The Pond is open at Discord, now.

in #steemit7 years ago

discord-the-pond.JPG

Discordia is the Roman version of the Greek goddess Eris and this urgly girl is the goddess of discord. Dear reader, the meaning of „discord“ is not a very positive. I looked up the word in my dictionary and went through the whole list of meanings. The most neutral interpretation is „dispute“. All the other meanings have a much more negative touch, up to the seeds of discord, one of the worst things people does. Some further examples are to argue, having a conflict, a rift, a disagreement, and so on in the negative sense of meaning. Now, you want to know why I am thinking about „discord“ at all. I know, most of you Steemians are speaking English very well and you know about this word. Why the heck this green frog is boring the audience thinking about a well known expression?

As a community we are all tempered in a light positive manner. Why I scare my sensitive readers with a mean word? Ok, first you should know there is nothing you have to be scared about, dear Steemian. Better said, no new unknown problem came up in Steemit, right now. Calm down. It is all in order, so far. Except the awards, but this is nothing new and it would surely be a little bit boring, to write about again. We all know what happened but you don't know, what yesterday happened to me. I've given a ribbit to a posting of @surpassinggoogle and he doesn't send me a box full of yummy flies, but a small donation with a memo, to get my courtesy of his desire. He mentioned „Discord“ in the memo of his donation and an URL. I was invited to go there and have a closer look on this new server, built for all Steemians.

Oh dear, didn't we have enough new to explore, the last months, up today? This was the kernel of my first reaction after the invitation but I am pretty curious tempered. My dear wife Elke and the kids seem to be on the edge by this, sometimes, but you never change an adult frog. By the way, Elke is very lucky not to be a frog too, but she is a nurse in one of the two local hospitals and nursing is a kind of froggy life as well but not the theme of this posting at all. Okay, I've done the short jump too discord, lucky not to know in this moment, what the word means. If I would have known the meaning, may be I never jumped over there because I don't would have any potential discord, when the sun is fairly shining outside.

„Discord“ is a new place to have a real chat about all the things, you wouldn't discuss in the public of Steemit. Of course, you are able to discuss there in the public of discord users as well, but private chat is possible, too. I have not discovered all the functions over there, but it seems we will have a lot more functions on Discord, as in Steemit Chat. Now, I'm very sorry for the diligent people running this important place of communication on Steemit Chat. You have a competitor now. I don't know what to do, except to tell you, this happened yesterday to me. We all are put in the uncomfortable situation to decide, what to do now. To discord, or to Steem Chat.

I am in a doubt about what to do, but I've opened up my frog–server over there: The Pond. Just to have a closer look, what happens on Discord. If you like to have a discord with an eater of flies, you know where it will happen from now on. You can speak on discord as well (I don't have a microphon, but I can hear, when you give me names), write, handle files and URLs, all that stuff you can do on Steem Chat as well, and as I'm very low experienced with chats, I recommend to try some own steps on Discord to get an overview. The address of @surpassinggoogle's server is https://discord.gg/2rmtwGy and it's name is hooray/"the giving factory". So, let's have a chat or two and write your comments. I know, discording by commenting is much better for awards in Steemit. But discord by the new server is much more prudent. Like on Steemit Chat. You have to choose now the white chat or the black one. The frog says: „I don't know.“

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

All hail to Eris! Discord is a beautiful word and there is even a whole religion dedicated to the concepts behind this wonderful concept of chaos.

Ooops! A believer of Eris! Yes of course: ALL HAIL TO ERIS!
By ZEUS, it is very dangerous to talk about gods without any hymn.

What do you mean by "a believer"? We are all believers of the one and only holy goddess, aren't we? Before you answer, please be aware of the fact that you are talking to a real authorized Discordian pope. Please take note of this card if you are in doubt about that fact:

Very nice ~.~ thank you for sharing

Just a ribbit. Thank you @mars9.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56422.84
ETH 2981.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19