Copyrighted Material and fair use on Steemit

in #steemit-issues8 years ago (edited)

So, what is everyone's/anyone's take on the use of copyrighted material?

from google-

 "Fair use allows limited use of copyrighted material without permission from the copyright holder for purposes such as criticism, parody, news reporting, research and scholarship, and teaching. There are four factors to consider when determining whether your use is a fair one. -Jul 1, 2016" 

I have seen some post using other peoples material, and at times posted without any credit to the source and not meeting fair use criteria as I understand it. Not the coolest in my book and yet of course an understandable situation, with the web being a huge beast of sharing, sharing, sharing. Still what is the game plan?

Lets say someone posts written content, a picture or some other piece of someone else's creative actions and as a result the poster makes some good $$.  

I don't mean to be selfish here but if someone takes a picture from my website, posts it here and gets paid I am not sure that is okay in my book. On Facebook or other sharing sites the poster doesn't get paid, so I feel it is more about being inspired by my work and happily showing it to others. Here I can see people being tempted to share what is not theirs for the $$. 

Overall I am already in love with this site, but this is the first concern that I felt I out to bring up, if only to hear some others thoughts.

Here is an example, the poster did add credit to the photographer later but could still make money from someone eles work...very interesting !!!!

 https://steemit.com/photography/@willytrader/autumn-and-winter-meet-in-colorado-usa#@darkb4dawn/re-azurejasper-re-willytrader-autumn-and-winter-meet-in-colorado-usa-20160718t025139519z

Peace !

Sort:  

This is an honest question, not meant to be snide in any way.
Can you honestly distinguish a difference between sharing something on facebook which the poster receives zero monetary reward and steemit where they do with anything other than a feeling?

The reason I ask is because I really don't see any difference at all other than what you feel about it and of course the platform in which that content was shared.

The end result is ultimately the same, it would have precisely the same result (minus a few caveats) such as if the person sharing your stuff built an audience around your content and it's interfering with your own... then I'd say you have cause for concern and should do something about it because you are missing out on what's rightfully yours.

I know what it's like to have your work stolen coming from a background in game development. I've had a couple games I poured my life into for months ripped and shared all over the torrent scene, it wasn't the coolest thing but there really wasn't much I could do about it. I just took it as a sign people liked my stuff enough to steal it :]

I'd personally feel the need to do something to stop others from "borrowing" my content only if it was evident it was having a negative effect on my own share of the market. But that is of course just my own personal opinion on the matter and I realize everyone feels differently about these things.

So, why are you getting over $250 for your reply while I am getting $0.50 for the post? Not to focus on money here but I do not understand this system. Seems very odd.

I just saw this... my account was recently hacked so I've been locked out up until now. I'm still brand new to to steemit but from what I know, the voting process is influenced by who's actually casting the vote. So if someone comes along and up-votes anything at all, and they have a bunch of steem power then you're going to see a huge spike in the amount for that vote. I basically just got lucky. Someone with a big sum of steem power up-voted on my comment. Probably a few people did. It'll happen eventually to most if not all of us as the platform grows and more people gain more steem power.

Yah, this is complicated. I mean obviously Facebook is making money indirectly off someone sharing a picture I took. This is different though as the poster here is making money directly from taking my picture/video/writting or whatever and posting it. I am not totally sure how I feel, that is why I brought it up. I basically wanted some feedback from others. I actually like sharing in general in life, that said if I saw someone make a grand off my work....

I totally understand what you mean and I got to be honest, it's a tricky thing to really keep tabs on and even take any action about it. I'm actually really curious to see what sort of innovations (if any) come as a direct result of steemit with regards to these sorts of matters. There is such a huge incentive for literally anybody who's willing to do anything positive about it. I mean, look what happened with the whole account security thing and having a buddy to vouch for you and your account. If more stuff like that keeps happening steemit might just spawn a whole new renaissance of Internet protocols and stuff. It's pretty exciting.

There are legitimate concerns. One would be google rankings.. We don't want Steemit blacklisted. Another is we don't want to have to deal with DMCA requests that force us to prevent the copyrighted material from displaying. And we don't want repost/copypasta spam degrading the overall quality of the content.... Where we draw the lines is up for debate, and will probably be a grey area for quite a while.

Again we are being paid in steem. How you trade it is when you should be concern.

Amen! I want to share and yet I see how this system can be exploited and abused and sadly cause problems for what is at its core a magical, trans-formative technology.

A few friends and I were discussing this the other night and how Facebook is guilty of gaining revenue off of Youtube videos in the same way. I think this is a huge issue! We Steemers need to ensure this doesn't happen by making sure we flag anything that's copyrighted. I'm already guilty of this by posting an old youtube video, and immediately afterwards I had realized what I had done. Thankfully it didn't make any profits. Still, I shouldn't have done it.

Please ensure that if you see anything copyrighted, or if you see posts that are the same as someone else except reworded, to place links in the comment section to the original content. Please also advise other Steemians when this occurs just as @tuck-fheman done here in regards to the recently trending heroin addiction story which is an old article reworded: https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/red-flag-5-years-addicted-to-heroin-my-story-told-in-pictures-from-article-written-in-january

Do your part to keep high quality content coming.

Peace and Love

  • Sensei

This is a huge and interesting issue. I would hate to see Garth Brooks or Metallica or anyone who is upset with this set-up sue Steemit.

Great point. There's already been a lot of people making money off of posting music videos. Honestly, this could be the only thing that kills Steem as it's as you say, a potential lawsuit waiting to happen. Hopefully @dan and @ned get on this with at least a disclaimer or better yet a terms and conditions agreement.

Yah, I love the idea of uncensored content and this is going to be a wild wild west of people working that opportunity for the best and the worst...! The disclaimer and or terms and conditions would be appreciated for a bit of site protection.

There's already a Terms of Service, but the copyright section doesn't include any mention of this issue but instead focuses on the copyright of Steem and Steemit itself. Hopefully they update that to include a clause covering this.
We'll see what they do to combat this issue in the future.

We are not being paid in US dollars people. It's steem.

Steem isn't real money. They don't pay you in US dollars. Steem isn't even connected to a bank or credit.

If the goal of steem is not to be real then what the is it?? In my opinion all of this is a based on a real goal of being real. To actually be more real to people than the us dollar is someday.

It's still a currency; a crypto currency.

Cryptocurrencies have been considered taxable commodities for a while now...

I am thinking of this issue too, as I have a story I want to write "My favorite things about living in China." The problem is, I didn't take photos of these things that I remember so vividly. I need photos for the story to come alive. If our philosophy on the internet is to expand our consciousness through sharing, then I should use someone else's photos so the story so the story can exist. The answer is to ask the photographer permission and give credit. Thoughts? Is this method user-friendly?

very legitament concerns i wish are adressed in the future just how im not sure with the internet being the sharing beast you mentioned it is

We are being paid In steem not real cash.

yes here we have steem and a few plagiarizing concerns for now

YouTube gets it all the time.

Yeah guys we are not being payed in cash. We are being paid in steem. It's like being paid with playdooh in government eyes.

I'm sad to have missed this discussion last week. Thanks for bringing this up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41