Calling All Steem Creatures

in #steemit6 years ago


Maybe it's because I'm an alien but...
I don’t really understand any of this… So why did I join Steemit? @adept, naturally. Every time I saw him Steemit came up in conversation, and for a good while I just tuned it out… That’s just how my brain responds to crypto talk, it does not compute. I don’t understand it. @adept helped me get a very general idea of what it was but for the most part I have not a freaking clue. Eventually one day I went over there and he asked me “You get a Steemit yet?” Of course I hadn’t. He told me to pick a name, shot down my first idea with the suggestion of something simpler, easier to remember. “Accio.” He went to his computer and all of three seconds later I had my account. He and @seer helped me put up a profile picture and after that my account sat mostly dormant until January.


drawing I did of @adept

Until right about when they introduced me to @MrViquez. He is rather assertive about Steemit. Also he has nice eyes; nice eyes = Accio’s Kryptonite. So I busted out a few posts and started scanning the site, reading things and commenting here and there. I found it a little difficult, I can’t seem to force myself to post things I find pointless… and not to offend but most of what I see on here is poorly written (I’m no literary savant myself and I understand many of the people here are not native English speakers, kudos for trying though!), lacking substance, related to cryptocurrency stuff I do not yet comprehend, and just not generally engaging. Maybe I just haven’t spent enough time searching to find my niche, which can be tricky for a naturally impatient person like me, combined with not being able to do ANYTHING without twelve interruptions and children literally climbing on my head every time I pick up a device.

Maybe I care more about content over profit than most, maybe my standards are too high… Even what I’ve posted thus far has been garbage forced onto the keyboard just to get something out, so I’m hating on myself here too. Basically I was wondering if I could make myself fit into Steemit, but I was making the posts anyway. Then @adept unexpectedly passed away, Steemit was his thing. I could hardly make myself look at the site until a couple of weeks ago, so really I’ve spent the last couple of months thinking about what I should post to Steemit; what people may want to see, what will garner the most upvotes, followers, comments. I have finally discovered something profound! A personal paradigm shift if you will…

I don’t give a rats ass.


The rat doesn't either

Sorry, not sorry. I just don’t… I just finally decided that if I need to post (I feel that I do, I hear that I need to almost every day, but just because I want to as well) then I want to post what is interesting to me. If other people like it and I get some buzz that’s great… if not that’s great too, I get to write with no potential for loss, and the possibility of gain. So I start trying to comment again, start scanning the site again and I see some things that really give me hope that Steemit can work for me. I’ve been seeing posts about “content wars”; people calling out ‘shit posts’, about ‘good content’ vs. ‘bad content’, so on and so forth that showed me okay, there are people that do really care about the content as much as the cryptos. Also @hanshotfirst made me fangirl squeal by complimenting my writing. I really do have a reignited hope that I can work myself into a community here.


that is what life is about right? Community...

Some help though would be really nice though, if anyone that reads this post has some suggestions on who I might want to follow (again I don’t really understand crypto so unless it’s presented in a way that my four year old could understand and that person is very interactive, it’s kind of moot for me. I’m more into the quality of writing kind of thing than photography and such. I like things that make me laugh, and make me think… preferably both at the same time), or any advice beyond “just post and comment” on ways to navigate towards what I’m interested in and how to interact with people on the platform, I would be super happy and eternally grateful if you dropped a comment!

(all images/video credit moi @accio)

Sort:  

BIG SIGH... BIG LOVE TO YOU LADY... BEAUTIFUL DRAWING OF @adept

Thank you my love! It will make its way to you <3 I remembered to bring back your clothes last time so, improvements lol

Loading...

Oh, you had me at 'content over profit'- and I completely understand fan girl'ing for @hanshotfirst, he is the man ;)

For those who make you laugh- @meesterboom, @nonameslefttouse

Makes you think (also the most eclectic, inspiring, and interesting blog on here that I'm aware of)- @therealpaul

(And I still owe you a response on another post, I haven't forgotten, just been very busy this week- but I am sorry that it's taking me this long, generally I'm on top of things like that and you deserve better)

I second everything @dreemit wrote...except about that hanshotfirst guy being the man. His is a man.

