Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #5 : Bicolor Poached Pears & Millefeuille of Pan-fried Pear With Salted Caramel and Pear Pastry Cream

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

poached pear 3.jpg

Hello foodies,

After struggling with my two entries for Steemit Culinary Challenge, now I'm racing with time to submit my entry for Steemit Iron Chef. I have bought all the ingredients needed on Monday but I didn't have time to prepare everything in advance. So here I come with my last minute entry. I know that this dessert is very popular and I was so sure that some people might make this for their entries as well. Then I came up with something else to complete my dish, so I ended up making two desserts in one plate. Without any further ado, let's get started!

Bicolor Poached Pears

poached pear 1.jpg

Poached Pear in Red Wine

Ingredients

  • 4 Conference pears
  • 375 ml red wine
  • 75 gr granulated sugar
  • 1 orange
  • 1 cinnamon stick

Methods

  • Peel the orange zest and press the juice.
  • In a sauce pan, place the orange juice, orange zests, red wine, granulated sugar and cinnamon. Cook over medium heat until sugar dissolved.
  • Peel the pears and keep the stalk intact.
  • Gently place the pears in the red wine mixture, bring them to boil then continue simmering over low heat with the lid on for about 15-20 until the pears are soft but firm. Stir occasionally to get even color.
  • Remove the pan from the heat and leave it to cool with the pears stand upright.

Spiced Poached Pears

Ingredients

  • 4 pears
  • 1 liter water
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 star anise
  • 3 cloves
  • 200 gr granulated sugar
  • 2 strips orange zests
  • 1 vanilla pod or vanilla extract

Methods

  • In a sauce pan, place all ingredients except pears. Cook over medium heat until sugar dissolved.
  • Peel the pears and keep the stalk intact.
  • Gently place the pears in the liquid mixture, bring them to boil then continue simmering over low heat with the lid on for about 15-20 until the pears are soft but firm. Stir occasionally.
  • Remove the pan from the heat and leave it to cool with the pears stand upright.

Millefeuille of Pan-fried Pear With Salted Caramel and Pear Pastry Cream

poached pear 2.jpg

Pâte Sablée

Ingredients

  • 110 gr unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 42 gr powdered sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 150 gr all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp full fat milk

Methods

  • In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment, beat the butter and powdered sugar until creamy.
  • Beat in the egg yolk and scrape the bowl.
  • On low speed, add in the salt, all purpose flour and milk. Mix until combined but dont overmix.
  • Place in a floured surface, work the dough and flatten into a disk. Cover with a cling wrap. Chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  • Preheat oven to 180°C and line baking tray with parchment paper or baking silicone mat.
  • Flatten the dough, roll out the dough and place it onto your baking tray. Put another baking tray on top to weigh. Bake for about 20 minutes. Remove the top baking tray and continue baking for 5 minutes.
  • Cut the pâte sablée into desired shape while it's hot. Then leave it to cool.

Pear Pastry Cream

Ingredients

  • 160 gr pear purée
  • 60 gr granulate sugar
  • 2 egg yolk
  • 10 gr unsalted butter
  • 160 ml heavy cream

Methods

  • In a sauce pan, bring the purée and half of the sugar to boil.
    In a small bowl, whisk the remaining sugar with egg yolks.
  • Pour half of the hot purée mixture to the egg yolk mixture.
  • Pour them back to the sauce pan, continue stirring until it thickens. Remove from the heat and add in butter and mix.
    Leave it to cool.
  • Beat the heavy cream until it forms stiff peaks. Mix in to the pear pastry cream.

Pan-fried Pear With Salted Caramel

Ingredients

  • 2 pears, peeled and cut it into small round balls
  • 25 gr salted butter
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • pinch of salt

Methods

  • Melt the butter, add in salt and sugar.
  • Stir fry the pear balls until soft over low heat. Be careful not to burn the caramel mixture.
  • Allow to cool.

