Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #07 : Carrot and Peach dessert

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

I didn't have to think that long for this one in sense of the vegetable I was going to use. In Latvia, there are only so many veggies you dare to put in a dessert. And I have already made one of our most popular traditional desserts here. Consequently, it was made from the same veggie I used today.

There are only two things that came into my mind when I read this weeks theme for The Steemit Iron Chef Contest. ''A dessert made with a common vegetable as the main ingredient''. Now, obviously, I was dumbstruck for a couple of seconds... Well, maybe minutes. Because I had already made the only dessert that I knew that could bare veggies. But that did not stop me.

I started brainstorming and two things came into my mind, carrots, and pumpkins. As pumpkin is not really considered a veggie, I decided for carrots. Of course, my mind tried to escape in the easy direction and just make one of my pancake recipes, but I thought that was not challenging enough so I found something new.

Also, later on, I was thinking about beets as they are sweet and could potentially be great in a sweet dish but I had already decided on using them carrots.

This took me around half an hour to make + 1,5 hours in the fridge. Also, serves around 5 portions but you could squeeze the sixth one in if you made tiny restaurant-sized portions.

20180717_191655.jpg

Ingredients

2 big carrots
4 canned peach halves
18 g gelatin
150 g Greek yogurt
250 ml syrup from the canned peaches
1 tablespoon brown sugar

Fruits for garnishing.

20180717_165521.jpg

This time I am cooking in a different way. I did not know this recipe before so I took my guidelines from this recipe in Latvian

My recipe is very similar to the original one, I just did some tiny things differently. I will write what I did but you should know who the recipe really comes from! Where its origins are!

Also, I think, this recipe would be as good with other canned fruits, like Apricots. I am not sure about pineapples but maybe they are worth a try even though that does not sound like a great combination.

20180717_171917.jpg

First off, cut off the ends of your carrots and peel them, then take a medium-sized bowl.

The second thing I did was grate the carrots into the bowl and then blend them like I was directed in the recipe. But, If you have a blender that is not hand operated I am pretty sure you could get away with cutting the carrots in smaller pieces and blending them into a puree. I only have a hand blender so life is hard here (First world problems)

Put the peach halves and sugar in the bowl and blend again. Again, only if you are using a hand blender.

Lastly, add in yogurt and mix everything.

20180717_172026.jpg

Suggestion. If you are using a regular blender, just take the carrots, peaches, sugar, and yogurt, and blend them all together, in a puree, that way you save time and your hand power.

Now, when everything is nicely together, the mix will still be quite thick.

Take the syrup from peaches and add gelatin in it. Let it rest for around 5 to 10 minutes then put it in a pot and heat up.

When it is hot, add it into the bowl with carrot/peach/yogurt mix and mix in thoroughly. Now the mix will be more on the liquid side.

20180717_172404.jpg

Now, take smaller glasses or dessert bowls that you have and distribute the mix equally into each of them.

Put the full glasses in the fridge for 1,5 hours to 2 hours and enjoy!

The sweetness of the carrot and peaches means that you could potentially live without any extra sugar added. Also, I was thought that you should always put a pinch of salt in any dish you prepare as that adds a little zest to the dish. I do not know how true it is but I always do it! :D

After around 30 minutes in the fridge, you can garnish your dessert. Take it out, add some fruits on top and put back into the fridge. You can also do this right before eating.

20180717_191642.jpg

Now, grab a spoonful and enjoy!
Have a great day, today, tomorrow, and forever!
Linda

Sort:  

Your dessert sounds so delicious @lindahas, nothing like raw sweet carrots & here you've made an awesome dessert with it!

Thank you! :)

Hey Linda! How are you? Your dessert sounds super delicious! Your shredded carrots reminded me of a "dessert " we (back then when I was a kid in the dark eastern block 😜) sometimes got at wintertime when no fresh fruits but apples were available: my mom shredded carrots and an apple and mixed this with lemon juice, raisins and a dash of sugar.

Yes, I think that is how a lot of desserts were made. Carrots are the most common thing right after potatoes so we put them everywhere as well :D

The Latvian traditional sweet that I mentioned was born out of poverty. It was called the poor mans pie and came to be in times long forgotten. :D

I would never consider carrot as something for desert. And as you say.. any veggie for desert even!

But this actually looks good! Smart using the peaches, that makes it all a lot sweeter..

I was just writing today about what a lousy chef I am hahahahhaha... But this looks doable!

This is very doable indeed. I would not say that it is my favorite dessert as, in my humble opinion, vegetables are NOT for desserts, but carrots are okay in sweet stuff as they are quite sweet themselves.

That looks sooo good. If I were asked to do that task, I might go rhubarb pie. But is rhubarb a vegetable? Is that a dumb question? I don't even know

Latvia eh? I grew up in the us but was born in Estonia, so I guess that makes us almost-neighbors

Haha, I do not think if rhubarb is a veggie, though. What is it? :D Also, rhubarbs are too acidic right now to eat, you are only supposed to use them in your diet until 23rd of June which is midsummer.

Well, I live in Germany atm so we are almost-almost-neighbors :D

I have no idea what rhubarb is! I don't think it's a vegetable, but I can't imagine what else it would be. Obviously, I could search it and easily end the matter but that is way less fun than just wondering :) And, well, close enough! Your dessert does look delicious though !!

Yeah, do have a craving to google it now. Wait, let me do it! :D
Okay, I did it! But I am going to leave you with the freedom to decide yourself if you want to kill the mystery. :)

Thank you! :)

I did it! And I knew it!!

It is so weird. Rhubarb tastes much more like a fruit than a vegetable. We, at home, only put them in sweet stuff. So, I guess this vegetable is the black sheep in the family :D

@lindahas thankyou for replying I will use orange juice is it ok?

Posted using Partiko Android

It should be, maybe use a little less of it as it is not as thick as a syrup. Also, you could add orange to the mix as well , carrots+ orange. That might turn out amazing.

@lindahas in India I can't found canned peach havles whithout this can I made this recipe ?

Hey! Yes, you can. I would substitute the peach syrup for any other syrup that you like and just use fresh fruit without the peel.

@linahas whenever I made this recipe I will tag you in that picture.thankyou friend for sharing this yummy recipes :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks an amazing recipe all it needs to try my self at home

Looks an amazing
Recipe all it needs to
Try my self at home

                 - techxegama


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You definitely should!

Hmmm looks delicious

Thank you! I think it came out pretty neat considering there are carrots in the mix :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84