If it makes you feel any better it took me a good few minutes to figure out what you were talking about haha I am not so very good at being on top of things like this, but practice makes perfect right? (Or adding a section to my bullet journal to keep track of replies)

Thank you for the recommendations, I really hope that all of you who commented know how much I appreciate this, I get lost walking to the corner (not a joke, it's happened) so a little direction is so helpful.

Disclaimer: I'm from the #comedyopenmic community

Han shot gave you a list of a few people. I'll focus on your other question. WTF is crypto and why do I care.

Many people get pulled in here with the promise of money and the question they end up with is almost always "what's the point?", alternatively if you've ever tried to recruit anyone to come to steemit and you try sell it as a crypto people will be weary of it because of all the FUD (Fear Uncertainty Doubt) about the "crypto Bubble". Also steem is a very complicated blockchain it's not easy to understand. it requires a lot of time and a lot of education to understand how it works and what keeps this thing ticking. So, my way of doing all this, I stick to the philosophy "there's no money here [on steem], only people". This is a blogging site like any other. Yes ok, you can earn money... well you can earn money blogging for huffington post etc. so forget the money focus on the people.

Our discord server is full of people with similar questions you are more than welcome to come say hi click here. If you're already funny like han shot, then come join in the contest. If you're not funny, come join in the contest. If you want to be funnier, we've started a tag #comedyschool (just click to see it) to help people learn to be funny and how to set up jokes. Our little community talks a lot on the blockchain and in discord and we welcome everyone.

We also have people who know a little bit about crypto, so if you don't want funny but just want to learn about crypto, then come say hi anyway and ask questions. there is usally someone around who can help. Our members have links in to many other discord servers and other communities if you find that comedyopenmic isn't for you, that's ok too.

Thank you, that's really how I've been trying to think about it. Thanks to some previously tagged friends I get the idea, in the way that a baby playing peek-a-boo gets that you'll come back but has no clue where the hell you went. When people try to explain it to me in detail the fog rolls in, I can't help it... So telling myself that I'm just on here to write and interact is what makes it even possible for me.

I think I'm funny, but my Dad also thinks I'm funny so probably not... I will for sure spend some time exploring that tag.

@accio If you keep posting like this, you're not going to need any help. This is wonderful. It's real, it's genuine. I get a real sense of you. Sounds like you have some awesome friends. (I really need to find another way of saying this, I don't like this phrase) I'm sorry for the loss of @adept, he seemed like he was a good friend to you.

As for followers, be really happy with what you have, Im sure you have good quality people. I can tell you that 90% of mine are garbage. They just follow trying to get me to follow and I don't play that game. I would much rather have 10 followers that comment and interact with my posts than the number I have now due to nothing more than thinking I will some how pad their pockets.

Thank you doll for the compliment and the condolences.

That's my mindset on followers as well, as far as I'm concerned if you're not interactive I don't really care that you're there, ya know? Which is why I plan on keeping my following small, obviously it will grow as my community here does.

I'm not a financially motivated person, I never have been and that's hard for a lot of people to understand but really I'm on here to unload my brain and be active in the community. Don't get me wrong I'm a broke single mother getting ready to struggle my way through a PhD and the potential for getting to a point of supplemental income is alluring but not as alluring to me as getting to a point where I can, as others are for me, support people on the platform.

Coming back after @adept passed away (he honestly gave me 90% of my rewards on my first few posts) and seeing my rewards match... Even surpass... Those in just a week and knowing that I did it on my own through connections and communication is fulfilling beyond what I could ever explain and I would like nothing more than to be able to give other people that feeling.

I actually just discovered a setting that automatically powers up all rewards and I was considering doing that for a while until I have enough influence to be able to make a difference. To be able to give my vote where I feel it matters and help people feel like hey, maybe I can be successful here.

One last tid bit on my tirade here; I'm digging the triskelion theme, modern usage or representing a specific cultural background? I'm of Sicilian/Italian, Celtic, and Nordic decent (along with a few others my family is the definition of mutt), also that Phd will be in cultural anthropology so my curious nature compelled me to ask ^.^

Bring @mrviquez over and let’s get this shit going

I live two right turns from you, I think. Teach me the discords Future Being. o.o

From Ferry and Ashland?

Yeah. Except I meant left. Left off of my street, maybe 10 mins up the river, left on Ferry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52