#Day 1 in Steemit: It Feels a Lot Like a Local Town

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

11139368_10206904662112884_6893474353136517778_n.jpg

To push myself to stay active in Steemit, I’m launching an authentic series to document my insights and experience using Steemit daily.

This is a trick I’m using to stay motivated to write and publish daily. Who knows, maybe you will find some insights useful to your own journey in Steemit.


I’ve completed five key things during the first day in Steemit:

  1. Write and posted a detailed introducemyself post. Please read if you want to know my story.
  2. Invoked a few bots like @minnowsupport, @banjo & @bidseption to upvote my content
  3. Replied to all 26 (and growing) comments. Don’t leave any stone unturned!
  4. Upvoted 14 posts within the space of 3 hours. I’m not sure this is a good thing or not yet.
  5. Followed around 40 accounts. Some I followed out of reciprocity, some just because I’ve interest in what they have been posting

Conclusion

Steemit feels a lot like a helpful local town. Almost everybody is helpful and friendly. This reminds me of my early days using websites like Plurk and Quora.

However, when the communities scaled bigger or using the analogy of the local town transitioning into a city; that sort of closeness drifted along the way.

I hope Steemit would not experienced the same fate, seeming the platform protocol prioritise quality posts and conversations.

Let me know your thoughts at the comments below.


Upcoming posts:

This are topics I’m in the midst of writing.

  • Figuring the simplest way to explain Steemit to people
  • Understand the concept of Steem, Steem Power and Steam Dollars
  • My experience using the Steemit interface and features suggestions

If you find the content useful, please upvote, comment, resteem, and follow. Thank you!

Sort:  

Arcades are not inherently musical.

Are you jogging someone's memory? This is a play on words.

Hmm .. what do you mean?

I like whisket.

Good to see your enthusiasm in steemit BRo. Keep it uP the good vibe. Cheerio

Hi @aaronteng
Nice declaration you have made for daily publishing of post in Steemit. Sometime you need someone to push you a little to jump start.
I have a question about item 2 of your five key things, what do you meant by invoked a few bots ?
Can you elaborate please
btw, I am 3 days old in Steemit, and have complete 3 posts. https://steemit.com/@digitalmind
Please do follow me and upvote ya
I have done so already

Hey @digitalmind,

Thanks for the comment. So for item 2, here's a quick guide:

  1. Join the PAL community on this Discord server
  2. Go to the #register channel and register yourself by typing this: $register steemitname
  3. An instruction will be generated, generally you need to send 0.001STD to the bot account to get yourself verified
  4. After you're verified, go to the #upvote channel and type $upvote yoursteemitpostURL
  5. Then just wait and your post will be upvoted by the bot
  6. @minnowsupport, @banjo & @bidseption are just a few bots, I'm sure there are others as well. I assume all of them follow similar process, so click onto their account and find out from their own guide.

Happy steeming!

I would like to know your opinion on the matrix.

I love you around the universe to the stars and back.

It seems that you are off to great start. If you keep it up, soon you will see your followers increasing and in tandem your earnings. Following you now.

Hi @positivesteem,

Thank you for the words of encouragement! I've followed you already too!

Well what else are you doing.

Hey @aaronteng,

Welcome mate. I'm also new. Just 7 days old and counting. I love your drive. 5 things on Day 1. Wow.

Just remember to go out and breathe as well. I have to remind that to myself too. Take care and see you around.

Cheers! Mel @coachmelleow

Hey @coachmelleow, welcome to Steemit too! Thank you for the reminder, definitely feeling a little down the weather lately :/

Just followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67128.03
ETH 3788.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74