You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steemit]Short Post Or LONG FORM Content? Which Is BETTER?

in #steemit6 years ago

Interesting... The eternal question of how short is too short and how long before it gets boring! Frankly, I would admit, I'm not a blogger. Just someone who likes to take photographs and am hoping to get a decent size audience so that steemit would make it all a little profitable for me! 😃

Having said that I do ramble on... sometimes! Which seems to be a good thing as majority of people here are of the opinion short posts with little content are not as deserving of a high upvote. Even photography posts, for example! I don't like that opinion much... Are we expected to do more song and dance to deserve a higher upvote? Seems so! Isn't a picture supposed to be worth a thousand words? Isn't it enough an artist worked hard to create a piece of art? Or a photographer, a photograph to soothe one's soul? Must they also be wordsmiths at the same time to be deserving? What if the world was turned around, and we asked bloggers to also produce an artpiece or a photograph worthy of our attention? Is that fair?

Sort:  

I hear you when you say that expectations on Steemit are a bit skewed towards text content although all types of content ought to be given equal importance.

As for me I can't take a photograph that my smartphone can not manage - and that too on auto mode!

Sadly, most text content whether long or short, is just plain boring on this platform. At least the images that you post are not only among the best and original (unlike 95% stolen pics), but they have great meaning to it - as I have seen regularly on your posts.

Thanks for your comment!

Awww... You are too kind! 😊 Cheers... And have a good day!

As a fellow photographer i couldn't agree more with you how often do we have to sit for hours just to get the right picture , a specially in nature photography. personally i haven't found more then 10 articles on steemit worth reading that i couldn't find on any other social media . Then again i stopped reading books +/- 10 years ago . i only read something if i need the info , and then it will be something i googled and not because i follow someone :)

True! I definitely don't read any of the docu-facts style posts! Stuff that I could find on the 'correct' sites online elsewhere. I think I would only read a 'text-centric' post if it was more that person's views or input on a certain subject - their personal take that I wanted to know about! That should be the value or worthiness placed on posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30