Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #15: Onion Jello; Caramelized Onion & Figs Salad

IMG20171212111852.jpg

This week has been quite a challenge for me as I have been falling sick and busy with work. Nevertheless, I did not want to miss the #steemit-ironchef weekly challenge but before I continue, I would like to once again give a shout-out to @progressivechef for hosting this great initiative and also to all the great people from this community who has been supporting this initiative by either joining the challenge itself, sponsoring the awards, creating a related sub-initiative,commenting, voting or resteeming #steemit-ironchef related posts. Everyone is welcome to participate in this challenge and if you are interested to know more or even join this challenge yourself, you can check out the link here.

Recently @progressivechef has asked for opinions and suggestions on how to improve this initiative for the year 2018, I have a few ideas and suggestions but they were all already voiced out by other great Steemians so I suppose the only thing I can think of now is please continue to keep up this great work and hopefully one day we can have a #steemit-ironchef only cookbook from all the participating Steemians in the future! If any of you have more suggestions you can drop a comment here.

Anyway, Back to topic...


PRODUCTS USED



IMG20171212111554.jpg

Onion Jello


  • Parmesan Crisp
  • Gelatin
  • White Onions
  • Guinness Stout
  • Butter
  • Beef Stock
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Brown Sugar (optional)
  • Tomatoes (diced)

IMG20171212111706.jpg

Caramelized Onion & Figs Salad


  • White Onions (caramelized)
  • Mixed Lettuce
  • Dried Figs
  • Parmesan Crisp
  • Sesame Dressing
  • Tomato (diced)
  • Parmesan Cheese (grated)

IMG20171212111902.jpg

When I read that the main item for this week's challenge is ONIONS, I'm not sure is it due to me recovering from my sickness or what but my mind went totally blank for a while, lol. All I can think of is I want to try to do some macam yes (wannabe) kind of dish with it, but in the end I decided I will go for a simple onion soup and salad. But I want to try to add different stuffs in it to see how it will turn out. Thus, the jello and salad with some Asian dressing, lol.


PROCESS


IMG20171211132439.jpg
On a parchment/baking paper, I arranged grated Parmesan cheese in a circle mold (it is actually an egg mold, lol) making sure they are arranged tightly and close to each other.

IMG20171211133402.jpg
I baked the parmesan cheese at 250°c for 10minutes, and then another 3minutes to give the crisps some colour.

IMG20171211160036.jpg
While the parmesan cheese crisp is baking, I sliced 6 numbers of white onions.

IMG20171211165455.jpg
On a pan, I heated up and melted 2 tablesppons of butter.

IMG20171211165732.jpg
I then slow cooked the onions with the butter using low heat. In between I sprinkled some beef stock into the onions to give it some flavour.

IMG20171211173015.jpg
As the onions start to caramelised, I seasoned it with salt and pepper and continues to slow cooked them until they are nicely and evenly browned.

IMG20171211173647.jpg
I then took out about 2 tablespoons of the caramelised onions for my salad later.

IMG20171211173130.jpg
I then added in 4 small diced tomatoes into the pan and sauteed them until they soften.

IMG20171211164838.jpg
I wanted to experiment and try adding a can of Guinness Stout just to see how would the flavours and taste turns out.

IMG20171211173502.jpg
I let it boils for a few minutes using medium high heat, and then turned it down to low heat again to let it simmers and let the onions and tomatoes to absorb the stout flavour. Before adjusting the seasoning, I added about 1 cup of beef stock again before tasting it. Turns out, there was a slight bitter after taste from the stout, so I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to balanced out the taste. I tried again expecting it to be either still bitter or too sweet but surpringly for me, it turns out alright, in fact, the soup becomes delicious, lol. I then added in gelatin and stir the gelatin until it melts in the soup.

IMG20171211175737.jpg
I then pour the soup into a terrine mold and let it cools and set.

IMG20171212111109.jpg
Once the soup is set and has a jelly-like texture, I cut out the jello into rectangular shapes and arranged them in a mini soup bowl, one on top of each other. I then boiled the beef stock and poured over the onion jello. I finished with a piece of Parmesan crisp on top of the jello.

IMG20171212111808.jpg
For my salad, I first arranged the mixed lettuce on the plate, and added a few pieces of diced tomatoes. I then cut 2 numbers of dried figs into fours and arranged them around the salad. I arranged the caramelised onions I separated earlier on top of the lettuce and drizzle a little sesame dressing on top. I finished with a little grated Parmesan cheese and broken Parmesan crisps on top of the salad.


RESULT


IMG20171212112011.jpg

IMG20171212111947.jpg

IMG20171212111448.jpg

IMG20171212111654.jpg

IMG20171212111633.jpg

IMG20171212111755.jpg

IMG20171212112000.jpg


LAST BUT NOT LEAST



IMG20171212112107.jpg

I HOPE THIS HAS BEEN AN ENJOYABLE AND ENTERTAINING READ! THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!!

Sort:  

Always as good as always! I do hope you win! Love looking at your food posts.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!! <3 <3

Beautifully arranged ...sounds very flavorful !

Yes, it is quite flavourful, especially with the stout added in...Thank You for dropping by!! :D

HUNGRY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT

Hahaha...have some healthy salad!! XD

Another beautiful dish! Thanks for sharing!!!

Thank you for dropping by!! :D

Looks good... but i cannot eat food which has alcoholic drink in it... haha (its halal things...😊)

Oh ya...next time if theres a chance for a meet up again ill make one without alcohol in it for you guys... :)

Looks great on a cold winters night!

Oh yes it does helps tho in my country we don't have winter here...haha... XD

Great idea adding the stout my friend! This is a recipe I would like to try out one day!
Great entry!

Thank you!! :D

Congratulations to the other second prize! We share this lucky moment! Let's clink a glasses! 🥂🍾

OMG!! I am so honoured!! Congratulations to your 2nd prize as well!! :D Cheers to you too!! clink clink

Congratulations @macam.yes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66