STEEMIT IRON CHEF #03 - STEEMIT IRON CHEF BURGER

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Steeminas,

These are my special burgers I made few times before, but every time I make them I change the recipe a little. Not only because I don’t like to follow recipes, (even my own, lol), but because I am striving towards perfection.

1.jpg

My goal was to create delicious, yet super healthy burgers that even non vegans would like. I know the list of ingredients is quite long, but if you try them you will understand why. They are very low fat but high in protein, mouth watering and highly satisfying. The bonus is that you can have them ready in your freezer whenever you need them. Even though I baked them in the oven, you can make them on the grill if you wish.

It seems that these I made for the Steemit Iron Chef contest are the best so far, not only based on my opinion, but also my daughter’s. Unfortunately, our twin boys did not like them. Oh well, they are only seventeen months old and they are very hard to please lol.

3.jpg

1 Collage.jpg

STEEMIT IRON CHEF BURGER
Beetroot – Quinoa Burgers
VEGAN – GLUTEN FREE – LOW FAT - CHOLESTEROL FREE
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS FOR 10 PATTIES
• Quinoa 2cups cooked
• Red Beet 1 large or two small (about 2 cups shredded)
• Sun dried tomatoes 1cup (presoaked and drained )
• Garbanzo 1cup (canned)
• Onion 1 large minced
• Garlic 6 cloves minced
• Flax egg (1 tbs flax + 3 tbs water, let it sit for 15min)
• Chia egg (1 tbs chia + 3 tbs water, let it sit for 15min)
• Nutritional yeast 1tbs
• Tamari low sodium ¼ cup
• Marjoram 1tbs
• Black pepper to taste
• Smoke liquid 1tsp
• Mustard powder 1tbs
• Oil ¼ cup
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
• Parchment paper
• Food processor
• Large bowl
• Tray
• Baking sheet

PROCESS

• In the food processor, start blending the garbanzo, beets and sundried tomatoes with all the spices including smoke liquid, tamari, nutritional yeast and oil.
• When ready, transfer the mixture to a bowl and mix in the quinoa, flax egg, chia egg onion and garlic.
• Mix thoroughly and place the mixture into refrigerator for couple hours.
• In the mean time prepare a tray lined with parchment paper.
• When ready, make the patties measuring about ½ cup per patty and place them on the tray.
• Store them in a freezer for 6 hours or overnight.

HOW TO BAKE

• Preheat the oven to 400F.
• Place your patties on baking sheet lined with baking paper and bake for 40min.
• You may brush them lightly with oil just to get nice crispy surface.
• After 40min, switch the oven to broil for 5 to 10 min, just be careful not to burn them.
• When ready, flip them over and repeat the broil for another 5 min.
• Serve on the bun and toppings of your choice.

I served them on whole grain bun, with spicy guacamole, lettuce, red onion, broccoli sprouts and spiralized beets. Also oven baked sweet potato wedges and purple cauliflower on the side.

Note: Keep stored in a freezer properly sealed.

2.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉
SPECIAL THANKS TO @steemit-ironchef & @progressivechef

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort:  

Well, you certainly got my attention! I am a veggie burger kinda gal and although I am usually very adventurous when it comes to the palate, I have maintained a low profile on deviating from the routine.

I cannot figure out why, but, that is the ugly truth of it.

But, one look at this recipe - and I became really fascinated. Beets? I love beets. Quinoa? Delightful. Garbanzo beans? Oh, my!! Hummus on a bun! Yes, please! I want in! This sounds like something that will tickle my fancy and my taste buds.

Admittedly, it was those lacey little beets, spiraled to perfection, topped with the sprouts that drew me in. Who doesn't want to eat something so pleasing to the eye? The guacamole is purely a bonus.

Your setup is amazing, all the ingredients laid out so that I can see what I need at a glance and even though this may look like a lot of ingredients, I can already tell that it will be worthy. It is truly a sustainable meal.

It is always a treat to come over and see what's cooking, Lena! Thank you for presenting it in such a way that turns me over to a different burger or the weekend. I am truly excited to do this one. I love a good burger. Truly I do!

Good luck on the contest. This awesome entry has got my vote!

Upped and Resteemed tip!

I can't even express how happy I am about this. I had no idea about you being a burger gal lol, but my intuition was poking me to make sure you don't miss this one. I would really love if you make them and tell me honestly what you think. So if you ever have time for the test, please let me know. Thank you so much for your supprt Denise and the tip wow!!! You know how much I appreciate it XOXO

I have been eating veggie burgers for about ten years. I love them. ;) I will definitely tell you what I think of them. I am always honest because I don't want you feeding me things I don't like! LOL

I am glad to hear that Denise, because I can handle the truth lol

Very nice lookin' burger. I bet it's healthy too!

Thank you so much Jeff, I am glad you like it 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

What a tempting looking plate my friend! I saw your entry the day you posted, but I was so busy that I could not read the post, but the photo really made me eager to come back and read!
Wonderful idea making the burger with the beetroot , quinoa, garbanzo, chia and flax...i'm in love with this one!

Thank you so much @prigressivechef for your wonderful comment............and don't worry, I understand you are very busy. The main thing is that you like it 🌸💖🌸

I take the two burgers of the twins, and Wonkies want absolutely the Purple Cauliflower LoL small.png

If only I had the eagerness of cooking, or better : the millions to pay you to cook these delicious veggie meals for me...ooOOOooH, me gourmet lazy !

Thank you so much Dear Barbara, I would love to make them for you and your Wonkies. Who knows, maybe someday I come to visit you with @dswigle & @dutchess

Ooh this would be so extra-ordinary ! ^_^

Yes that would lol

Thank you for this beautiful, delicious and nutritious recipe Lena ♥ Upvoted and re-steemed of course :*

Thank you so much my Dear Sofia, I really appreciate your support and I am super happy you like it 🌸💖🌸

That burger looks top class and delectable

Tip!

Thank you so much Dear Friend, I really appreciate it and I am super happy that you like it 🌸💖🌸

👍👍😎😎👍👍

What a delightful meal! And as always, it is a work of art! Upped and steemed

Thank you so much Dear Melinda, I am glad you like it 🌸💖🌸

I'm honestly not a fan of a vegan burger, but your beet burger looks amazing and makes me hungry. Good luck for the contest! :-)

Thank you so much Dear Ika, I am very happy you like it 🌸💖🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35