STEEMIT IRON CHEF #16 ~ 🥑🥑🥑 Avocado Threesome 😋

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @progressivechef's wonderful idea to create a challenge like the #steemit-ironchef contest, we not only cook our yummy but quick and easy everyday food, but we get to eat something extraordinary at least once a week! 😋 

This evening our dinner was amazing and I am going to show you how I prepared it. The secret ingredient of the week was avocado. I don't know many who don't like avocado! At least I do though I don't eat it too often.

I was very happy to buy four avocados at once! Usually I don't do this. I had no recipe in particular in my mind when I went to the green market today - just some rough pictures. Therefore I cannot give you an exact amount of the ingredients nor a perfect order for the preparation. I switched, replaced and changed my mind a few times during the process.

I prepared an avocado-stuffed and baked sweet potato, a avocado-chickpea-salad and a grilled avocado filled with tomato-amaranth-salsa.

These were more ore less the ingredients I used:

  • avocado 
  • sweet potatoes
  • tomatoes
  • celery
  • leaf spinach
  • chickpeas
  • amaranth
  • spring onions
  • cilantro
  • sweet limes
  • pine nuts 
  • a pepper 
  • physalis
  • plantbased mayonnaise 
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper 

Preparation:

I cut the sweet potatoes in halves, cut into the the surface several time to make them cook faster and set them on a baking sheet in the preheated oven. I also placed a bowl of hot water into the oven to kind of steamcook the sweet potatoes. I wanted them to stay soft on the cutting surface. It took about 40 Minutes until the sweet potatoes were soft enough inside. Then I hollowed the potatoes a bit.

For the filling I fried some spring onions and a piece of a hot yellow pepper. I added the washed spinach leaves and let them collapse.

I added the fruit flesh from the hollowed potato, some of my selfmade "parmigiano" (ground cashews with nutritional yeast and spices), pine nuts, salt and pepper and finally folded pieces of one avocado under the mixture. I filled in and piled up this mixture on the sweet potatoes and drippeld some raw nut cheeze (which I made from soaked cashews, olive oil, water, nutritional yeast, lemon juice, garlic, salt, pepper and a dash of tumeric in a blender.)

I baked the potatoes under the grill for about 10 minutes until the "cheeze" started to turn golden brown.

The grilled avocado was cut into halves and put upside down on the oiled grate into the hot oven for about 10 minutes (together with the stuffed potatoes). The filling is a mixture of cooked amaranth, cut tomatoes (removed the seeds before), chopped yellow hot pepper, spring onions rings, chopped cilantro, lime juice, olive oil and salt and pepper.

For the avocado-chickpea-salad I mixed canned chickpeas with cut celery stalks and leaves (I only took the tender and yellow stalks from inside), cut spring onions, chopped cilantro, halved physalis, vegan mayonnaise, lime juice, salt and pepper and avocado pieces.

I filled the salad in an empty avocado peel and served everything together on a plate ...

I was not such a big lover of anything made of sweet potatoes before but this combination really surprised me. I expected the grilled avocado (which was good!) to be my favorite but I liked the avocado-filled sweet potato a little bit more. The salad was amazing too - fresh and crispy and fruity with the physalis. Yummylicious!

Serving the salad in the empty avocado peel looked pretty on the plate but was impractical to eat - especially with fork and knife ...

Later on I found out that the best tool for my dish was a spoon anyway ... 😋 From this moment I really enjoyed my avocado dinner!

Thank you again @progessivechef for the possibility! It's always fun to create dishes for this competition. On fridays I check at least ten times if the new theme is out yet ... 

Here are the rules for this week's competition: STEEMIT IRON CHEF #16.

Sort:  

i love avocado! It looks soo delicious! And the pictures look like they are from a cookbook!! haha

Thank you for the compliment!

This comment has received a 0.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pusteblume.

oh wow thanks

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 01:46:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 178.12/200.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

looks so yummie and tasteful !

my daughter loves the drawing ... it is so cute she says ... so lots of compliments from her too !

Tell your daughter, I said "thank you!!" How old is she? Did I ask that before? 🤔

She is 8 years old

When I was this age I was interested in reading my mom's cookbooks... Maybe she is like too - just looking for recipes in the internet instead of books. ☺️

hmmmm, yummy. these pictures are making me hungry

😊 That was on purpose! 😋

Ein toller food post...jetzt bin ich wirklich sehr hungrig..😊

Awww! Gerade hat der Mann die Reste vom Salat vertilgt .... Sonst hättest du gerne was abbekommen!
Danke für das Kompliment!

Gemein da muss ich nächstes mal schneller sein😂

Wow, that looks great! The avocado challenge is producing some great dishes.

Indeed! There are some really pretty entries again! Your tacos look pretty too!

Voteme! Ended (36 voters paid in total)
Whole budget of 1.0 SBD has been used for rewarding voters :) Thanks @pusteblume!
Click here if you wish to know more.

This post has received a 6.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pusteblume.

These are mouthwatering food! I like all the ingredients you have there: avocado and sweet potato are my favorites too.

Thank you so so much! It really was delicious!

This looks so good and healthy! From the picture it doesn't look impractical to use fork and knife,lol. I suppose only when you really start digging into the food will you know what's the best cutleries to use to enjoy them... XD

Hehe! Sometimes it doesn't make sense to try to look elegant and eat with fork and knife. Sometimes it's more fun to use the spoon or even just your fingers ... 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50