🐼 Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #09 Banana,Orange &Walnut Bread

Happy to be early again this week with my entry. I made a banana loaf with orange juice, dates and walnuts and served it with banana flambe

image.png

Banana was the theme and so I made the famous banana bread with a difference. As I love banana's but have never enjoyed fried or cooked bananas, and have never been a fan of banana bread I decided to try and make one that I would enjoy. One of my favourites is date and walnut loaf and I love orange cake.

image.png
image.png
I started out early and went to the market where I was lucky to find the last bunch of bananas

image.png
My previous guest bought a bunch of fresh dates for me. I had never seen nor tasted these before

My first instincts was that I needed to caramelize them so I chopped them into small pieces and fried them in butter and brown sugar. I called a friend and mentioned that I was going to put this in my mixture and she suggested that I rather use the fresh dates as they would be lovely once baked in the mix. I then decided to use them for garnish.
image.png
Happy to see this heart shape - and it was completely unintentional

When I make a date and walnut or date and pecan nut cake I usually blend by hand. Today I decided to blend in my Ninja. So ingredients were as follows:

1.5 cups of flour, 100g butter, half a cup of brown sugar, 2 eggs, a cup of orange juice, grated rind from the orange and a cup of fresh dates, 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda, 3 ripe bananas and chopped walnuts.

image.png

First I beat the butter and sugar and then added the eggs and orange juice and then the rest of the ingredients. Placed this in a loaf pan and added a few nuts to the top.

image.png

I baked it in the oven for 45 minutes and then placed on cooling tray for about 15 mins.

Luckily I had the garnish as from the pic you can see my oven was a little hot and the loaf cracked

image.png

Voila - the crack hidden
image.png

And @deimus kindly came along and took some proof pics for me - I only needed one but they were all so good I decided to use more than one

image.png

image.png

image.png

Then I decided to do flambe banana to serve with it

This was a lot of fun - melted butter and brown sugar with some brandy. When turned and cooked on both sides I added rum and set alight until the rum burned out.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

and finally served.

image.png

I have to say that I loved the taste of the loaf, the orange juice and the fresh dates gave it the most amazing taste - I'm a fan and will definitely make this dish again.

smallpanda (14).jpg

Sort:  

Whoa, beautiful! Love it. Looks delish @pandamama! Want some!

Thanks @offoodandart - you know where to find me - come and get it!!

@deimus lucky to be tasting your dishes @pandamama

I just love banana bread so much my friend...When I was in the hotel industry I was eating these nearly everyday with my expresso!!! Lovely memories!
Great shots of the flambeed banana btw and so happy to see your post getting noticed!
Bravo!

Thank you so much @progressivechef - yes, it was great to be noticed. It was a fun week

creative and absolutely delicious! yumm...


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Thank you so much for the support @jznsamuel

you're welcome! keep up the good work :)

Thank you @jznsamuel - I am flattered. Of course I accept

So impressive that you managed to capture the flame on your flambe, I had no such luck with my camera and flambe :-( Well done!

Looks and sounds like a delicious dish !

It was really delicious @globaldoodlegems - I will definitely repeat this if I can remember exactly how I made it haha - will have to follow my blog

Banana bread is my favourite - and I definitely want to try your version of it - thanks @pandamama - looks amazing

Delicious @pandamama

Thanks for the help - in taking the photographs and in eating hehe @deimus - I know you loved it


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 8.06 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @pandamama.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Photographs look good @pandamama - bananas are something I like to eat on their own - not a fan of cooking banana or mixing it with something else except in a protein shake or breakfast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75