Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01: Smoky Tomato Jam!

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Hi Foodies!

I have to be honest - tomatoes are not usually my jam, but this smoky tomato jam totally is. It's the perfect appetizer served on top of a toasted baguette with cream cheese, or even used as a glaze!

Photo1.jpg

I'm usually that person that asks for no tomatoes on anything they order - I'm just not a huge fan of raw tomatoes. When I saw that the first @steemit-ironchef theme was all about tomatoes, I was up for the challenge to make a tomato lover out of all you tomato haters - including myself.

Photo6.jpg

I used about 2 pounds of these gorgeous tomatoes on the vine. It's crazy that these 2 pounds of tomatoes only yields about 1 cup of jam, but it's worth it - I promise.

Photo2.jpg

Pro-tip!

Give your tomatoes a quick dunk (10-30 seconds) in a pot of boiling water & have an ice bath set up for them to go into. The skins will slide right off!

Photo3.jpg

I only used 1/2 cup of coconut sugar to help bring out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I thought for sure I'd need to add more, but with the balance of salt, this tomato jam is the perfect amount of sweet!

Photo4.jpg

I couldn't put this jam on just any ol' bread - this baguette from one of my favorite local bakeries, Easy Tiger, is to die for. They started in Austin & just opened up a new location in my part of town. If you're ever in Austin, I highly recommend a visit!

Photo5.jpg

Photo7.jpg

I'm sure by now you're ready to make your own smoky tomato jam - let's get to it!

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs of ripe, red tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp of sea salt
  • Pinch of pepper
  • Pinch of ginger (I used powdered, but fresh would work as well)
  • Pinch of cloves (I also used powdered, but you could use the whole clove - just remember to take it out)
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of apple cider vinegar

Extras (optional)

  • Cream cheese (I used a vegan version from kite hill - it's SO good!)
  • Baguette, or crackers

Directions

1. Prep your tomatoes

Start a pot of boiling water & get a bowl of ice ready. Once the pot of water is boiling, dunk the tomatoes for up to 30 seconds. Add water to the bowl of ice & take the tomatoes from the boiling water immediately to the ice bath. You should now be able to easily remove the tomato skins.

2. Remove tomato seeds/core

This is the fun part! Cut the tomatoes in half & squeeze each half in your hand to remove the seeds. I recommend doing this over the sink because you WILL get messy. After all the seeds have been removed, roughly chop the tomatoes. Make sure you cut out the core as well.

3. Sugar bath

Place the tomatoes in a pot (you can use the same pot you used to boil the water) with the 1/2 cup of coconut sugar. Stir & let sit for about 10-15 minutes. No heat just yet.

4. Turn up the heat!

Start to simmer the tomatoes & add salt, pepper, ginger, clove, & cinnamon. Simmer on medium heat for about 10-15 more minutes.

5. So jelly

Once the tomatoes start looking like jam, you can remove from heat & add your apple cider vinegar. Mix well & taste for any spice adjustments (more salt, pepper, etc). Serve on top of toasted baguettte, or cracker, with cream cheese.

Warning

This will disappear quickly :)

I may not LOVE tomatoes just yet, but this jam is definitely a step in the right direction. I had so much fun making this recipe & hope you will too!

P.S. - Thank you!

Huge thanks to @progressivechef for hosting the Steemit Iron Chef contest! I can't wait to see all of the amazing recipes that come out of it!

Also, thank you @cabelindsay for making these awesome, printable Steemit photo tags!

Sort:  

@lindseylambz Oh man! that sounds and LOOKS absolutely mouthwatering! and yes, I completely agree...

I couldn't put this jam on just any ol' bread

No absolutely NOT!!!! lol - You chose well my dear... VERY well! hehe

Really looks yummy!!!

Thanks so much! @jaynie I appreciate a gal who loves good bread! :)

oh man! wayyyyyyyy too much!!! So much so, that I REALLY try to limit how much I eat it!!! lol - that and pasta and potatoes.... all my greatest weaknesses!!! lol - lest I look like a potato! hahaha :D

Girl, me too!! I actually just had the rest of that baguette for breakfast, ha! I try to not eat so much of it either, so I just make sure when I do have it that it's at least good bread. Life's too short to go without bread. And potatoes :p

you are making me want to cry!!!! lol!!!

Oh my god...what we got here! What a great idea for doing the jam my friend, i've never tried that before! You just gave me an awesome idea! I'll steal this from you...I'm already imagining doing a trio tomato jam...red, green and yellow!!!
I'm wondering that wonderful taste this jam has, and on that bread with the cheese..hmmm yummy!
Great entry and validated too!
Thanks so much!

Thank you so much @progressivechef - a trio jam would be amazing! After I made this I thought it would be even more amazing with caramelized onions - I think I'll try that next time! :)

Oh yes some caramelized onions will bring this to another level, you are absolutely right my friend!

Zang, looks great! And so happy to see your use of the printable Steemit Tagging Cards. Thank you for the tag, my neighbor.

That closeup of the three slices looks incredible. My complements to your photographer.

Looks awesome I will have to try it !

This post has received a 1.97 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @richardcrill.

Hey Lindsey! Awesome post, you've done a great job laying it all out, I am really wanting to somehow reach through my screen and eat this haha ;) I was also planning on entering Iron Chef but I ran out of tomatoes and have to wait til tomorrow for my organix market! I love that you've listed yourself as a plant-based chef, that is what I live for! My biggest passion in life is inspiring others to cook and eat a plant-powered diet to find health in the same way that saved me! <3 I'm definitely going to follow you, I am trying to cultivate a community of wonderful plant-based, vegan, whatever name they want to be called superheros out here spreading this mission by starting #veganwednesday. I'd love it if you got involved with that too! We need more people talking, inspiring and encouraging the world to expand their recipes! <3 Let's connect, I would love to get to know you and share recipes together! XO

Hey @heart-to-heart - thank you for the nice comment! I would love to be part of #veganwednesday & help spread the plant-based power around on steemit! This is my first food contest I've entered on here & I was initially a little worried about entering some of these food contests since all of my entries would be vegan, but I finally decided what the heck - even if some of my vegan recipes don't "win", people will see there's literally infinite ways to make yummy vegan food! And that's winning to me! I'm following you as well now & im so glad I found you on here! :)

Oh my goodness! Actually, I have found out the opposite, I have seen 'vegan' and 'plant-based' be so incredibly popular! I started my contest to encourage more participation because of the positive responses I was getting, please don't let "mainstream" get you down! It's a whole new world in here and I am actively trying to cultivate an encouraging community for us! I'm happy to hear you're going to come check it out this week. Here is the link to the rules! While I am funding this initiative by myself right now, I am hoping that with more involvement the community grows and supports each other as well! Hell ya girl! Bring vegan on! <3 You'll be surprised once we get you into the vegan crowd how many of us there are all trying to promote the same thing! =D

This is so great! I'm so excited to contribute some vegan content & connect with this awesome community! You've inspired me - thank you for all the encouragement :)

Yay! So happy to hear that! <3 I'm excited to see what you have in store! =D

This jam looks so rich and flavorful! I will definitely be borrowing this recipe! I love smoked paprika.

Thanks so much @chefsteve! Love me some smoked paprika too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77