Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 02 Round 12 - Pasta on the Rocks

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

The art of Pasta making for sure has been refined by the Italians, but surprisingly they cannot claim to be the founders of this magical food, as that title belongs to either China or Greece!

However, one thing is for sure, and that is that every Italiano Mama (& many Papas for that matter) know how to make the best Pasta in the world, yes they certainly are the Queens (& Kings) of Pasta today ;)

Some pasta trivia - BBC television successfully staged an April Fools joke in 1957, making people believe that Spaghetti grows on trees. Now that's one tree I would certainly have planted, imagine freshly picked Spaghetti from one's own garden :)

@progressivechef challenges us each week and Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 02 Round 12 is a challenge I'm sure many of us will enjoy.
I for one found this a real challenge as I do not possess a pasta machine and have never attempted making my own pasta.

Did I have fun though; flour everywhere but pasta we had, and it was Pasta on the Rocks! So I'm not talking about an alcoholic drink; this was a delicious seafood Pasta with two shellfish from the rocks - Smoked Oysters & Mussels Linguine Pasta.

My linguine pasta did not turn out too shabby, definitely making that again and hoping to perfect it, so thank you @progressivechef for this challenge, my family certainly enjoyed it, although they were concerned about the amount of dust in the kitchen - flour dust that was! Hubby has been inspired to purchase a pasta maker attachment for my food processor, so who knows?

Garlic & Fennel Seeds were flash fried in Olive Oil; English Spinach and Diced Shallots added and sauteed till it started wilting; Lemon Thyme, Lemon Zest & Lemon Juice added as well as smoked Oysters & Mussels with oil. Linguine Pasta was tossed in, sour Cream & finely grated Parmesan added and Blue Cheese crumbled over the top to make a delicious Pasta packed with flavours from the ocean.

IMG_20180823_175225.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups Flour
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 can smoked Oysters in oil
  • 1 can smoked Mussels in oil
  • 1 teaspoon Fennel seeds
  • 2-4 cloves Garlic
  • 1 bunch Shallots - diced
  • Approx 2 cups English Spinach
  • 1 Lemon - juice & rind
  • Lemon Thyme - finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese - finely grated
  • 1/4 cup Blue Cheese - crumbled

Pasta was initially kneaded in my food mixer, then I kneaded it some more on a flour dusted surface & let it rest.
Then the rolling pin came out and did it's job with much arm wrestling from me - no need for an arm workout this week!
My pizza slicer worked like a charm, slicing the pasta into linguine strands.

The pictures speak for themselves
IMG_20180823_121047.jpg

IMG_20180823_121441.jpg

IMG_20180823_122229.jpg

IMG_20180823_164327.jpg

IMG_20180823_125212.jpg
I got distracted and made a couple of bow ties (farfalle pasta) just for fun.

IMG_20180823_172402.jpg

IMG_20180823_172803.jpg

IMG_20180823_175421.jpg

And we finally can tuck in!
IMG_20180823_175712.jpg

Another quick look at the making of Pasta on the Rocks, hope you enjoyed reading all about it and hope to see your pasta creation in Steemit Iron Chef!

IMG_20180823_121047-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

That is really cool that you made your own pasta noodles, very well done. There is surely something to be said for doing it all from scratch. This dish is one I would surely try , even with the spinach in it.
Well done Lizzy, good luck in the contest.

Thank you so much for your great feedback mr Papper, so glad to hear you'll eat my spinach :)

Well done @lizelle getting stuck into kneading that dough and making your own, very brave!

Sitting down to enjoy fresh must have been a wonderful treat, looks simply delicious.

Fresh pasta certainly tasted much better, thank you for your feedback :)

holy cow this is amazing!! wishhed i lived closer :)

Thank you for your support @eaglespirit :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 237 (8/25/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so much @thesteemengine :)

@lizelle Too much work Lady Lizelle, I think I would rather paint the kitchen a flour colour and go out to buy a Spaghetti tree Lol. Jokes aside, congrats on a nice job. Blessings!

LOL :):)
Thank you @papilloncharity, I really had fun with that pasta dough ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oooh, well done on making your own linguine. Yeah, it's not the easiest thing to get homemade pasta spot on. I must give it a try again sometime :)

I could not find that 00 flour but ordinary flour also worked, keen to get a pasta machine and try making semolina pasta some time as well ;) Thanks for your awesome support :)

As always you find the way to make something different, and as always it looks delicious!!

Ah thank you so much for your lovely comments :)

This looks amazing! I have been wanting to try to make my own pasta for a long time. My wife and I have a Kitchenaid mixer, we just need to buy the attachment. I know there isn't much better than homemade noodles!

Hey @bozz that's exactly what I want to do now, get the attachment for my Kenwood Chef, similar to the KitchenAid, fresh pasta definitely tastes much better, thanks for stopping by :)

Actually, it is always the idea that the Italians are the creators of the pasta, however I know people like Venezuelans who prepare pasta and they are exquisite, I like your recipe and it is another way of eating the linguinis that I love. The plated very good presentation, I really congratulate you for that exquisite menu greetings @lizelle

Ah thank you so much @perlanacarada, appreciate your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76