Plating

For Millefeuille

  • Place the pâte sablée on the bottom, top with pan-fried salted caramel pears, then stack with pâte sablée again followed by the pear pastry cream and last, pâte sablée. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

For Bicolor Poached Pears

  • Cut each pear (red and white) into 4 pieces and stack them by alternating the both colors.
  • Heat some of the red wine mixture to have a thick consistency then place 1 tbsp of the red wine reduction on the plate, then place the bicolor poached pear on top of it.

poached pear 4.jpg

poached pear 5.jpg

Oh Gosh! I am relieved that I finally made it. I woke up really early so that I'm not to submit my entry. I hope my entry can please the judge.

If you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you for reading.

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All content and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Great entry, glad you made it in time. Looks delicious! Now you can go back to sleep :)

Thanks! Yes, finally I could submit it just in time.. would love to have some rest but I had to leave to work :-D Anyway, your pear cobbler looks yummy!

My mouth watering with these delicious entries! It looks so tasty, and so beautiful to see such wonderful work from you. I wish you good luck in this contest.

Thank you my friend! I tried my best to make this dessert and I was just in time for the contest. Phew...

looks so beautiful... what a lovely dessert ... would so love to sink my teeth into that !

Thank you @globaldoodlegems! Yours is also lovely and beautiful. Let's swap our dishes so we can try both! :-D

just like a pro! keren bangeet...!

Iseng2 aja ni mbak @horazwiwik buat ngeramein kontes :-D Eniwei, makasih mbak ❤️

Iseng aja segini kerennya lho @ikaputri3 ... Dah kayak master chef aja ...ck ck ck...I envy you, seriously!

sayang disini nggak ada acara master chef mbak, adanya yg buat pro. Tapi buat baker amatir ada kontes di tv sih, kaya The Great British Bake Off gitu, pengen ikutan sebenernya :-D

sok atuh ikuut..... melu seneng nek ono wong Indonesia berjaya neng luar negeri...

Temen2 disini jg udah pada ngojok2i, hehe.. sementara blm ada pengumuman sih. Tak mengumpulkan keberanian sik, hihi

Nah, nunggu ap lg .. you can do it!

Very pretty plating and the millefeuille sounds so good!

Many thanks @chefsteve! Had to race with time to create that dish. Finally I made it. Glad that you like it :-)

As always, perfect dish and presentation...congraulations @ikaputri3

Muchas gracias @jorgegp! :-)

You made it @ikaputri3, yeah! And you came up with a beautiful and delicious-looking dessert combo! Congratulations! Hope you get to enjoy a bit of rest time before the next round.

Yay yay yay! Right after finishing this dish, I was off. Just too tired but still had to go work. Thanks @offoodandart for your encouragement! Nice to have someone to talk to about food and this competition :-)

Look so delicious! Btw star anise tu apa ya mba? Pengen deh coba bikin hihi

Makasih :-) Star anise itu bunga lawang. Di pasar banyak kok. Selamat mencoba.

Oalah bunga lawang, pake bahasa inggris jd keren kedengerannya hehehe. Thank you infonya

I am so impressed by your dedication to SIC my friend, your are doing amazing efforts each and every week. Thanks so much for all my friend!
Now what to say about this entry....just out of this world!!!!
You did it again my friend, what a lovely plating again!
Great visual and i am sure was super tasty too.
Bravo!

Thank you so much for your nice comment chef! It really motivates me and I really want to learn more in making beautiful gourmet dishes. Also, we're competing for Iron Chef, we have to give our best :-) One of my fave French chef always says (in the tv for Top Chef :-D): Le goût doit être à la hauteur du visuel. And I always keep that in my mind. Thanks chef for creating this awesome contest. You lead me to a world that I have been loving but I was too afraid to try: plat gastronomique. Thank you, thank you and thank you.

Absolutely my friend, the taste must follow for sure. We can make visually amazing plates but if the taste is not good, then all is gone waste!
I am so happy that you gave it a try and now you see how successful you were. If you have the passion to do something, for sure you will succeed.
Keep rocking my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49