Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #05 : Poached Pear Cake with Red Wine Reduction

My entry for Week 5 of Steemit Iron Chef - Poached Pear Cake with Red Wine Reduction

SIC_Pears-15.jpg

I love the theme for this week's challenge. Pear! I think there's so much one can do with pears. The challenge is narrowing it down to the final entry. I decided to make a cake with whole wine-poached pears. I chose to go simple with this entry as it really doesn't need much more than the few elements included in this dish.

SIC_Pears-18.jpg

I used bosc pears.
Peel them, leaving their stems intact.

SIC_Pears-1.jpg

Poach in red wine mixture (see recipe below). Save remaining wine mixture to make a reduction that pairs well with the pears (pardon the pun, lol) for a flavorful sauce.

SIC_Pears-24.jpg

The resulting poached pears will have a beautiful red tint. Set aside.

SIC_Pears-5.jpg

SIC_Pears-6.jpg

Next step is to make the cake.

SIC_Pears-3.jpg

Spread cake mixture on prepared tart pans.

SIC_Pears-8.jpg

Gently push down the poached pears onto the cake mixture.

SIC_Pears-7.jpg

SIC_Pears-9.jpg

Bake the cake. Here are the before and after photos.
Above photo: Before baking
Below photo: After baking

SIC_Pears-10.jpg

SIC_Pears-13.jpg

SIC_Pears-14.jpg

SIC_Pears-12.jpg

Remove from tart pan and put on serving platter.

SIC_Pears-17.jpg

Simmer the red wine poaching liquid until slightly thickened.

SIC_Pears-21.jpg

Plate as desired. Red wine reduction can be served drizzled over whipped cream ...

SIC_Pears-20.jpg

... or in a sauce pourer served separately.

SIC_Pears-23.jpg

Week 5 Steemit Iron Chef Pear Entry Proof

SIC_Pears-19.jpg

-----------------------------------------

Poached Pear Cake with Red Wine Reduction

SIC_Pears-16.jpg

Ingredients

Poached Pear and Red Wine Reduction

8 bosc pears
1 lemon
1 750 ml bottle of red wine
1 cup sugar
1 cinammon stick
1 vanilla bean

Cake

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter room temperature, plus more for pan
1 tablespoon butter for greasing pan
3/4 cup sugar, plus more for pan
1 tablespoon sugar for sprinkling on pan
2 tablespoons sugar for sprinkling on cake batter
1 vanilla bean
2 large eggs
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup almonds
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

Directions

For the Poached Pear and Red Wine Reduction

Peel pears leaving stem intact. Cut off part of the bottom so the pears would have a steady base. Squeeze lemon over pear to prevent discoloration.
Combine red wine, sugar in a small sauce pan. Split vanilla bean and scrape seeds into red wine mixture. Throw in the vanilla been pod into the wine mixture as well. Add cinnamon stick. Bring it to a boil then add the pears. Simmer for 15 minutes or until just tender, turning pears over halfway through.
Remove pears from pan. Set aside.
Continue to simmer red wine mixture. Reduce until slightly thickened.

For the Cake

Preheat oven to 350o.
Prepare tart pans:
Grease tart pan with butter.
Sprinkle with sugar, tapping out excess. Set aside.

Prepare cake batter:
Blanch almonds by putting them in a bowl and covering them with boiling water for 1 minute. Rinse with cold water and drain. Pat dry then remove skin. They should slip off easily.
Place flour, almonds, salt and baking powder in a food processor. Pulse until almonds are finely ground.
Place 1 cup butter and 3/4 cup sugar in a large bowl. Scrape the seeds from vanilla bean pod into the bowl. Beat on high with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Beat until mixture is well combined and fluffy. Reduce speed to low. Gradually add dry ingredients until well combined. Add the yogurt. Beat until combined. Scoop mixture into prepared pans. Sprinkle liberally with the 2 tablespoons of sugar.
Position poached pears onto the cake batter.
Place tart pans on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick/cake tester comes out clean.

Serving Suggestion

Slice cake with a whole poached pear per serving. Serve with whipped cream and red wine reduction on the side or drizzled over the cake and/or whipped cream. Garnish as desired.

Bon appetit!

-----------------------------------------

If you haven't joined SIC yet, come and join the fun on the next round!

Sort:  

I have the sudden urge to go buy pears...also I'm now incredibly hungry in the middle of the night thanks to this post. This looks so delicious, thank you for sharing. Btw, I'm a curator for @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Yes, I accept and appreciate the nomination @mk40! Thank you, I'm honored.

Btw, you should satisfy that urge to buy pears! =)

Funny enough, I hauled myself out of bed at 1 am and found a single pear in the bottom of my fruit basket...the disappointment of it not being wine poached and stuffed in a cake was crushing though lol.

You have the red wine poached pear recipe now though. No pressure 😜, ha!

Wow, those are like michelin star quality photos. Would love to taste it! Great post.

Maybe one of these days you'll taste it @deimus :D! Thanks for stopping by!

WOW WOW WOW - @offoodandart - your entries just get better every time. This is definitely a WINNER - thank you for inspiring me to enter. Now you have just inspired me to improve on my last presentation !!!

Awwwww, thank you @pandamama! I'm sure there's always room for improvement for everyone.

Hey, I think your pears look lovely and the color is just perfect (to me anyway). I think maybe you could have enhanced it in photoshop and made them look darker if that was what you wanted, but they look great in my opinion!

Omg, I didn’t see this reply until now! I rarely spend time on Steemit anymore which I think is not right. So will pick up my activities here and cross-post.

Thanks for your advice. I agree, I could’ve enhanced it more in Photoshop. It needs some help ... haha!

Thanks for stopping by 👍🏼!

I just remembered you telling me that you were not happy with the color because it faded a bit, but to me it looks just fine :)

Yeah, sure do come back!

Yes, I remember saying that. The exterior also got pruney too afterwards. Luckily, it held its own anyway.

I've been meaning for the longest time to go back to Steemit but it's been so busy. Hoping to get going finally in the next few days or so. Thanks!

This looks delicious! The reduction over the whipped cream really makes it look wonderful.

Stunning! This kind of dessert is what I expect to see when I'm in a patisserie in Paris! Looks so professional! Great Job!

Paris! That's always fun!

I would like a pear of those for sure!

That's a good line! Love it @braxton101!

Wow! That is totally original!

Looks great

Love that red color @offoodandart! Your pear desert looks divine, yummy! I've been wanting to have rectangle pie pan. Now I feel the urge to have one after reading your post :-D Good luck for the competition!

Thank you! I've gone through a few rectangular pans. I'll send you soon some info on the one I like.

Well received for the pan info. I'll order online soon though I know that my partner wont agree :-D I keep collecting baking stuff! Thanks Anna :-)

Ha :), I know what you mean ... tell your partner you will use the pan often so it's worth it :).

Haha.. he hears that excuse too many times but I think, it's still gonna work :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44