🐼 Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 Round 5 - Cheesecake with caramelised Walnuts

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Ever since I joined Steemit Iron Chef competition I have been wanting to make a cheesecake. So this favourite cheesecake recipe of mine never lets me down.

The ingredients are very simple - 3 x 200g tubs of cream cheese
In this case I had two tubs of Philadelphia cream cheese and
1 tub of marscapone cream cheese
1 packet of vanilla sugar
Some walnuts
Tin of condensed milk
2 Eggs
Vanilla essence

Crush biscuits and make a biscuit base with melted butter and line the tin with foil.

Mix the cream cheese condensed milk and eggs - add one at a time, add the vanilla sugar and some vanilla essence. Pour into pan and bake in a 350 degree oven for 60 mins or until you can test with a toothpick if cooked.


The cheesecake should be light brown on top. Any further cooking could give a burnt taste.


remove foil and allow to cool

Since the topic this week was nuts I topped with caramelised walnuts made with brown sugar, a little butter and cream.

When cheesecake has cooled - add the nuts on top. Adds to the already delicious texture of the cheesecake with a crunchy nutty taste.


My proof picture

Contrary to my earlier remark I did slightly overdo the caramelised sugar and it was a little burned - but the taste was still so marvellous.

If you enjoy cheesecake then this is such an easy one to put together - about 15 mins of preparation time


smallpanda (10).jpg

Sort:  

This is a lovely cheesecake and as an American I can attest to the superior taste and texture of Philadelphia cream cheese. I like your addition of the caramelized walnuts to add a crunchy texture and nutty flavor to the dish. My only issue is that you said that the caramelized sugar was a little burnt. I appreciate your honesty, but I learned a lesson long ago from a fellow American named Julia Child. She said “No matter what happens in the kitchen, never apologize”. The true is that it might be a little bit beyond caramelized but, you made this dish with love for your guests and they will appreciate your efforts.

Thank you for this @chefsteve - lesson learnt - No apologies next time. Pity the theme was nuts otherwise I could have added strawberries or lemon curd. Constructive criticism is very important as the main reason we are here is to learn from our mistakes - appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my recipe

Oh my, that looks delicious! I love a true baked cheesecake. Great recipe.

Thank you @kittyandcheese - this is really an outstanding recipe - You definitely try it and send us your take on it - with a tag "myturn"

I love cheesecake
Thank you very much @pandamama for such a tasty recipe
I hope you have a very nice week

Thank you @gladysstillwagon for the support - you must try this recipe

My fork is ready for a taste! I like the addition of mascarpone you added to the cheesecake. Yummy!

Now this is making me so hungry my friend! Cheesecake...it's been so long that I did not make/eat one!
I will surely pick up some ideas from yours and make one soon!

Make it a myturn @progressivechef - I will be honoured

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62