Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : Sklandrauši, a traditional Latvian dessert

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

So, I was listening in on Whaleshares hangout last weekend and there were a lot of awesome people there. I know, I don't usually write about food, but I have been wanting to make this dish for a long time and it is a traditional dessert from the West part of Latvia (my home country). It is very popular with my family, so I have been wanting to introduce my boyfriends German family to it for a while now. And as luck would have it, an awesome cooking contest was brought to my attention in the hangout, and this week it features carrots. Guess what my traditional desserts most important ingredient is? CARROTS.

Sklandrauši were traditionally made in Autumn, it used to be just a round rye bread in the very beginning, then carrots and potatoes were introduced to Latvians, and we started making cakes out of them, rolling up the sides, not to loose all that precious veggy juice.

It is not really a sweet desert, but it is very filling, I like the natural taste of it and the hard rye bread crust around. It puts accent on the sweet taste of carrots, and because of that it is not so unnaturally sweet.

21618072_1580238875369976_412983155_o1.jpg

The recipe itself is easy, but all work together takes a long time (2 hours for me). Here are the ingredients I used for 13 pieces of ''sklandrauši'':

For the dough

300 g rye flour
40 g wheat flour
120 ml hot water
40 g butter
a pinch of salt

For filling

800 g carrots
300 g potatoes
100 g sugar
a little bit of salt
1 egg
30 g butter
3 t/s of fresh cream.

For topping

Fresh cream
Sugar

This recipe can be made vegan easily, there in no need to use eggs or fresh cream, or butter for that matter, the only ingredients that you need 100% are the flour, salt, sugar, you can use oil instead of butter, potatoes and most importantly, carrots. There are no ''sklandrauši'' without carrots.

I used all the other ingredients, but you don't have to, the batter will come out good no matter if you use butter or oil and the filling can be just grated vegetables.

21616729_1580239832036547_1614407906_o.jpg

So, I started with picking up some carrots from our garden, they are not the biggest, but they are ours, plus they are the star of this recipe.

The thing I did first was peal the potatoes and carrots, then put the potatoes to boil, and blend the carrots into tiny pieces.

After that I started making the dough, by heating the water and adding butter and salt to it.

Pour that mixture in a bowl and add the flour, mix everything together. The batter has to be hard, but easy to roll out. Use a form or a knife to make round pieces and roll op the sides. It should look like in the picture below, the batter should be rolled 3 mm thick.

Put all the forms on a baking pan.

21586407_1580239655369898_1534017045_n.jpg

When you are finished with the dough and the potatoes are boiled, it is time for the next step.

Grate the potatoes and add salt, you can add fresh cream and butter if you wish.

Preheat the oven to 230 degreed Celsius.

Add sugar, plus anything else that you may want (butter, egg, cream) to the grated carrots.

Now fill the potatoes in the forms first and carrots second. The potatoes should be 1/3 of the carrot mix, because, and I am stressing this again, carrots are the champions of this recipe.

Now put it in the oven and leave for 15-30 minutes, you will see when it is ready, as the carrots on top will get a little bit browner.

Last thing, that is optional, cover the cakes with fresh cream and sugar, they are better eaten warm and fill you fast.

21617008_1580239255369938_788335447_o.jpg

Labu apetīti! I hope it tastes good for you, if you try it out, too :)

21640208_1580241392036391_1291263714_o.jpg
I know I look overly excited, but it is the first time I tried the recipe and it came out delicious!

Have the best of the day and a wonderful life,
Linda

Sort:  

Hello @lindahas! Welcome on board the steemit iron chef 2017! With this valid entry you already score one point for the league! You can get more info on the @steemit-ironchef account!
Now coming back to this lovely dessert...I am always getting so much pleasure in discovering dishes from other countries which I am not aware of! For a first time you did really very well my friend, i'm even impressed!
You know how much i loved the rustic look of the round dough, so beautiful.
And using carrots from your garden is just amazing, how I wish I could get such beauties in my kitchen...Oh my goodness!
And that proof photo with your name on the paper forming a carrot...just great creativity!
Beautiful entry!
Thanks so much for joining! I hope to see you in the other rounds too!
@progressivechef

Haha, thanks, I tried my best, had an Idea about that carrot proof ever since I read your contest post :)

Hmm you can find me stealing that idea someday...Hope you won't mind!

I don't, steal away :D You found out about it here first :D

Thanks so much my friend, you are so generous!
Have a lovely day ahead!

Oh! That looks quite delicious!!

Looks so good:-) Nice presented in photos and described in text. I really seems to be delicious!

Thank you :)

Hi @lindahas what if 3 t/s fresh cream btw? I've scrolled up and down reading ppls comments thinking maybe anyone asked, but it doesn't seem so😅

Looks yummy, would love to veganize it, but couldn't figure out what 3 t/s is...is it 3 teaspoons?

Thanks!

It is 3 teaspoon, can't edit the text anymore :D
Fresh cream is French cream/Sour cream, I use it for softness. You can use any of the replacement options available or none at all, they are not really necessary, I just like to make the filling even creamier than it already is. You can add cinnamon or sugar on top if you have a sweet tooth :)

Best of wishes!

Ooh that's cool then! Means I can veganize it 😁😁😁 thanks!!

Yeah, this is a very easy recipe to make vegan :)
Show me some pictures when you are done, if you don't mind! I would love to see how it turns out

Will surely do!

Already followed you so I would remember to tag you once I try

Thank you!

this looks so delicious, my latvian friend told me about the food of his country, it sounded so nice! I would love to see more :)

Yeah, if you have friends from Latvia, you should definitely visit, the home made food is excellent!

It looks like it would be made of chocolate! Hopefully someday my travels will lead me to try some Sklandrauši (not that I can pronounce it) for myself :)

You have to go to West part of Latvia, though, it is pretty specific as it comes from one region, shouldn't be hard to find, though, my country is small. :)
And ''sklandrauši'' roughly translates to fence-pies :D It is because of the historical evolution of the pies, they got their sides made upwards only when carrots were brought to Latvians attention, the "fence" was meant to keep the filling inside. :D
I guess you can say that we, Latvians, take things pretty straight forward...

Interesting thanks for the info.... Looks like I will have to get to Latvia to enjoy this traditional delicacy!

That will be a long journey... Have a batch ready for me :)

I am not there at the moment, but you can stop by in Germany if you want me to make you some of these :D

Germany sounds just as fun to me! We can have sklandrausi for dessert after some Bavarian pretzels and beer!

Sounds like a plan, summer is the best time to come! :D

You should really just bring a batch (or 2) to STEEMfest...

I don't think I am going, though, at least not this year, too much stuff going on.
Unless it is going to be like right next to my house, then I can spare some time :D

That looks so good! I can't believe there are carrots in there!

Thanks for sharing and best of luck in the contest :)

Thanks! Yes, It is a funny dessert, carrots usually going in normal food and all :D

I'm sure it tastes great :)

I like it, it is not the usual sweet dessert, but something more like a neutral pastry, perfectly balanced to deliver some sugar, but not too much as that would be too much. I love the distinctive carrot taste :)

Wow! Rye pastry with the carrots sounds so good! I want to try this dessert!

Go for it, and feel free to add some pictures, I would love it to go mainstream! :)

Welcome, our dear fellow contestant!! Glad to have you join us in the fun each week hehe!!

I am loving your cute carrot 'proof tag' so much..and you look so cute in the pic with your Sklandrauši =DD

Thank you! :) I was inspired by the carrots, so I created another one :D

Well that looks delicious

Thanks! It is yummy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42