You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : Sklandrauši, a traditional Latvian dessert

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

You have to go to West part of Latvia, though, it is pretty specific as it comes from one region, shouldn't be hard to find, though, my country is small. :)
And ''sklandrauši'' roughly translates to fence-pies :D It is because of the historical evolution of the pies, they got their sides made upwards only when carrots were brought to Latvians attention, the "fence" was meant to keep the filling inside. :D
I guess you can say that we, Latvians, take things pretty straight forward...

Sort:  

Interesting thanks for the info.... Looks like I will have to get to Latvia to enjoy this traditional delicacy!

That will be a long journey... Have a batch ready for me :)

I am not there at the moment, but you can stop by in Germany if you want me to make you some of these :D

Germany sounds just as fun to me! We can have sklandrausi for dessert after some Bavarian pretzels and beer!

Sounds like a plan, summer is the best time to come! :D

You should really just bring a batch (or 2) to STEEMfest...

I don't think I am going, though, at least not this year, too much stuff going on.
Unless it is going to be like right next to my house, then I can spare some time :D

Aww oh well, STEEMFest 3.0 in Deutschland it is!

I guess so :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65685.57
ETH 2613.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71