've had to pay 2,000 plus for, not to mention the shitty customer service (trained monkeys would've done better) the other Steemians I met there shared the same sentiment. Well, it was a complete waste of resource, at least I charged my phone.

The Steem Ibadan event in one word - Phenomenal!

IMG_20180224_150529.jpg

Walking into the venue, you'll get the feeling that you're walking into a pretty serious event, and you've got be on your best behaviour. After penning your details at the reception manned by a duo consisting of the pretty @nwamaka and another, then you'll move to the next stage, where you'll have to locate a seat. The hall was almost filled when I walked in, despite the fact that I arrived pretty early, a clear indication of a job well done by the organizers.

The event kicked off at the appointed time - something you rarely see at events these days. The event was hosted by @mediahousent, the duo made the event a lively affair, the best part was their strict management of time. And all the speakers over delivered!

The Lectures of the Day

Lecture 1

samstickkz.png
@Samstickkz - Blockchain & Cryptocurrency

The Best time to invest in Cryptocurrency is now, get as many as you can - @samstickkz

Samstickkz hit the ground running with a practical lecture about the enormous opportunities inherent the world of cryptocurrency. He gave a live example, similar to what he did in Enugu Steemit event where he picks a given coin, and estimates how much one would've made if only you had the information and invested a paltry sum a year before. Usually, these examples make an outstanding effect on the participants.

Especially when you hear that if you had invested 9,000 Naira in January 2017, you could've made 5 Million, by simply holding a particular coin.

Lecture 2

tojukaka.png
@Tojukaka - Steemit

Content is not King on Steemit, content is side-chick - @tojukaka

In this highly interactive lecture, @tojukaka demystify certain areas of Steemit known only to a select few. He talks about the importance of networking and socializing in meetups, it's not enough to write good content; you must have a great relationship with the right people that will deliver value to such high content post. I will be uploading his video in the coming hours.

I learnt a lot about Steemit from his lecture. The lecture which later turn to Q n A session where people with challenges came forward to ask questions about difficulties they are faced with.

Lecture 3

@gee1.png

Newbie Plague - @gee1

The best place to start a thing is from the top - @gee1

She kicked off her presentation with a social experiment where she randomly selected 3 people and asked them what them the first thing they did when they woke. 2 out of three of the respondent said they checking their phones, and the third person said she when back to sleep. She likened herself to the third person who by the way was a lady (girl power I guess).

She went on to explain some of the challenges newbies on the Steem platform face regularly, and she also provided answers to such common questions. It was a highly insightful lecture, as it was apt, straight to the point and powerful!

Girl power indeed.

Lecture 4

@ejemai.png
STACH - @ejemai

Steemit is a value platform. If you bring value, you take out value; if you bring in trash, you take out bigger trash - @ejemai

@Stach 's Founder started his lecture by taking a selfie with the entire audience behind him, this is becoming his signature move whenever he climbs the stage to present. @ejemai talks about his inspiring story of how he founded Stach from nothing. His lecture will make anyone want to do more, and take advantage of the opportunity Steemit.com presents, in a country like Nigeria, where the government is in an abysmal failed state.

Find your Steem, that thing that you can add to the Steem blockchain. You need to interact with people that you hope will interact with your post.

Lecture 5

vlcsnap-2018-02-25-18h24m38s210.png
Steemit Etiquettes - @TheLoveJunkie

You have to be strategic on Steemit, what niche do you want to conquer - @thelovejunkie

@thelovejunkie addressed a very important aspect of being on the Steem blockchain, which is interacting with one another. She covered a lot of the different aspects of etiquettes, from spamming, begging for upvotes, abuse and being a general nuisance on the platform.

If I were to describe her lecture in 3 words, I'll say "Steemit rules of Engagement" oops that 4 words. Yep, Steemit rules of engagement, how you engage other people on the platform in a friendly and courteous way that will inspire respect love and a sense of belonging to a community.

Motherly lecture I tell you!

Lecture 6

IMG_20180224_172718.png

Password Security - Ehiboss

Save your password in several places, it is better safe than sorry - @ehiboss

Ehiboss spoke extensively about the need to keep your passwords safe, especially your master password. He advises participants enable 2 Factor authentication, to protect your valuables on the Steem blockchain. And he offers advice on what on what to do once your account gets compromised, one of the things he mentioned was the need to remain calm, when you panic, you make more mistakes.

