Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #10: POTATRIO

IMG20171107162213.jpg

First and foremost, I would like to thank @progressivechef for hosting such an exciting challenge which is the #steemit-ironchef challenge. Everyone is welcome to participate in this challenge and if you are interested to know more or even join this challenge yourself, you can check out the links here & here.


PRODUCTS USED



IMG20171107114745.jpg

For this challenge, the main ingredient is POTATO and the products I used for my dish are:

  • 3 different types of potatoes (Japanese sweet potato, Indonesian sweet potato, American russet potato)
  • Cream (to taste)
  • Butter (to taste)
  • Kewpie Spicy Black Pepper Sandwich Spread (to taste)
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1 no. ice cream cone


    IMG20171107162658.jpg

When I saw that the main ingredient for this week's #steemit-ironchef 's challenge is potatoes, I knew I wanted to make something super easy yet fun at the same time. And then I remembered a friend once said to me during a conversation:" If you are trying to take pictures of food, it is not recommended to take pictures of real food, especially if the food is like ice-cream where it can melts like the stock photo that xxx shared (it was a picture of a chocolate brownie and an ice cream at the side), that one is definitely not real food, the "ice-cream" is probably mashed potato."

And so, inspired by what my friend said, I decided to make a fun looking mashed POTATRIO . The whole process took about 30-45 minutes from prep to finish (the cooking process took the longest time) and I'm pretty sure kids will enjoy making as well because of how easy it is as long as you have a couple of bowls and cutleries around.


PROCESS



IMG20171107120326.jpg
First, I peeled the skins of the American potato and Indonesian sweet potato off except for the Japanese sweet potato because I wanted to give colour and texture to it.

IMG20171107132426.jpg
Next, I boiled the potatoes in a pot filled with clear chicken stock with a little seasoning so that as the potatoes are cooking, they will absorb the flavours of the chicken stock. I used medium heat to cook the potatoes.

IMG20171107152903.jpg
While waiting for the potatoes to cook, I cut the cherry tomatoes in to halves (you can cut them anyhow you like, according to your own personal preference)

IMG20171107140647.jpg
Once the potatoes are cooked and soft, I added 1tbs of cream and 1tbs butter in each of the potatoes (I seperated the potatoes into 3 different bowls). I added 1tsp of the Kewpie Spicy Black Pepper Sandwich Spread into the American potato to enhance the flavour of the potato. I did not add salt and pepper into any of the potatoes because I did not want to complicate their flavours too much.

IMG20171107141815.jpg
I added only cream and butter into the Indonesian sweet potato but slightly more than the Japanese sweet potato to create different textures for each potatoes.

IMG20171107142008.jpg
Using a fork for each bowl, I mashed the potatoes until they become smooth with a creamy texture.

IMG20171107162447.jpg
Using an ice-cream scoop, I layered each mashed potatoes on top of each other on a plate and added the cherry tomatoes around one of the mashed potato. Lastly, I added the ice-cream cone on top of the mashed potato to make it look like a potato "ice-cream" and then an easy, fun and cute potatrio is ready to be served! (from cone side to bottom: Japanese sweet potato, American potato, Indonesian sweet potato)

07114504_IMG20171107161744.jpg

IMG20171107162051.jpg


ALTERNATIVE VERSION



IMG20171107133448.jpg
I cut out two pieces of potato stick from the American potato prior to cooking it.

IMG20171107152432.jpg
I added all purpose flour into the potato sticks and deep fry them to make them into fries.

IMG20171107154225.jpg
I then added the two fries on the sides of the mashed potato and squeezed a little Kewpie Spicy Black Pepper Sandwich Spread in between the fries. My Bunny Potatrio is now done and there is no need to worry about the "ice-cream" melting anywhere anytime soon!


LAST BUT NOT LEAST



IMG20171107182634.jpg

If You Find This Post Entertaining, An Upvote/Resteem From You Would Be Very Highly Appreciated. Thanks For Reading!!!



IMG20171107162220.jpg

Sort:  

what an original idea ! also for kids to make them more interest in what they eat, wow!

Thank you!! :)

Congratulations @macam.yes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Omg this dish is worth like RM39.90

Hahahahaha...thank you!!! XD

I will start eating from the cone...

Eat it with the mash potato, the combination is good!!! :D

I love puree. Which one was your favorite? I prefer salty so I think I will like the American potato puree best and the fries!

I actually like sweet potatoes more because i have a sweet tooth, but for this dish, I am in the same boat as you, the American potato is really delicious... :D

U outta win!!!!! I am ur ultimate cheerleader.

Thank You!!! I HOPE you win too!!! XD

Looks really yummy. :D

It does taste yummy too. :) thanks for dropping by!! xoxo

funny and quite striking ! I like it !

Thank you!! :D

wow, nice pics and it looks so delicious :-)

It does taste delicious, thank you for coming by!! :D

you're welcome my friend :-)

Excellent post, I invite you to visit my blog

Alright, thank you!!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72