STEEMIT IRON CHEF #09 - ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ Everybody loves pancakes! And bananas!

in #steemit-ironchef โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

BANANA! BANANA!!

Another wonderful round with the #steemit-ironchef is taking place! Check the original post by @progressivechef for the rules: STEEMIT IRON CHEF #09 : Contest Now Open.ย The theme of the week is Banana. When I hear banana I must think of these little cute yellow minions instantly. I have nieces and a nephew who loves to watch them all the time. But this is just an aside.

My last entries were all kind of complicated and time consuming, so nobody would ever really make them again (Even me myself! ๐Ÿ˜œ At least only in a modified simpler way!). Thats why I wanted to keep it easy and simple this week. That doesn't mean it can't be incredibly delicious!

I only needed three main ingredients for my pancakes, that are sugar, egg and dairy free - only the healthy stuff!

Ingredients:

One mug of yield oats flakes, one mug of your favorite plant based milk (mine is oat milk) aaaaaand: two very ripe bananas! ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ

Furthermore a tsp. of dry baking yeast, a dash of salt and a dash of ground vanilla. To make the texture more interesting I added a tbsp. of chia seeds and a tbsp. of poppy seeds.

Preparation:

Put the oat flakes in a mixer and ground them.

Add the bananas, the lukewarm milk, the salt, vanilla and the yeast. Mix well. Stop. Add the seeds. Give them a short ride in the mixer also. So they are well spread in the dough.

It is easy to replace the yeast by baking soda if you don't like yeast or don't have it at home. The milk doesn't have to be warm then. But I'd suggest to let the dough sit for a while as well. The floor combines better with the other ingredients that way.

I prefer the variant with yeast instead of baking soda. For me it tastes better and my stomach digests it better. Traditionally the pancake (german Pfannkuchen) made with baking yeast comes from the Eastern European kitchen and it is common in Middle Germany. There it is called 'Plinse' which comes from the sorbian word 'plinc'.ย 

Now it's time for the morning shower or whatever you want to do because the yeast has to start it's beautiful work inside the dough. I let it sit for about half an hour. In between I made a wonderful simple apple compote from sweet sour apples, some water, a tsp. of raw cane sugar, two slices of lemon peel, a star anise and some pieces of cinnamon bark.

When the dough starts to get a little bubbly it's time to bake the pancakes. I put two tbsp. of the dough for one pancake in a greased and very hot pan. Spy under the pancake every now and then to check if it has the right color already. Turn and bake the other side. The whole dough makes about 12 to 14 pancakes this size.

You can also add some cubed apples or some blueberries on top of the pancake before you turn them upside down. It gets even fruitier and yummier!

While the ingredients for the pancakes are so little and surprisingly easy to prepare there are endless options for the topping: the self made compote, store bought apple sauce, nougat spreads, all sorts of berries, sliced bananas, marmelade and jam, sirups like maple sirup or my homemade pumpkin spice sirup from last week's challenge, nuts and seeds of your choice, peanut butter, (plant based) vanilla yoghurt... ... The sky is the only limit as far as imagination goes! ๐Ÿ˜‹

Here are some examples me, the hubby and his mom created during our breakfast feast:

First the bananas! On top of chocolicious creamy nougat spread!


with fresh berries and vanilla yogurt:


with apple compote and pumpkin spice sirup:


with vanilla yoghurt and fresh berries again and sunflower seeds on top:


with apple compote and vanilla yoghurt:


with tahini and date sirup (this is a fantastic, delicious more oriental combination which I like a lot but didn't think of first hand):


with jam and fresh berries:


I hope that this time somebody will really cook this at home. It is really worth it! ย I will definitely repeat this. It was so simple to prepare and so scrumptious! And usually I have the main ingredients at home - always!

๐ŸŒ โ˜€๏ธ ๐ŸŒ

(I have a confession to make: Again, I missed to take the photo with the name and date on it! And the pancakes have vanished into thin air so quickly! There was just a small bowl of the apple compote left over to confirm me and my dish ...)

Whew! Now, where that is said, I am going to eat all the apple compote with the leftover vanilla soyghurt!

Sort: ย 

Very good job my friend !!!! Wonderful post !!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘. Resteemed! ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you so much! For your words and your support! ๐Ÿ˜˜

You're welcome my friend ! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Uhmmm I love pancakes ... a favorite here in my house for sure ... we always ( my daughter and I) eat them in the kitchen while I am preparing ...hehe they never make it to the table !

Vegan Banana Pancakes are my favorite. :)

They are sooo good! I didn't have pancakes since I don't eat eggs and dairy and strangely never thought of trying a vegan version. These are so ridiculous easy to make! It's a totally different world now! ๐Ÿ˜œ

SUPER EASY!!!!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks!

sabrosoooooooo

Tahini and date syrup!!! Oh my dear you have just blown my mind! I have to try that!

This is insanely delicious! Eat with your bare hands so you can lick your fingers after... ๐Ÿ˜‹

My vote goes to the tahini and date syrup. It sounds interesting and delicious!

You won't be disappointed!

I love the various presentations of the pancakes- and you're right,everybody does love pancakes!

Thank you for your support and your kind words! ๐Ÿ˜˜

That tahini and date syrup topping looks amazing my friend! Despite that you forgot the proof photo, it is obvious that this is your own recipe and you recently did it, so the entry is accepted my friend!
Keep making us enjoy these lovely food!

Hehehe! โ˜บ๏ธ Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09