Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01: Salmorejo CordobéssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow iron chef steemians!

I’m very happy to participate in this first edition of Steemit Iron Chef. This is a @progressivechef’s initiative, and we are about 40 people who enrolled in this first week’s competition.

And I’m also happy becouse the first product we’ve been working with is tomato, and this gives me the chance to make a dish I really love, wich I made in quite a few countires while I was traveling and have great feedback almost every time I did and do it.

As I’m from spain, and we really have a wonderfull cuisine here, I’ll be trying to share with you a little bit of it here in the contest.

I’m not a profesional chef, only a very passionate foodie person who loves to eat good food and enjoys a lot cooking it.

So here we go, my first dish for the contest is… Salmorejo!!!

_DSC4970.jpg

A tipical dish from Cordoba, Andalucia (south Spain)

It is a “lightly garlic tomato cold soup” which is often acompanied with boiled egg, iberic ham and olive oil.

Its a simple but delicius dish.

_DSC4964.jpg

Be carfull, it is not easy to prepare it properly. Here texture is as important as flavour, and quantities matters.

_DSC4959.jpg

So I hope you like it, and if there is any question about this magnifient icon of south Spain cuisine, please leave a coment and I’ll be very happy to answer all of them.

I hope everyone involved in the contest had a good time preparing their plates and I’ll be watching you all!!

Nooooooo @progressivechef I just realized I forgot to add the date to the pictures... Is it necesary to set everithing up again for the picture? I know it's my fault.. and If you need it I will....but please be benevolent, it's the firs week!! hehehe sorry!!

_DSC4971.jpg

Steeeeeemmmm!!!

PD (edit)

Ok @progressivechef, I understand its not fair to the other contestant, so I took this pic only to validate the entry with the leftovers haha

I hope it's enough and not to worry, its not going to happen again!!

Thanks!!

_DSC4977.jpg

Sort:  

Nice Jorge! Very good Salmorejo, I want it for dinner today!

I'm going to have It now!!! Yeess

Stunning! The texture looks so smooth and creamy! The essence of tomato.

Looks amazing, I have lived many years in Spain and I love this soup it is so perfectly refreshing on a hot day !

Yeyyy summer food hehe

The timing is funny because I just first had salmorejo last week. Never heard of it before. I really liked it so I thought I should make it. Then you post about it! Yeah! Saw you shared the recipe in the comments so will try making it. Thanks for sharing @jorgegp!

Hehehe yes, is not a very famous dish, gazpacho is much more but for me this is way better!! Enjoy, it's very easy to do, cheap and delicious.

Yay on making the top 7! Congrats! Like I said, I'll try making your dish. Have the ingredients already. Looking forward to it!

Jajajaja salmorejo>>>>>>gazpacho

Great recipe! Will you share the recipe? looks delicious

Sure!!
-peel 1kg tomato
-add Bread (about 200gr)
-blender with garlic (1 garlic clove, depends of the strongness of It and how mucho you like It)
-add Oliver oil

Mix well. Cool It in the fridge. Add boiled egg and ibéric ham.

Enjoy!! It's delicious. Sometimes simple is better!!

Thank you! Looks lovely 💓

Glad you asked for the recipe @princessmewmew! I plan on making it.

Hello @jorgegp! What a great entry as you made me discover a new dish from the South of Spain!
I just love Spanish cuisines and chefs, the Rocca brothers are my favorite and also Ferran Adria!
What a shame you missed that date and name my friend! Well i'm afraid to validate it as it will not be fair to the ones who did respect the rules. I hope you understand.
But you still have time to update the post and add it!
Btw i love the steemit logo you made on the soup!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Ok, its updated!! please confirm to me it is ok and you saw it.

Thank you!!

Sorry for late reply my friend! Yes it is ok and saw it too!
Steem On!

Congratulations @jorgegp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really like your food photography, great work!! Keep these coming!

Hey @gringalicious it's an honor to hear this from you!! Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52