You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copyrighted Material and fair use on Steemit

in #steemit-issues8 years ago

This is an honest question, not meant to be snide in any way.
Can you honestly distinguish a difference between sharing something on facebook which the poster receives zero monetary reward and steemit where they do with anything other than a feeling?

The reason I ask is because I really don't see any difference at all other than what you feel about it and of course the platform in which that content was shared.

The end result is ultimately the same, it would have precisely the same result (minus a few caveats) such as if the person sharing your stuff built an audience around your content and it's interfering with your own... then I'd say you have cause for concern and should do something about it because you are missing out on what's rightfully yours.

I know what it's like to have your work stolen coming from a background in game development. I've had a couple games I poured my life into for months ripped and shared all over the torrent scene, it wasn't the coolest thing but there really wasn't much I could do about it. I just took it as a sign people liked my stuff enough to steal it :]

I'd personally feel the need to do something to stop others from "borrowing" my content only if it was evident it was having a negative effect on my own share of the market. But that is of course just my own personal opinion on the matter and I realize everyone feels differently about these things.

Sort:  

So, why are you getting over $250 for your reply while I am getting $0.50 for the post? Not to focus on money here but I do not understand this system. Seems very odd.

I just saw this... my account was recently hacked so I've been locked out up until now. I'm still brand new to to steemit but from what I know, the voting process is influenced by who's actually casting the vote. So if someone comes along and up-votes anything at all, and they have a bunch of steem power then you're going to see a huge spike in the amount for that vote. I basically just got lucky. Someone with a big sum of steem power up-voted on my comment. Probably a few people did. It'll happen eventually to most if not all of us as the platform grows and more people gain more steem power.

Yah, this is complicated. I mean obviously Facebook is making money indirectly off someone sharing a picture I took. This is different though as the poster here is making money directly from taking my picture/video/writting or whatever and posting it. I am not totally sure how I feel, that is why I brought it up. I basically wanted some feedback from others. I actually like sharing in general in life, that said if I saw someone make a grand off my work....

I totally understand what you mean and I got to be honest, it's a tricky thing to really keep tabs on and even take any action about it. I'm actually really curious to see what sort of innovations (if any) come as a direct result of steemit with regards to these sorts of matters. There is such a huge incentive for literally anybody who's willing to do anything positive about it. I mean, look what happened with the whole account security thing and having a buddy to vouch for you and your account. If more stuff like that keeps happening steemit might just spawn a whole new renaissance of Internet protocols and stuff. It's pretty exciting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47