STEEMIT IRONCHEF ACT01, ROUND03: CUCUMBER

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

In my opinion, cucumbers, (and watermelon and basil) have the best fragrance of any fruit or vegetable.

Taking a big whiff of a freshly cut cucumber is just....so FRESH!! Needless to say, I gave a warm (cool?) welcome to the cucumber as the main ingredient to this week's Steemit Ironchef competition, hosted by @progressivechef.

For this week's entry, I used cucumbers in two ways.

I made a nest of cucumber and carrot noodles, dressed in a bright combination of:

  • soy sauce
  • rice vinegar
  • honey
  • ginger
  • red chili paste
  • cilantro
  • scallion


Atop the cucumber and carrot noodle nest, I settled some slices of skirt steak marinated in a simple mixture of:

  • soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • ginger
  • garlic
  • honey


I also made some 'forbidden' black rice, and seasoned it with

  • sesame oil
  • rice vinegar
  • honey
  • salt

On top of a scoop of the forbidden rice, I set some crispy, tangy tempura cucumber pickles. I made the pickles from cucumbers from our backyard garden this past summer, and they were just wonderful!


And here's my proof photo for this week:


If you're interested in being a part of the Steemit IronChef Competition, don't forget to check out the details at @steemit-ironchef. A huge thanks to @progressivechef for coming up with this awesome way to showcase our food creations and build community with each other here on Steemit. Looking forward to continuing this competition!!



All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken with a Canon 7D Mark II on 1/31/2018.

Sort:  

As always @jaymorebeet great entry, great pictures and great dish...
I would love to give it a try!!

Thanks @jorgep! I'm so glad you think so, and I wish I could send it airmail to you!

looks wonderful ... and very inviting !

Thanks @globaldoodlegems - When dinnertime came around, i served this 'bowl' style, with the rice as the base etc. Both ways it was delish, but this way is better for photos, i think :) Thanks for your kindness!

Always so colorful and well put together. Love the forbidden rice and tempura. Good luck!

This is my this weeks No. 1! Soo appealing and beautiful! Two thumbs up and on my wall! Tip!

Awesome - you're so supportive! Steem on @pusteblume!

😄 You too!

Colourful and full of flavour, what a great cucumber orientated dish!

Great job and very colorful presentation, it will be a guaranteed hit of any Superbowl party!!!

Yet another great entry! So wonderfully colourful

Yumm looks fantastic. A little curious about the forbidden black rice. Something I am not familiar with.
Have been using black garlic for salads. You know of it? 🐓🐓

It looks very tasty and the photos are amazing
very good work @jaymorebeet
good night

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94