Not having a simple text search can discourage posting of content

in #steemit-issues8 years ago (edited)

I was recently downvoted for accidentally posting content that had already been posted. Since then, I have come across a few interesting news items that I wanted to post but refrained for fear that the content had already been posted. My concern now is that other users may also periodically refrain from posting interesting content thinking that it may have been posted already. This wouldn't be an issue if there was a simple text search so users could easily determine whether their content is new to the platform before posting it.

Sort:  

Don't worry too much about getting downvoted for identical content. The votes are isolated and it won't cost you anything if a post is negative money.

You're missing the point. I don't care about the cost of the downvote. I care about avoiding posting duplicate content. And the fact remains that not having a text search on this site is a glaring omission for this and other reasons. How long would it take to add basic text search to the site, all of 5 minutes?

If Wendy's (and other businesses) simply introduced robot workers people would be pissed at Wendy's (and other businesses) and likely launch boycotts and/or spread ill will about them online and in front of their establishments.

Solution : Let government introduce a high minimum wage. Businesses now have an excuse to introduce their robot workforce they wanted to implement all along and now the people can blame government. Corporations bypass all of the negativity by covertly funding/writing bills for government officials to pass off as their own.

[/conspiracy]

=b

@tuck-fheman: Due to a weird Steemit bug (see below), you replied to a bogus "clone" of my original "Wendy’s Automates To Overcome The Minimum Wage" post. Take a look at the URL of this post and you will see that it doesn't match the title anymore. Anyway, can you please repost your reply to the proper post (linked here)? Thanks!

Something strange has happened with my original post above. Because of the imgur.com issue, I wanted to update the image link to one on imgsafe.com. So I did that. I modified ONLY the image link in the post. But somehow the whole post got overwritten by another one of my OTHER posts! How is this possible??

Here is what the post looked like in my blog view before I modified the image link:

Here is what it looks like now:

Ok, I've re-written the original post as best I could from memory. But I'm still baffled and concerned about how this problem could have occurred to begin with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36