WHO AM I?????

in #steemit7 years ago

I am Abimbola Agboola, the last child of five children, I could call us middle class. Though we didn't have it all but our parents tried in giving us the best of it all.

IMG-20170928-WA0015.jpg

As the last child I had set standards I either had to meet or surpass which I did quite some justice. I have expectations which I definitely must meet which dragged me into my state before I read @surpassinggoogle's post.

MY PERSON
I am a very calm and easy going person always wanting to meet the needs of others. Their needs just have to come first. In fact, I could be called melancholy with some little traits of sanguine. This drags me into some moody moments sometimes. I am presently working on this. Despite my brilliant performance I still always felt I wasn't enough, like I wasn't a genius like my elder ones who made such impact in their field.

I could be very pessimistic about life which causes me slow decisions which has been to my disadvantage often times. I often times wanted the consent and approval of others before going ahead with a new idea. In fact, it was so bad I clamoured approval for every new cloth I wore either from friends or families. I never really felt beautiful, I often lived off the praises and affirmation of others to feel beautiful. In fact, these two pictures were the ones that boosted my confidence level the more each time it's complimented.
IMG-20170916-WA0001.jpg

FB_IMG_1474694532945.jpg

Just by reading @surpassinggoogle's post, I learnt optimism and being a go-getter regardless of others criticisms. My confidence level was tripled. I began to see beauty in Abimbola. Oh I really can't explain the depths of the areas of my life it touched.

MY GOALS
I have always wanted to study accounting but the Nigerian universities often helps to discover your career path sometimes. I lost studying accounting as I got 3points lesser than the cut off mark. So I did some research and discovered my love for people, so, I chose to study Sociology. However, I found it very interesting and stayed. After my first year. I proceeded to go for masters. I finished masters and I felt the jobs were going to come laying at my feet but they were not coming forth. I have always wanted to either be a research officer or a Human Resource officer but none was green enough a pasture for me as no job was coming.

MY EXPECTATIONS
My parents both had a doctoral degree, they had high expectations of me. They kept asking of I was just lazing around and not applying as there were no results to show forth. As my father would say, "Excuses are only excuses if they don't achieve results". In fact, because of the Nigerian expectation for marriage, since no job was forth coming the next topic my parents picked up was marriage - "at least you can get married" - they made it sound as though not having a job was a disability.
It was at this point I came across @surpassinggoogle's post. I had lost complete hope in myself. No job, no money, no expectation, no boyfriend, I couldn't even afford writing a final certification exam because I had no money, I could be termed broke.

MY DREAMS
Just with @surpassing google's post I rediscovered who I was. I might not have money or job but I have a purpose and this must be achieved. Regardless of approvals and affirmations I have decided to stay true to myself.

I have always had an idea of having a woman initiative which I tagged Rubies Network which would help empower single ladies financially and psychologically even socially. Helping them rediscover themselves and achieving their life purpose. This I pushed away because of my pessimistic nature, I saw it as not good enough but I am so determined to make this work right now. No more push overs! Even if it's nonsense. There is a sense in it because I am a genius.

WHO AM I
I a strong woman with a balance of grit and zeal ready to take over the world!

No stopping me!

Sort:  

Oh wow..how gorgeous can you get?
Masterals/doctorate are for those academically inclined..to me they sound boring. I do believe and have met people who are successful with no college degree. Since then..titles have no bearing personally. Titles are only important to those who think so.
As for marriage..it's not the end-all..not all husbands are amazing. Not all marriage are awesome..there are separations and divorces. People should marry with the right person and at their own time..not by anyone's standards.
Life is what we make it...made by us alone, made by YOU alone. There will always be struggles to achieve what we want the most, no pain, no glory.
Steemit is a platform to empower anyone who wants to, it makes us independent to do what we want, BE WHO WE WANT TO BE.
Meeting friends here is the icing on the cake...real ones can be too. Just discern who they are.

@immajoras... Thank you so much... I'm really meeting new people here empowering my mind and soul. It's a pleasure you are part of 'em... I'm sure making a great deal out of this life...

Making a great deal is the aim...at least that's what our group @steemph is trying to do.
Anyone can do so much here..to oneself and to others.
Great to have you.

Nice to read about yourself and your life. You are looking gorgeous.

Thank you very much for participating.
i will need to do a full-blown reading over time. i decided to just stop by a bit for now. The turn-out has kept growing (currently around 150 posts that i have to read and counting and support with vote but i submit all entries to some friends as well to support. The experience has been awesome. I will come back for a full blown comment to empower you when i fully read. This is beyond a contest, so there will be a ton of variations to participate in, for fun, community and ultimately to bring about success in every facet, steemit and beyond. The whole endeavor is a curriculum from "school of life", raw down-to-earth stuff, without books involved; stemming from unadulterated love for humans; humans.
If you want to read some of the entries too: visit all the resteems on @steem-untalented

To understand better the gravity of this "untalented" initiative, read this post: https://steemit.com/life/@surpassinggoogle/if-you-can-t-find-a-stranger-to-love-love-me-and-entertain-freedom-when-you-do

Alright @surpassinggoogle. This is indeed beyond a contest. Thank you so much for opportunity of a realization of a new self. As I can see, it has helped a lot of people... Would be awaiting your well read comments

Yes switie. It wasn't just a contest all along. It is a curriculum and my tiny gift to the world. Twill be ongoing too, but in fun ways to bring us all to a fixing, even without our noticing. Jehovah bless us all in Jesus' name amen.

If you want to read, some of the entries, visit @steem-untalented. I saw one that came out recently that may interest you, by @girlbeforemirror

Thanks for such an immeasurable gift which stands out of thousands.

Thanks again, I'll read that up right away.

@surpassinggoogle, very hard working, tuff and complicated job you done, appreciated and impressed.

hii @abeem90, nice written story about you and best of luck for participating in a contest managed by @surpassinggoogle, named : "who am I", keep it up.

Thanks man

Your Post is nice thanks for sharing :)
I started following you .. please follow me back @Rabody so I can support you more.

Resteem your post to 1500+ followers for only 0.5 SBD or Steem)

Just send 0.5 SBD or steem to @steemvote (URL as memo)

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet

oh you are so gorgeouse and so sexy,,,,.

The purpose of life is to get everyone. And you've got it too. Don't let your happiness diminish. congrats

Thanks. My happiness is on the increase

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

You are beautiful and you've got brain cells. I'd say you have all you need to succeed.

Wow... Really? Thanks so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70