40-50 UPVOTES EVERY 24 HOURS - WHY I'LL FOLLOW ANYONE BUT I WONT JUST UPVOTE ANYONE A.K.A. HOW CURATION REWARDS WORK.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

That's right when you upvote, the content creator isn't the only one to get paid. I began looking into how it all works yesterday after I mentioned on https://steemit.chat/channel/postpromotion how every time I promoted a post there I would upvote and follow 5 people before and after me as well. I felt at the time I was even being a little stingy with the upvotes. I was right it is conservative.

"Voting on Posts:
Users with vesting STEEM have the ability to vote on posts. Voting Power is rate-limited and decays by up to 0.5% every time a vote is cast. Voting Power regenerates to 100% over 24 hours. Your ability to impact the payouts a post receives is based upon your current Voting Power times the total vesting STEEM and is known as STEEM Power.
To maximize total STEEM Power applied to posts, users would need to vote 100 times a day at full power to use all of their voting power. Voting on more than 100 posts per day decreases influence on total STEEM Power used."

"The network will automatically divide the 50% payout among all users who voted for a post on a pro-rata basis using the following equation to measure the weight of each voter:

let total_vote_reward = 50% of the content reward"
This is how curation rewards currently work however when HF19 is released this will be the new standard:

After this change, a single 100% vote will use 2% of your remaining voting power, meaning that 10 full-power votes a day will now exhaust the majority of your voting power. Of course, if one does not wish to use this much voting power in a single vote, anyone is still free to lower the power-percentage of their votes accordingly.

Vesting STEEM is STEEM you have powered up for long term investment on the SteemIt platform, the more you have the more your votes are worth in Steem Dollars. When you create a post you will notice at the bottom there's an option to go 50/50 100% or just pass on the reward. Going 50/50 means you will receive half your reward as Steem Backed Dollars immediately available for Transfer and Trade and half as "vested" Steem Power.

Now like me you might be thinking but wait, OMG, ALL THOSE VOTES I WASTED ON COMMENTS...Fear not. I also just read this:

"Earn STEEM every time you post content valued by others.

Every post submitted to STEEM is voted upon by users with a vested interest in the long-term value of STEEM. The more votes a post receives the more money the poster makes. Posters are also rewarded anytime someone inspires others to create replies that also get up voted."

There's a lot more info on posting rewards here as well so check out the link to read the whole thing for yourself.

https://steem.io/getinvolved/posting-rewards/

I've never been a fan of reading T.O.S. i generally consider them Fascist and hold to the ideal "Do As Thou Wilt" no i'm not a satanist but I simply put, found my way to the bright side of Aleister Crowley. Regardless ya in this case it's really worth reading how the whole things works when it comes to SteemIt. The more I learn the more I realize what a truly amazing platform this is and just how likely it is to revolutionize the social media market. I begin to understand now how it immunity to spam is built in and the reputation/reward system all but guarantees a massive influx of high quality content. I myself have not felt this inspired to share in a very long time, maybe ever. I am just tickled to death to be a part of SteemIt community and I look forward to watching it grow as I grow with it myself.

There's quite a bit more info about how this works and I can not stress enough how important it is you read this especially if you want to be a successful/respected curator. It's also good to understand as a content creator since it will help you decide what content to post and why you can not expect people to just blindly upvote you just because you posted. Upvoting is the core around which the content is built. It is quite possibly the most crucial element to SteemIt's future success as a social media platform. So here's the link, check it out, it's not that long and you will be glad you did. I know I am.

https://steem.io/getinvolved/paid-to-curate/

So my new commitment is to upvote 20 posts per day, 10 from https://steemit.chat/channel/postpromotion or https://telegram.me/upvotechat and 10 from browsing the various Steem Tag categories. I will of course follow as many as I have time for as long as your not posting anything terribly offensive to me which is almost nothing. Like if you're a white supremacist nationalist trump loving flag waving support our troops believer in the crap force fed to you in school well then sorry, you are the exception. I will almost certainly not follow you, but that's just me, there's still plenty of people who will follow your (IMHO) ignorant behind and more power to you all. To each his own, just don't mess with me or will have to get Snooty! :)

Aaron M Daley
Daley Bitcoin News
(a.k.a. NinjaToast & FordPrefect)
steem avatar hitchin.jpg

Sort:  

Does the 24 hour clock start at anytime?

So basically vote but not too much for better rewards.

Sorry I'm new and learning the way so just trying to pick up a few tips and tricks

Basically yes, more specifically each vote can carry a maximum of 5% of your voting power. 20 votes times 5 equals 100%. You're available voting power resets every 24 hours. If you vote more then 20 times in a 24 hours period your vote will carry less then its 5% maximum down to 1%. Meaning if you vote more then 100 times a day your votes carry no weight till you give your voting power time to reset. There's more to it though also, like there's incentive to vote at least those 20 times to maximise your reward for post curation. I'm still sorting it out myself but that is how I understand it so far.

So it's good to vote 20 times in a day then best to leave it 34 hours to fully reset? That way you get the 5%.

Kind of has sense to it. I get vote happy the amount of decent posts I see, that is the trouble.

24 hours but yes and you dont get the 5% the person you're upvoting gets 5% of your total voting power which is based on your Steem Power. Curation rewards, what you get for upvoting are equal to 50% of the total post reward from all upvotes divided equally among everyone who upvoted

Thanks, been a massive help mate

You're Welcome :)

Great stuff. It is important to learn how the platform works to try to maximize our time.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40