MY FIRST ENTRY FOR WEEK #01 OF STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2017 - BUTTER TOFU ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

in #steemit-ironchef โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

I didnโ€™t realize that Steemit Iron Chef is already on and running and I almost missed the first week.

Luckily the theme is tomatoes which I always keep in my refrigerator; however, I wasnโ€™t sure what else I have to make something easy, but super tasty. After looking around my pantry I was able to gather just enough for Indian Food...........yeaaaaaaaah, my favorite that saves the day every time. The only thing I didnโ€™t have was cilantro, so I had to make a quick trip to a supermarket.

Although I usually use butter nut squash to make this type of sauce, the sweet potato worked very well and I hope you will like it.

3.jpg

BUTTER TOFU
Indian Butter Chicken Inspired Tofu in Creamy Sauce
Vegan โ€“ Gluten Free

Author: Lena's Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 6
โ€ข Organic Tofu 350gr(cut into small cubes)
โ€ข Sweet Potato 1 large
โ€ข Tomatoes 2cups (diced)
โ€ข Onion medium size diced
โ€ข Ginger fresh, 1tbs (minced)
โ€ข Garlic 4 cloves diced
โ€ข Turmeric powder 2tbs
โ€ข Cumin powder 1tbs
โ€ข Mustard seed powder 1tbs
โ€ข Coriander powder 1tbs
โ€ข Peppercorns grinned
โ€ข Dry chili pepper flakes (to taste)
โ€ข Bay leafs 3
โ€ข Organic canned coconut milk 1/2 cup
โ€ข Cilantro 1 cup (just the leaves)
โ€ข Organic low sodium vegetable broth 1/2 cup (you can add more if need it)
โ€ข Himalayan Pink salt to your taste

PROCESS
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 375F.
โ€ข Make incision on top of the potato and bake for 40min.
โ€ข Cook the tomatoes covered with lid on the stove on medium heat with salt & bay leafs until mushy.
โ€ข Begin sautรฉing the onion on heated oil adding garlic and ginger few seconds later.
โ€ข When they become translucent add the spices.
โ€ข Stir thoroughly for few seconds; take it off the ad set aside.
โ€ข Check the potato with fork to make sure itโ€™s completely soft. If not, place it back in the oven for 5 more minutes.
โ€ข When ready, cut the potato in half and scoop all the middle texture leaving only skin.
โ€ข Take the bay leafs out of the tomatoes and pour them into your food processor.
โ€ข Add the potato, sautรฉed onion with spices, veggie broth, coconut milk and blend until smooth.
โ€ข Place the sauce in the large enough pot, add tofu and bring it to boil.
โ€ข Turn down the heat and set aside.
โ€ข After few minutes add the cilantro (you may leave some for garnish).
โ€ข Serve with rice and veggies of your choice.

5a.jpg

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR STOPPING BY & BON APPETIT ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‰

SPECIAL THANKS TO @progressivechef founder of @steemit-ironchef
This is very exciting competition and I am happy to have the opportunity to participate. Good luck to all participants ๐Ÿ˜Š

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort: ย 

Oh good! I wondered why I had not seen your entry. I had been watching for it! This is perfect and sounds delicious! Tip!

Awwwwwwwwwwww, you are sooooooooo sweet Melinda, thank you so much I really appreciate it ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

Oh wow, didn't know you were participating! Yay!!!!

Oh my friend how i'm glad that you made it on time and sent your entry! And what a delicious one too! I'm such a great lover of Indian food, so mouthwatering just by the look!
Adding the baked potato to the sauce is just an awesome idea! I can imagine how tasty this dish must be!
I'm thinking of some hot naan breads with this butter tofu....Wow!
Great one!
Welcome to the steemit iron chef train!
@progressivechef

Thank you so much @progressivechef I am so happy I made it and that you like it. I could not forgive myself if I miss the first week. Luckily, the tomato theme saved me, because I always have some lol. But you are right about the naan bread. Oh yes, that would be perfect.....................well maybe next time. I nt mean time all the best with the IRON CHEF challenge and if you have little time left for #fruitsandveggiesmonday, you are always welcome ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

I will for sure enter again in the #fruitsandveggiesmonday, I've really been busy lately. But I don't know if you've noticed, I have infact made my wife entering the contest last week for the first time , she is @creativewoman and you can be sure she will be a consistent participant. Maybe she'll send her entry soon.

Awwwwwwwww, yes she did. Thank you so much I am happy to hear that. I was not aware you guys are married. I am sorry for not noticing.

I was hoping to see an entry from you and was delighted to come upon this tasty-looking creation! What a fantastic way to use up tomatoes and have a warm and savory dinner!

I am in deep love with anything that has butternut squash in it and honestly sweet potatoes work well in my cache of yummy deliciousness.

I am really intrigued by the way you mix flavors and change up the ingredients to fit what you have in your refrigerator. From my own experience with your recipes, they always work well!

Good luck in the challenge! This is another one of those gotta have it recipes!!

Upped and Steemed

Thank you so much Denise, I am glad you like it. You can even make it with lentils, I know they are your favorite. By the way, have you try Mung Beans? They are similar to lentils and they are super nutritious and great for Indian Food whether split or whole. They also don't need to be soaked overnight just like lentils. The split Mung Beans cook very fast and don't need any sauce, just tomato, saute onion and garlic with spices. ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I buy mung beans at the Asian Market all the time. Another favorite! Thank you for thinking of me!

I am not surprised Denise, how could I think you wouldn't know them lol.............nevertheless, you are very welcome ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lenasveganliving from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

This sure looks delicious.

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

You are welcome. Good luck to you.

looks great Lena!! Good luck in the contest!!

Thank you so much Shaun, I really appreciate your support ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

Yuummmooo!! We were shopping at Wholesale earlier @lenasveganliving and I stopped right in from of boxes of butterchicken instant spice, wow, what a coincidence ๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น

Will have to try this, thank you!! โค๏ธ๐ŸŒฑ

Thank you so much Dear @thekitchenfairy.....it was a sign that you must try this recipe lol ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67790.81
ETH 3815.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51