Summer Camp'18 - Steemit Webcomics Comic Cover Contest

in #steemit-webcomics6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

The great @cobmaximus had came up with a new contest about re-drawing comic book covers and this is my entry. If you're interested to join here's a link to this contest.

This is my take on the comic book cover of the Action Comics #1 Art by Joe Shuster.

supcomicover2.png

This is the original comic cover:

source

I really like this contest cause there's so many possibilities that you can think of to make a spoof so the only limit is your imagination.

Instead of using Superman I replaced him with Batman as the main character because you know, he's Batman. The other characters? Don't mind them they are just random heroes *wink wink.

The theme I came up is summer camp on the beach where Batman is carrying a surfboard that he stole from the guy. The other guy is just having a meditation and the guy with a ball is also a random hero for fun.


PROCESS


I started with a rough sketch. The only clear sketch here is batman and as you can see he's not lifting/carrying anything because I was undecided yet if I go with the comics or create something different.
sketch.png

Here as you can see I already decided on the theme I want. I applied the base color on the characters and then added some shades on them.
colors.png

As you can see the background on the sketch it was the same as the original comic cover, but in here is the beach. First I draw the the sea and the sand with a plain color, then I added a gradient color on the sea and sprayed some texture on the sand. Next I added the bubbles that form when the wave hits the shore and the shadows of the characters. And the sky and clouds where added last.
background.png

And to finish the cover I added the Title: Summer Camp'18
supcomicover2.png

I hope you enjoyed reading.
You can check my comics below.


PREVIOUS COMIC: Beautiful Distraction: justnyz comics #23


TOOLS OF TRADE
Software Used: Jump Paint by Medibang
Graphic Tablet Used: wacom Intous draw

steemitwebcomics.png

steemitFOOTER.gif

Sort:  
Hello.😊

Congratulations @justnyz, your post has been featured at Best of PH Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.😉


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you po @bestofph team!

Batman is pounding the Silver Surfer with his own surfboard, giving Professor X a headache all while Saitama doesn't care in the background. What a nice day at the beach.

hahaha. You nailed it!

Oh darn!
I only recognized Professor X. I thought the others were random baldyies! xD Thanks soooo much for this explanation, haha! :)

Yeah! Surfing Batman!
Batman-Surf01.jpg

Hahaha. That's the batman we need.

Oh man this entry is sick!!!! Amazing!!! Don't have more words than that haha

hahaha Thanks cob!

Lol, how did I miss this entry of yours earlier? :O
Haha, that's funny, dude!! x"D
The meditation guy? I thought he was professor Xavier!!

haha maybe he is ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32