Can You Really Make Hundreds Of Dollars Per Post On SteemIt - My Experience So FarsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steem avatar hitchin.jpg
I am not a fan of baiting so the Short Answer is, Yes, yes you most certainly can. Does everyone? No most definitely not. Are the ones who are making money posting quality content? YES, they most definitely are. Have I ever made this kind of money on a single post? YES I most definitely have and it was doing what I love. Think of SteemIt like a reputation system but where you get paid for having a good reputation.

And now for those who are interested, the Long answer a.k.a. How and WHY you can really make Hundreds of dollars per post on SteemIt

I won't lie I was first attracted to SteemIt by the notion that one could get paid directly for content posted to it. If you look on my profile you can see I joined back in February and when I didn't make a hundred dollars a post right away i stopped using it. There were other reasons of course. Mostly I stopped because I kept hearing it was a scam from sources I trusted on the subject at the time. I've since learned it is still true that you can trust some people some of the time but you can't trust all the people all of the time. More specifically, people have specialties in the crypto world, in all worlds, and while we all think we know it all, we really just know a lot about certain things. It's up to each of us through trial and error to figure out who's "truly" good at what or you can just follow my blog 'cause that's one of the things i'm good at. Of course it's up to you through trial and error to figure out if I just told the truth or not. I certainly believe it. Doesn't guarantee it's true. Regardless back in February SteemIt awareness was certainly much lower then it is now and that was directly reflected in the market price which i learned repeatedly through investing in STEEM and selling low every time it dipped. This was of course back before I realized just how much it matters that you rarely if ever want sell on the dip. Nonetheless I closed my position on Poloniex and SteemIt slipped my mind for a while as I got caught up in the First round of Litecoin/Segwit Fever. TWO WEEKS!!! TWO WEEKS!!! will be the cry less Charlie Lee pass you by!!!

Then a few weeks back (not 2) after hearing increasingly good things about STEEM from sources I trust on the subject "NOW"...
Thank you
Crypt0 https://steemit.com/@crypt0/
& Bitcoin Meister https://steemit.com/@bitcoinmeister/
...as well as seeing the Market Cap increase I started exploring SteemIt once again. I began posting a little here, a little there and I began noticing more and more posts from other content creators with post values of $300, $400 even $1000+
(mostly Charlie Shrem and other "Steem Whales" check https://steemwhales.com )
Among these posts one particular Tag stood out... "openmic". Me being an avid guitarist and singer for the vast majority of my 42 years on this planet I naturally decided to check it out. Turns out @pfunk And @luzcypher have been running an online openmic thread for 35 weeks now.

What separates it from just about every other open mic in existence is there's prize money involved in edition to whatever you earn from upvotes which can be quite substantial when. Yes there are multiple ways to win, but let us not forget that on top of all that, there's all the amazing, talented, singers and songwriters playing their hearts out for your entertainment. Unfortunately for me when I first discovered the Open Mic thread it seemed like most people were posting originals and I'm more of a cover artist. I felt I would not be accepted so it took a while for me to finally make my first post. That is to say it took seeing other people post covers. It's not in my nature to rock the boat (though i've been rocking the boat more and more as I advance through this life) I've played a lot of open mics, some cater to covers, some don't and it's a really dark feeling playing covers at the ones where they don't. :( Anywho....nothing else I was posting was getting much attention so two weeks ago when my first open mic post garnered well over a hundred votes and well over $100 in reward value in only a matter of hours, I was hooked. As a result of this I began looking into ways to promote my post. I also had learned previous to this more about how the Steem Power system works. There are three types of STEEM. STEEM and Steem Backed Dollars ($SBD) are tradeable on most major exchanges. STEEM and Steem Backed Dollars are also interchangeable but only STEEM can be powered up or "Vested" which increases your voting power as well as the curation rewards you receive for voting. For more information see my post on curation rewards:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@aaronmda/20-upvotes-every-24-hours-why-i-ll-follow-anyone-but-i-wont-just-upvote-anyone-a-k-a-how-curation-rewards-work

As a result of looking for ways to promote I discovered among other things SteemIt.chat and as I become more involved, upvoting and following others my own follows and upvotes increase as well. In a nutshell the key to success on SteemIt is two fold. Create content involving things you already love, and most important, be an active part of the community. What does it mean to be part of the community? Well for starters ask yourself if you appreciate getting upvotes and follows? Ya? Well it turns out so does everyone else and many are eager to return the favor. That means follow often and when something moves you be sure to comment in as much detail as you like just how and why it moved you, what if anything it moved you to do and why. Meaningful comments are all about "WHY". Sure you liked it but why, what did it remind you of, where did it take you emotionally, and what if anything else those emotions are connected to. It doesn't have to be long. "WHY" can be covered in as little as one or two words. If you see someone sticking their neck out there with original content encourage them to keep on doing it not just by upvotes but comments as well though there's something to be said for being the first to upvote. At first I thought you should be liberal with the upvotes as well but it turns out you really don't want to upvote more than 20 times a day. See my post on curation rewards for more detail.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@aaronmda/20-upvotes-every-24-hours-why-i-ll-follow-anyone-but-i-wont-just-upvote-anyone-a-k-a-how-curation-rewards-work

I had been wondering where all the "Interesting People" were hanging out on the web these days and I am happy to report that it turns out a large portion are hanging out on SteemIt.com That's all for now Folks. Till next time.

Aaron M Daley
Daley Bitcoin News
(a.k.a. NinjaToast & FordPrefect)

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaronmda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64