Steemit Webcomics Comic Cover Contest 3

in #steemit-webcomics6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I recently found an interesting comic cover contest and decided I join. If you want to know about the contest kindly read this post of @cobmaximus.

Here is my entry and final Cover design:
image
The reference for this round contest is Scott Pilgrim
image
source

Process

The Concept
The idea I had in mind is use the characters from the TV series Meteorgarden 2018 who are Shan Cai and Daoming Si. The rule says this week is a free theme so I hope I am safe for choosing this TV series. The title I used for my Webcomics Cover is Bridge, it is a card game played in the said story. On my cover I showed the flying kick scene from the said TV series which became very memorable.

Rough Sketch
I want to stay true to the style of drawing base from our contest reference. This may not be my style but I think it's a good way to check if I can do other styles.
image
I have no time to ask questions because the deadline is on the 26th. I am not certain if we are going to make a cover Scott Pilgrim style and choose any theme or are we going to draw the same character found on the reference material and give it our own style. I hope I didn't misinterpret the rules. Anyway, it is still a good and fun experience. I made sure my characters have big eyes and jagged hair. I used bold bright colors to give it that Scott Pilgrim vibe.

image
Inking
I am satisfied with the narrative and started to ink the sketch.

image
Flat Colors
I am not used to these color choices but I guess this is how the reference material is about so purple and pink are used for the base.

image
Final Cover
I am happy to see the final Cover design, not my usual kind of style but it looks cute and young. I love it.
Thanks for dropping by
Hedi

Sort:  

pretty good comic cover! it looks very well in color and all

Really nice, @hedidylan ! You really captured the Scott Pilgrim vibes !!!

Good step by step, also :D

Good luck with the contest !!!

Thank you sir that means so much hearing it from you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49