His lecture basically was a gear changer in the pace of how the remainder of the lecture proceeded

Lecture 7

IMG_20180224_174628.png

Flagging and Abuse - @Gbenga

Don't abuse the power you have to flag someone's post, simply because you can - @gbenga

This is one of my favourite lectures, apart from the personality (swag) of the speaker, the delivery of his lecture is simply top-notch. He spoke about flagging and abuse on the Steem blockchain, he went the great length of using several case studies to help the participants better understand his lecture. He advised participants to refrain from flagging people's post, he preaches dialogue in the resolution of conflict, which is something that is bound to happen.

He also offers advice to those that have been flagged, on one offence or the other. The lecture was very educative and highly engaging.

Lecture 8

IMG_20180224_180836.png

Building Ideas in Steemit - @Nairadaddy

Steem blockchain plus smart idea equals WOW! - @nairadaddy

@nairadaddy spoke extensively on the need to marry your smart ideas with the Steemit blockchain, he spoke about how he Founded Air-Clinic, which was birthed out of the need for accessible health care services. Air-clinic which is a decentralized health facility made so people can access a wide range of the various health care services that otherwise will be difficult to access.

Lecture 9

IMG_20180224_182141.png

SteemApps - DestinySaid

The sky is big enough for everyone, whatever you do, package it well and you'll earn something for yourself - @destinysaid

His topic was centered around the various tools and platforms built on the Steem blockchain, his lecture was focus on the D-series, or the D alternative to the popular services also called the D-Apps which includes Dsound, Dtube, Dmania, Dlive, Zappl Appics et al. His energetic talk was basically centered around the use of these various applications, as they are alternative to writing/blogging on Steemit.

I had massive fun listening to these folks as they unravel their Steem!

Sort:  

Lol... Now I'm blushing. Someone's crushing 😂

You did a wonderful summary of the event here. You really gave the presentation your time.
I'm glad you got a lot to take back home with you. This is what meet ups are for.

Well written post dear!

One more thing, #womancrushwednesday #wcw starts pretty soon. Start getting ready to participate 😘😘😘😘

The event was awesome, I just hope I did a good job reporting about it. And it's nice meeting you again, you're a wonderful person.

#WomanCrushWednesday? What's it about?

An opportunity to show the steemit community any woman/lady who beats your fancy. A woman you crush on. An opportunity to make an open confession.

It will be taking place every Wednesday. It hasn't started yet though. I will keep you posted

Alrighty, I believe it will be a fun event, I can't wait to be a part of it.

Quick question, will there be a male version too, where ladies can come and confess about the guys they crush on?

Me and you cannot come and have the same crush oh. Leave my crush @gee1 for me. Lolz. I really missed a lot not attending this ib-meet up

She is all yours man, I have to take my crushing elsewhere.

Yeah the event was awesome! Best I've seen so far.

Is thia how you use to do your own crushing?? Lolz

Lol...brother, no fighting something, besides how many girls weh dey crush on me fit come outside talk am?

Lol...
You sure did miss a lot dearie.

Honestly, this is the best I have read amongst others. You gave a fantastic compendium of the event. If I were a whale, I would give a good upvote ,anyways soon I will be😀. BTW, thanks for giving steemit etiquette another name, in my next presentation I sure will mention it courtesy you. Kudos dear @agbona. U&R

I am truly honoured to have you here ma'am, the event was simply outstanding, I am only reporting the event as it happened.
I hope to be at your next presentation, I believe will be another amazing lecture!

Beautifully documented.

Thanks Jeline. I'll see you on the Discord server 😉

Weldone @agbona, this is a well presented article of the Steem Ibadan meet and i will give you a good enough upvote.

Wow, I am speechless. I am really grateful.

Truth be told, I really enjoyed the event, the best I've attended so far. So it's always a pleasure writing about something you enjoyed.

Many thanks for the upvote and taking the time to go through my blog, it means a lot to me.

Quality recognizes quality when quality sees one. Good job you did locating one.

I am honoured.

This post has received gratitude of 1.94% from @appreciator courtesy of @i0x!

Correct guy, am sure it is worth the time and money you entertained with you thoughts.
Keep steeming bro.

Thanks Charles. It was worth every bit of time.

Wow...Thats a lot of great speeches

Hey pretty face, it was a power-packed event, filled with amazing people!

cool,i was there life and direct....thanks guys

Awesome event, yeah?

Wow!!
Simply amazing!!
I feel pretty bad that i didnt attend this
You guys are so amazing

It was truly an amazing event. Hopefully, you'll be around for the next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57