Steemit is a slaughterhouse.

in #steemit7 years ago

30TB-WHALESHARKS2-facebookJumbo.jpg

Time is money. Money is Time. blah blah.

If you put effort into growing the value of something, i.e. your sweat equity, who is gaining from it?

Steemit is a great platform. I like the concept and there are a lot of talented content creators on here. But sadly Steemit is like a slaughterhouse. I joined because a friend invited me, but I think I pissed them off and they want nothing to do with me now because I am so negative about what I'm seeing. But I can't help it.

I see thousands of people posting on steemit, and most of them getting pennies, while there are shit posters pulling in tens of thousands of dollars for less effort. Obviously, Steemit was created to be a social media sandbox, an experiment. I get that. But the problem is it a slaughter house for sheep, and it's run by wolves, and there is no shepherd. It is literally worse than the real world because the real world doesn't contain such a large percentage of sociopaths.

It's not all bad though. I recently discovered a steemit site called steemfollower.com that actually works in a way that I think Steem should work. The platform itself could benefit from such a system. It doesn't mean you are guaranteed votes, but if you save up your vote pool and put a lot of effort into a good post, you can then boost your post 2x, 3x 4x or 5x to get better visibility. I so wish that Steemit itself had that system. It adds another layer to the reward system that gives someone the ability to really put their effort into a post and know it will get votes, and they pay for it with their time instead of steem.

I love the idea. Hopefully Steem Tokens will help to build more layers on top of steem just like this. If not, than the platform is going to look less and less attractive to us sheep, and without new blood coming in, the system begins to fall apart. People holding piles of steem power will lose everything.

With the recent BitConnect scam that finally reached its fruition, I look at steemit and realize there's a lot of similarities. I mean, it doesn't really matter what the value of Steem itself is, because the platform itself is unique and offers more than just monetary incentive, but I expect to see a mass exodus in the next while if the sheep stop coming in.

Sort:  

I've noticed the same thing. I was also brought over by someone I know. This is an interesting site, but, like you said, you quickly realize that the best content isn't being shown, the content with the most "money" behind it is shown. I'm still on the fence on the value of this whole experience. It seems like an incredible waste of time to put so much effort into well researched, well written posts that disappear within a few short minutes under the fucking avalanche of garbage posts... it's not being pessimistic, it's just calling it like it is.

It's like you have to spend every waking moment of your life on here to keep/maintain any kind of "following" or to get consistent votes. Just a whole bunch of detached communication.

Congratulations @adamchase! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @adamchase! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55