You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Suggestion For Ending The Vote Buying Era On Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

Well, I don't know a lot about the voting power and buying votes from the various bots that are out there.
As such, I don't know what the downside is to using bots. I use them. It not only helps me achieve my goals but for all the people that are voting and commenting on my posts. They get a larger payout if the post makes more money so that should make them happy too!
Like most human things that start off with good intentions, like the upvote bots, there is always the possibility that people will find a way to take advantage of them.
From what I understand, you don't like people using the upvote services for their posts. How does this impact on you?
The other thing I am skeptical about is who makes the rules for this bot you suggested?
One of the big reasons I like this platform is there are not a lot of "rules" and also the transparency.
Please let me know your thoughts.

Sort:  

Hey @acwood. Thanks for the great comment mate.

There are many issues I see with using voting bots. The first is a personal one which I'd like to highlight by showing you screenshots of 2 of your latest posts here.

Screenshot (78).png
Screenshot (79).png

Here we have a combined total of 1458 votes for the two posts with a combined total of 28 page views. That to me is not a good thing. That means that of the 1458 votes, 1430 were given without even looking at your work. I wouldn't be pleased with that if it was me.

The second reason is that the votes you are buying are supposed to be used by the person you are buying them from to reward quality content, which your posts may well be but so many others are not. While I respect everyones right to use their votes how they see fit, I don't agree with how these users sell their votes or those that buy them from them because I think they should be using their votes to improve the platform for all of us to benefit from long term instead of using it simply for them as a means to profit in the short term. I don't like rules either or being told what I can and can't do but if we want to live in a free society we need to stand up to those who would use their existing power to strengthen their own position further and that is what is happening here also.

There are many reasons given by many different members of the community and I have many more that I could list but it is something you will have to investigate fuirther on your own and come to your own conclusions as to whether or not it's in your interest or the interest oif the community to continue.

Thanks again for the great comment mate and I hope you have an awesome rest of the day! :)

Thanks, my friend. That does make it clearer for me. I just noticed in the last couple of weeks that my posts are getting a lot of votes. Is this an epidemic that is starting? I have never had so many votes before. I will have to look into this as there seems to be something else going on.
What of the members that run the voting bots. Is this their livelihood we would be stepping on?
I must look further into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82