RapPunZel - A Feminist Comic Strip...

Hello Steemians, this is my contest entry for the Steemit Webcomics Funny Comic Strip Contest Week #10: Special Collab With #TeamGirPowa!

tgp001.JPG
tgp002.JPG
tgp003.JPG
tgp004.JPG
tgp005.JPG


Notes:

  1. This is the first time I've ever attempted story telling via the comics format, so I thank you #corbmaximus and wonderful team at #teamgirlpowa for providing the driver to try something new. This is also one of the great things about steemit for me.

  2. This is a comic strip that celebrates the feminist heroes, which in my little comic is both the Knight and RapPunZel, our modern-day woman who isn't waiting for Mr Right to come along to save her. She's been busy, successful and doing something with her talent... lol

  3. There's a bit of everything in this, the idea came to me on my way home from work three nights ago and even thought I actually hate puns and I'm an anti-poet, I had to run with it. . Forgive me for the bad humour... :)

  4. I cannot believe I drew as much as I did in the last couple of days, I haven't drawn anything real for almost 2 decades! So it's a little raw...Try not too look too closely!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png

Art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

this is really cute! I like how everything rhymed. I also really enjoyed that you had 2 feminist heroes, the knight and rapunzel. too often I think men feel excluded from feminism, but as you've literally illustrated, it doesn't have to be the case! Thanks for joining!

Thank you for considering my entry, Corinne. :)

Teamwork is core to all the stories I wish to write, so it was satisfying be able to reflect this here in my little comic. I loved the idea of the male feminist in the form of the Knight to balance out my comical depiction of modern-day feminism. I’m so glad it worked for you!

Oh yeah! I LOVE this. Rapunzel with attitude. You should do so much more of this. It's brilliant.

Hello! So lovely you dropped in and enjoyed the comic. And thank you for the kind encouragement, it means a lot.

I’d love to do another, but since this is the first time I’ve strayed into visual elements for story, I better practice more! :)

I thought it was wonderful. You are a natural.

Haha, cute! Good luck on the contest. 😄

Thanks, Tessara! Another close submission, but glad it’s done. :)

This is SO COOL. I love it. What an awesome idea, it’s witty, and I’d absolutely love to see more. :) Also, I run an ART MIX-UP Contest that pays out 10sbd every two weeks and I think one of these would be an awesome entry!

Thank you for dropping by lilyraabe and giving it your stamp of approval! I was worried I was being a total dork with bad humor. My husband laughed, but he’s biased, so I couldn’t trust his opinion. Lol

As for your comp, I’m not sure if you mean I should submit my current entry as well. It’s all one project, sonI wouldn’t be able to split it up. But I’m always looking for new challenges. I’ll check out your fortnightly comp soon! I don’t might having a second attempt at another comic too. This one was a lot of fun. :)

Oh you made it, after all! I'm proud of you :D.
And no need to be shy about your art, I think they delivered the story well. So many punnnsss XD.

-upvoted-

Hi Scrawly! I’m actually pleased you took the time to peek in and remembered we chattered on discord. :)

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement too. In the end, with only hours to spare, I just went nuts with the black marker. Turned out that was the easy bit, my ancient laptop crashed and crashed and just wanted to explode when I was composing my scanned pieces. But I got there—just!

Hope to see you enter a few comps too! It’s fun to have an excuse to try a new theme. :)

you mention modern-day feminism I do not think it can hurt to recommend a great writer Elena Ferrante and her Neapolitan tetralogy https://www.amazon.com/My-Brilliant-Friend-Neapolitan-Novels-ebook/dp/B079MGWXK6/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Thank you. I missed this earlier, but I’m touched you thought to recommend me something. I’ll check her out this weekend when I’m free from work. :)

This is amazing! You are a good drawer! Excelent story too!

Thank you, Adam for taking the time to visit. I think we both will be doing a bit more drawing thanks to steemit - saw your creepy monkey! hehe As a 'grown-up' I've always struggled to justify to myself why I would sit down to draw for no apparent reason. At least on this platform I might find more reasons to practice my drawing again. :)

My creepy monkey... Im still laughing... You're so funny.

Yeah! Steemit gave us a 'grown-up' reason to have fun!

I can't believe I get pay for having fun!

Keep drawing, I loved the way you draw your characters, they're lovely!

Cheers!

What the!? You drew all that?! I'm impressed!
When I started reading it, I was thinking if this was a contest where you just had to fill in the speech bubbles and the pictures were provided. But the pictures were too specific. lol

Great drawings and funny story telling. I like how there's a satellite on top of the tower and a lift installed lol

So lovely to see you pop up here @supersoju! Yeah, it was a fun creative process, and I wanted to do #teamgirlpowa tag proud by putting in what I felt was a well-considered entry in the name of feminism and girl power!! Even getting the speech bubbles (squares in my case) was a painstaking process, but I am nothing if not pendantic about lines lining up. :)

I remember when I had the story done and thought: Omg...I have to edit this until it fits into comic format and THEN I have to draw it up!!! Maybe I should skip this one altogether. Career woman, mother, disorganised soul--this is too hard for me!!

Glad I did it, glad you got value out of some of the elements. <3

lol I'm glad you did it too. The final outcome is always the best feeling after spending so much time and effort on something.
lol@ disorganised soul hahahaha

!! Ahem. Mmgrsmm ff thank you for your entry. restrained joy 😁

I’m just glad I got the Lima nod I didn’t go off tangent introducing my feminist new-age Knight. Lol

Cannot love on the #teamgirlpowa community enough for giving me reasons to try new things!

Pfft you draw fine XP Love the knight's books XD

goatsig

Ryivhnn!!!!!!!! I was so hoping you’d notice this post and have a look. Also, now I have one of your lovely goats wandering my page. Hehe.

Tbh, I was disappointed the scan didn’t bring across my text on the book titles so well. The titles were “Progressive Chivalry” and “Finding Love in the 21st Century”. I’m pleased you spotted the title. <3

I should have probably included my WIP original sketches/inkings in the original post. Here, they are. Your goat can eat the pages. ;)
1925ADDC-50C0-42A9-A3A6-D4A109EDA486.jpeg

Oh goodness you did them on paper first, I can barely remember the analogue to digital workflow ;D They still look good XP Unfortunate about the scans eating the text, I was still able to read them as busy helpfully biggenates pictures :D

I forgot to mention I loved the knight umming and ahhing trying to rhyme XD

goatsig

I felt you so got the spirit of my comic. I'm thinking of going back to edit the original post and give more hints to the thinking behind it, but the fun was to see if people actually got it... Some have told me they needed to read it twice and I rushed the explanation. hehehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63877.50
ETH 3493.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51