Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 Round 4 - Lettuce and Courgette soup

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

IMAGE 2018-02-06 17:21:38.jpg

I learned about this recipe a while back when a friend of my mother's chastised her about throwing away the outer leaves of a lettuce. This is a very healthy soup - and soup is not on my all time list of favourites but this one could change my mind.

Ingredients:

Lettuce leaves (of course) courgettes, onions, a potato and a little cream and paprika to decorate

IMAGE 2018-02-06 17:29:15.jpg

Simmer 1 and a half litres of water with 2 vegetable stock cubes. Pour into a jar and put all ingredients into the same pot. This prevents the use of oil or butter - so another healthy tip.

IMAGE 2018-02-06 17:31:49.jpg

IMAGE 2018-02-06 17:28:36.jpg

Cook for about 10 minutes and then blend in a food processor until smooth and creamy.

Delicious when served hot - but can also be served cold - equally delicious.

IMAGE 2018-02-06 17:41:30.jpg
My proof picture - and in case you're wondering - no - I didn't eat the little bread roll

Thanks for stopping by. I'm looking forward to the up-coming viewly channel - thanks to the promo-steem guys, @starkerz and @stephankendal and the rest of their team spreading the good news about Steemit.

Thanks to @progressivechef for hosting this competition - join now and create some dishes you wouldn't normally make. Thanks to @offoodandart and @chefsteve for your encouraging comments

Sort:  

Yes, this sounds healthy and delicious all the same time! I must remember this combination next time I wonder what to cook today ... By the way: where is my dessert? 😜
Tip!

Makes a good meal during the winter period as well!

What a refreshing soup, you know I need something like that now to reduce the flu a bit.
It would be a great accompaniment to the green tortillas that I made as a recipe
Have a beautiful night @leelektrik

Hmmm, I remember that soup @leelektrik - must make it again - I loved it

A nice way to warm your self up with some warm greens :D

congratulations this soup looks so yummy and healthy!

Try it out and let me know what you think!

Very interesting post you .. continue to work .. good luck

Thanks appreciate it!

Nice one brother - you're gonna live to a ripe old age

This is what the economy of the kitchen is all about. Nothing is wasted. It is easy to take the best lettuce leaves and make a beautiful salad. But, turning the wilted outer leaves into a healthful and delicious dish? That takes talent.

And it's those parts of the lettuce too that are usually so unappealing to eat, so it's nice to not let them go to waste and hide them in a soup lol

Thanks for the shout out @leelektrik!

I’ve never made this kind of soup but am now so curious. I think I may just give it a try. I’ll let you know when I do.

Love the healthy option tip. Thanks for sharing!

Keen to hear whether you liked it or not

Will definitely let you know. :)

Hi @leelektrik! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.04 SBD @tipU from @pusteblume :)

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Pumpkin-Potato-Soup With Spicy Merguez 😜. Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Nice soup ... also like to use everything and also use any leftovers in creation of new dishes .... I bet it is really tasty chilled on a hot summers day too ...like a green gazpacho ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84