You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem and Steam's 40 Million Users! Why Not?

in #steemit7 years ago

I have actually been thinking about the gaming scene for some time now. Just read your other post as well.

What would you personally think about getting some fundraisers going for game development?

We could create another token called Steems, build it through BTS and on top of Steem. Drop part of it on existing SteemPower owners, some to Steemit through an agreement with @ned (sort of like golos maybe?) then the rest as an ICO?

Find coders and game developers who are looking for work and use the funds from the ICO as pay. Inside Market for Steems/Steem, all games and matches are saved on Steems block-chain and are what print Steems as well. Some goes to miners/witnesses etc, details can be looked at later.

We all know how big of a market gaming revenues are. If we create some good games which pay you for playing them while having their own market, supply, etc also make it interesting for investors, etc and could be scaled limitless.

I'm tired of seeing most games lately create their own "in-game" money without an end of supply or any rewards to players. Many in-game items are even limited to "you have to buy this item with ingame money X which can only be purchased, not earned".

I think there would be a lot of potential in starting something like that. Basically make games decentralized, but have an ICO and fundraisers to get it started. I hope that with a stabilized price in Steem it will also make it easier to fund stuff in the future (combined with the power down timer decreasing).

Sort:  

Kickstarter could actually implement that easily. It's also easy to create new coins through Ethereum. But I'm not too sure how in-depth Steem's smart contracts are going to be, but ICOs for new projects are definitely the future. While anyone could just write a post on Steemit and get stuff funded, to get commitments one would need to start implementing smart contracts. I really need to read more into Steem, and how it's used to create a spin-off into Golos.

I like your idea, it's definitely better than the Kickstarter model where there's nothing for the "investors" !

My text might have been a lot more confusing considering my example of the gaming-currency being "Steems". But yeah, building up a new token either through Ethereum (although I would prefer the Graphene blockchain - hence why I was referring to BTS), but the idea was to have all games/messages/friendlists/ that is related to the gaming platform built on a different block-chain so the funding and transparency of the project remain intact.

There is so much potential available to us and I'm sure with growth it will slowly start building up quicker. I am not too technical myself either so I can't really see the challenges or how to start it all off a head of me, but to just start something basic already for users who are on the platform and looking to do something else than read blogposts after a while. This could be the gaming section of Steemit, while with its funding and Steemits growth together could become even bigger and evolve further into decentralized games. Even adding Spells of Genesis to the sidebar of Steemit would already be a great start.

Imagine having E-Sports teams sponsored by Steemit, or even our own world cup in game X that our own developers created and became popular because (guess what, yes it pays you to play)

This could maybe also just be built on top of our Steem's block-chain, I am not sure how scale-able it is currently.

I know this may all come off pretty philosophic or far fetched, but nothing is impossible with block-chain, and things tend to go pretty quickly forward in the crypto-scene lately. :)

Count me in as a tester lol. Seriously though I see massive potential for cryptos potentially steem influencing the gaming industry. Why play that game when I can play this one and gain real money... I truly believe the gaming industry could transform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95