Steemit-ironchef Round 10 - Childhood memories ~ Spicy Rice pudding

Guess where I am writing this post? Actually I thought I wouldn't be able to contribute to this week's #steemit-ironchef . I left the house for our "summer" holidays on Sunday morning at six o'clock and worked until Sunday evening too. But even when you leave the house early you need a proper breakfast ... So I took that chance!

Right now I am resting on comfortable canopy bed under a mosquito net in a beautifully furnished tent listening to the song of thousands cicadas and the murmuring of the Mara River. We are on a trip through Kenia to celebrate a best friends wedd in Nairobi next weekend and the first stop was a three days Safari in the Masai Mara. 

Now back to my entry. I am very tired now, so excuse me for keeping it short.

Rice pudding was one of my favorite desserts as a child. Traditionally it is made from a milled round-grain rice, whole milk and a little bit of sugar and served sugar and cinnamon springled over it and with some bottled fruits- preferably cherries.

I veganized my rice pudding and pimped it a bit. These were most of the ingredients I used:

  • arborio risotto rice
  • oat milk and oat cream
  • birch sugar (birch sugar is processed by the organism extremely slowly and in a partial quantity, so it does not cause a sudden change in the blood sugar level)
  • Chai Masala
  • a raw almond-chocolate spread which wasn't very spreadable anymore but still delicious 
  • blood oranges for the fruity part of the dish

Preparation

I heat up a pot wit a cup of the rice, oat milk (about three times the amount of the rice), a teaspoon of the chai Masala, half a teaspoon of of the birch sugar, a dash of salt and a few teaspoons of the raw almonds chocolate cream. I let it simmer for maybe 25 minutes stirring occasionally so the rice would not stick on the bottom. When the rice was almost done - soft and creamy on the outside with a "bite" on the inside I added the oat cream.

I filleted the oranges and dekorated them on the plate with the rice pudding which was springled with a little bit of birch sugar and the Masala.

I haven't had a more comfortable breakfast on a morning off a journey before! My stomach felt wonderful after and I was ready for adventures ...

Thank you @progressivechef for this contest! The rules for the contest can be seen here: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 11

Habari ya Siku everyone! Have a nice day!

Sort:  

enjoy your trip, sounds so exciting! its always important to have a good breakfast before traveling! blood oranges are a favorite of mine!

Thank you! It is really exciting! Today is day three of this indian wedding - some Hindu ceremonies in the morning and a Bollywood Night party at night ... the actual wedding is on sunday.

That is a lovely dish ! I hope you have the most wonderful vacation !

Thank you sooo much. We already had two amazing days! I will post about it another day.

Oh! Your holiday sounds fantastic! Quite the adventure! I thought about making rice pudding today, and you have convinced me!! Have a wonderful holiday!

Thank you so much Melinda! The holidays are and will definitely be amazing! They are a Safari, an Indian wedding and beach holidays all within ten days! It's crazy! 😄

That will be quite incredible! Enjoy each moment!

Thank you! I do!

I love rice pudding and yours with the chai masala herbs sounds so good. Hungry now!

It was really good! Definitely worth a try! Thank you!

What an exciting trip to you and more that Hindu wedding that I have already participated here in the USA and if they are spectacular and your dessert on the other hand looks delicious thanks for the tip of the sugar.
that you continue enjoying your trip
good day @pusteblume ☀️

I thank you so much! And yes, this wedding was spectacular! The actual wedding was yesterday and was like an indian prince and princess were married. And also the days before were amazing! I haven't seen and experienced something similar before!
Have a great start into the week!

Super yummy and healthy recipe my Dear...............enjoy your trip, I can't wait to see the photos 💖😊💖

Thank you, Lena! I am going to post photos later. The Wifi is really bad in this hotel so it's really tiring to post anything now. Tomorrow - or let's say later today - we are flying with the newly wed and many more of their friends to the coast to enjoy the beach and a couple of relaxed days after the exciting last few days ...

Enjoy your time Sweetie I can wait for the photos until you get back 💖

That's totally new to me but it looks great! Well done! :) Happy Easter 🐰😊

Thank you! Happy Easter Monday!

Thank you!

That looks delicious and do-able.

Thank you for sharing a recipe 👩🏾‍🍳

You are welcome!

Nice recipe,thanks for sharing

And I thank you!

Sieht sehr lecker aus, muss ich probieren, hab ich so noch nie gegessen. Schönen Tag wünsch ich dir 🌞

Ich danke dir! Erst dachte ivh an Kokosmilchreis, aber da wir verreisen wollten, durffe nichts neues aufgemacht sondern sollte das vorhandene verbraucht werden - und die Hafermilch war schon offen ... Da habe ich dann das kreiert. Die Kombination mit Mandel, Schoko und dem Masala hat sehr gut gepasst und war richtig lecker!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65